We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kings Canyon Resort Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Centre
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kings Canyon Resort Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Hervey Bay
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in the camping area however the best part was the view from the viewing platform of Kings Canyon. It is literally a 1 minute walk from the edge of the camping area. Camping area has all the facilities that you would expect for the price such as clean toilets, hot showers, water, powered sights, palyground, pool and camp...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessiPalmer
Yarra Glen
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the unpowered area of the campground, where we could set up wherever we could find a spot. We found a place near the edge of the campground where we could see over to the rim of Kings Canyon, so we had lovely views for our stay. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool, and the amenities were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie R
Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here n the resory xampground after visiting Uluru. I had high expectations after our previous experiences in the NT. I was however disappointed. Firstly, I felt we paid a premium price for our campground stay, especially since it was "off peak". Secondly, my enquires re walking tracks (as there had been significant rainfall) was answered with a pointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OlssonOz T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited in the "off season". Prices were ridiculously expensive, at $25 per adult per night which includes anyone over 12! For my family of two adults, two fifteen year olds and a twelve year old it equates to $110 per night in the low season!The pool was refreshing, however needed more regular cleaning and the filter was rarely on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megfoye
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Dear Megfoye The costs for power, water and waste disposal , providing the services and facilities we do in such a remote region of Central Australia cost the same , if not more, during our hotter summer months, when there are definitely less people travelling . Our new en suite sites with private BBQ areas and spectacular views to the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've been caravaning for nearly six months and this is the worst place we have stayed at,the toilets are filthy didn't look like they had been cleaned for a week,in the morning yo needed a can of insect spray just to get into the toilet/shower block to use as the mosquitoes eat you alive,be prepared to pay $8.50 for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Dear Anthony B Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the amazing services and facilities we offer in such a remote and beautiful part of the Red Centre. Our prices for food and beverage, fuel and supplies do reflect the cost of having these facilities available to all travellers , 365 days a year , particularly during the hotter summer...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We camped for two nights in our swag - the lawn was great and the amenities block was clean and the pool was fantastic - it was quiet (off season). Staff seemed happy which is good in a remote location The camp kitchen was not well equipped - the fridge was a very cheap Haier model and could hardly keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Dear Kim M Thank you for your comments and advice about unpowered camping at Kings Canyon Resort Campground. The camp kitchens are provided for the use of our Backpacker Lodge guests, campers generally travel with their own fridges or Eskies, cooking equipment and food supplies. For those travellers without their own equipment, we have Camp Kitchen Kits available for hire...

Solothurn
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed there because it was close to KC but feel it is overprized (camping)! Facilities were filled with bugs and ants that you cannot stand still (only place in Australia I saw such facilities - even the remote places I went facilities were better to use). Next time I would stay at Kings Creek Station if camping.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reisefudi
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Great views, great camping, clean facilities, lovely pool....we stayed here two nights in a hired campervan and scored an excellent powered site with spectacular views to the Canyon. We visited at the end of October, which meant the whole area was relatively quiet and we had our pick of the spots. A very relaxed campground too 'If you leave and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallyFromMelbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

The hiking is amazing, the energy wonderful. Take the time and enjoy this jewel of the red centre. Will leave you with a great memory and not the struggle and cost of Uluru. Its a long way to go, but worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ideaman68
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Thanks ideaman68 great to read you enjoyed the magic of remote. isolated Watarrka National Park and Kings Canyon , only 10kms from our campground with spectacular views facing the George Gill Ranges Regards Michelle Ikin Rooms Division Manager Kings Canyon Resort Campground

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Kings Canyon is a fantastic location with friendly staff and the walks great around the rim where amazing views where around every corner. The camp ground was big and open and the pool was freezing on a hot day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley Ray A

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Centre hotels
0.2 km away
Kings Canyon Resort
Kings Canyon Resort
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
1,471 reviews
249.1 km away
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
#3 of 13 in Alice Springs
998 reviews
247.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
122.3 km away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
133.8 km away
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge
#1 of 1 in West MacDonnell National Park
435 reviews
248.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Kings Canyon Resort Campground

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort Campground

Address: Luritja Road | Watarrka National Park, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Resort Campground Australia/Northern Territory - Red Centre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kings Canyon Resort Campground staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kings Canyon Resort Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The unpowered area is open range so you can pick a spot that is best for you. It's not far to the amenities”
 of 5 bubbles AnnieR437, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Can't really comment on the rooms as we stayed in the campground.”
 of 5 bubbles henryonatrip, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are after a site, book in advance as they do fill up. Check in is across the road.”
 of 5 bubbles N3654KRadamm, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay at caravan park, instead stay at freebie 115 ks south”
 of 5 bubbles philmN5768IR, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“For cabins, I guess anyone is good enough.”
 of 5 bubbles lelecabral, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5