We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Millers Cottage Motel

26 Parfitt Rd, Wangaratta, Victoria 3677 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 6 motels in Wangaratta
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Clean, comfortable and affordable older style motel self rated 3. We have flat screen LED tv's with USB and HDMI connection points, 8 Foxtel Channels, Air conditioning, Heating, Tea and coffee facilities, Toaster and a Microwave. We have a pool - summer only, BBQ and a small play area in a lovely natural garden area. Close to the town centre, restaurants, Cinema, Supa Bowl, Murray to Mountain cycle trail, shops and hotels. Visit beautiful Northeast Victoria and use Millers Cottage as your base.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
41Reviews1Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 15
  • 10
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Cathie P wrote a review Jan 2022
Port Macquarie, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
For a budget motel, very impressed. Very clean well Serviced. Breakfast included. Comfortable bed. Lovely owners. Would definitely recommend. Will come back again. Enjoyed our stay here. Cleaned while we were out. Great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Janet A wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
I guess when you book a budget motel your expect basic not dirty. The carpet was filthy if we had of has a small child no way would I have put him on the floor, bench, doors, walls and around light switches all grubby not COVID friendly the rubbish bin on the outside was dirty couldn’t open it with the peddle to have no idea re the inside, Bathroom mouldy and the whole room smelled of urine, No COVID check in was done, I realise they had my name and phone number but they were unaware of who was travelling with me, Upon entering the office I was met with a very unpleasant stench, and a man we seemed not to understand English. No smoking in the rooms so the ashtrays on the tables out side doors where all dirty and smelly. Not happy my 92 year old mother wasn’t happy and we should of left and asked for a refund but I was to tired to drive. Lesson learnt always look at the room before paying.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chris M wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
An oldie but a goodie. Very clean, great value and more facilities than others twice the price. Would recommend to any weekly travelers needing a place to stay in the region of Wangaratta, Albury/Wodonga.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
bernadette h wrote a review June 2020
Hastings, Australia20 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Firstly we are keen travellers and so to make a serious complaint is a first for us but patrons need to be aware of this establishment. We stayed from the 9th to the 12th June 2020. Our booking was through Agoda and also paid for in advance. Agoda have been contacted and are dealing with this concern as well. We have no complaints regarding Agoda. When we arrived it was late in the day, and soon after arrival we went to purchase some dinner which is why the condition of the room was not noticed immediately. That night the portable heater was not working and we could not open the wardrobe. Upon further inspection the room was dirty, mouldy and the bathroom was disgusting. The photos show the mould in the room on the shower curtain and in the shower. On the day after our arrival there was no housekeeping, bed not made. We couldn't open the wardrobe so had to ask for a key. We were told people take the keys which is why there is none there. When we finally got it open, it had dirty mouldy rags in the bottom and smelt. We complained and we're told the housekeeper must have missed it. It hadn't been cleaned for a long long time. Considering the CoVid virus the room should have at least been sanitised. The room is advertised with Foxtel channels. There were none. When we asked he said that they hadn't connected because of the CoVid virus. The light by the bed, globes had blown. There was no way the room had been cleaned as required by general health restrictions alone. To top it off when they did come to make bed and change towels, they actually went to our luggage which was on the floor as we had nowhere to put our clothes or belongings and took out a roll of our own toilet paper from our personal shopping and put it in the bathroom. I hate to think that they went through our other possessions. I do know that some other items were touched. I know that this is not the standard Hotel/Motel Accommodation Agoda is known for which is why we book with them which is why we complained and requested a full refund of the accommodation cost. The cost is one issue but the cleanliness of the room is another. I believe that this needs to be taken further with regards to them not just going through our luggage but also the unhygienic state of the room. This poses a huge health risk for future patrons. We complained to the management of Millers Cottage Motel at the time but their attitude was unhelpful to say the least. Following our complaint lodged with Agoda 5 days ago they still have not had a reply from Millers Cottage Motel despite contacting them several times. You may ask why we didn't move accommodation we would have except we had already paid and as pensioners could not afford an extra cost for 3 nights until later in the week. I am attaching photos for you perusal so as to confirm what I have also explained. I hope that something can be done to protect other patrons from having to encounter this dreadful and unsafe state of this Motel. Please note we have received confirmation that Tourism Wangaratta are looking into this matter as well as the Department /Community Compliance\Environmental Health for follow up.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Whilst they say non smoking there are tables and chairs and ashtrays directly outside your door.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alyson L wrote a review Oct 2019
Mogo, Australia34 contributions5 helpful votes
We only stayed one night at this great little family run motel. The owners are lovely people. Booked 2 rooms at this hotel. The rooms are supper clean and tidy and quiet, bed was comfy. Great location, only a 5 minute walk into town. The owners were happy for use to leave our cars at the hotel for 4 nights while we cycled the Murray to Mountains Rail Trail. We will stay here again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Noodlesam wrote a review June 2019
Melb, Australia179 contributions219 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night in passing through on our way to a wedding locally the next day, it was a great little hotel for a one night, with clean room, easy parking outfront of the room, chairs to sit on outside, and a little garden/park area. Easy access to the main road of Wang, and easy location to get to Milawa or any other areas in the surrounding region - a great little stay, and good value!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All rooms have a carspot out front
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Margaret K wrote a review Mar 2019
Melbourne, Australia22 contributions15 helpful votes
Our room was clean and tidy but a bit old. Had a toaster, kettle and microwave, but no knives, forks or plates. One only teaspoon. At least there were some mugs so we could make a cuppa. Would probably say, you get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A room at the rear would be best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RosemaryONeill, Owner at Millers Cottage Motel
Responded 12 Mar 2019
thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do say we an older style motel and our tariff reflects that. Unfortunately we are a motel not serviced apartment that has all those extras at an extra cost. We are happy to help out with crockery and cutlery when asked as I did for yourself with a wine glass and asked did you want anything else. Sadly teaspoons are the most stolen item in motel rooms and I am sorry we missed replacing another one that has gone missing in that room. We have microwaves and toasters for those travelling with their own supplies or those who order breakfast from the kitchen. We supply plenty of tea and coffee for you and we even add some lovely biscuits to have with your cuppa. We have great hot showers, 8 channels of foxtel for your enjoyment and free Wifi along with free parking right outside your door.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ManfredS1974 wrote a review Feb 2019
Sydney, Australia185 contributions32 helpful votes
Booked a room online for under $90 for one night and was pretty happy with the facilities. The service at the motel register was very helpful and all aspects of the room I had met my expectations. The bed was comfortable and whilst the air conditioner was old & a little noisy it did the job. Didn't hear any noise during the night from passing traffic so slept okay and the water pressure in the shower was fine (always an important aspect for any motel stay). All up a good, solid and cheap stopover.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RosemaryONeill, Owner at Millers Cottage Motel
Responded 21 Feb 2019
thank you for your feedback Manfred it is appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephanie D wrote a review Oct 2018
13 contributions
Check in was quick and friendly. Given a pleasant room around the back. Rooms old but modernised. Everything there we needed and very clean. Close to main street. Had a really good sleep and good hot shower. Googled prices online and was charged less by simply turning up and paying at office (just like Dick Smith said to do).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms at back probably quieter.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RosemaryONeill, Owner at Millers Cottage Motel
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Thank you Stephanie for your feedback it is appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and yes Dick is correct, go direct.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mary-Anne R wrote a review Oct 2018
18 contributions9 helpful votes
The location was our initial worry because we thought there might be a lot of traffic noise. Not sure about the street facing rooms but ours was at the back and very quiet. The room was spotless. Compact but it had everything you’d want for an overnight stay. The owner/manager was very courteous, helpful and friendly. Walking distance into town for shopping and food. Highly recommend this motel for your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RosemaryONeill, Owner at Millers Cottage Motel
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wangaratta area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$88 - AU$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaWangaratta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MILLERS COTTAGE MOTEL (AU$88): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Wangaratta) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Millers Cottage Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Millers Cottage Motel?
Nearby attractions include Murray to Mountains Rail Trail (0.2 km), Wangaratta Performing Arts & Convention Centre (1.0 km), and King George V Gardens (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Millers Cottage Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Millers Cottage Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Millers Cottage Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Millers Cottage Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Millers Cottage Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rinaldo's Casa Cucina, Cafe the PreVue, and Where is my Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Millers Cottage Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Millers Cottage Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Wangaratta.
Are there any historical sites close to Millers Cottage Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ned Kelly's Capture Site (15.6 km).