We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,006 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 837: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I read previous reviews... although dated, I think the basics of how to make a bed and dust a room are overlooked. The bottom sheet of the bed was 50% scrunched in the middle of the bed with no footend tuck in. A vacuum cleaner run around the skirting boards would not go astray! The 'dated' furniture should still be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane H H H
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane H H H, It is pleasing that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, in particular that the meal in the restaurant was to a good standard. Please accept my sincere apologies that your room was not to our usual standard, I have shared your feedback with the housekeeping team to better serve our guests in the future....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

tired premises, with good staff who want to give fantastic service. rooms are not large, and in need of a repaint. Staff are fantastic, warm, welcoming and will try do anything for you. The price is higher than the standard of room but on reflection, given the distance to anywhere else, pricing is appropriate

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauldsor
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pauldsor, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular that the team provided fantastic service & were warm & welcoming. I agree there is room for improvement across the property, and we are working on a number of small projects to provide a...

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here one night. The room was dated, musky but clean and comfortable. The service at the restaurant was very slow but the food great. Lots of local art on show which was fabulous to see. The staff were friendly. The pool area was great and refreshing after a long drive. You pay for Wi-Fi in the rooms. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve5691
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve5691, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular that you found the room clean & comfortable, food was to a high standard, staff were friendly, and that the local art was of great interest. The team looks forward to welcoming you back...

Brisbane
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel quite a few years ago when it was new and returned there this year. The rooms and exterior could do with a refurbishment. Staff were helpful. Our dinners at the restaurant were all of a very good quality. It just needs a bit of TLC.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne_qld
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear anne_qld, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular that the staff were helpful and your meal in the restaurant was to a very high standard. I agree there is room for improvement across the property, and we are working on a number...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has a pleasant lobby and restaurant area. The rooms look quite old and definitely need a renovation. Cleanliness is fine though. Wifi is not included (except 50mb in the lobby area - what a joke for a 4* hotel nowadays). Food in the restaurant is good, prices are average but not cheap. During summer months it looks almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank okeviin
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear okeviin, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay, in particular that the food in the restaurant was to a high standard and that the cleanliness was good throughout the hotel. I agree that the rooms could use some improvement and we...

Fremantle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

In response to other review comments I had real trepidations about this hotel. However, it suprpassed all my modest expectations. The room was clean and quite spacious. The pool area is quite pleasant for a quick dip after a hot steamy day of crocodile hunting. Our dinner at the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. No complaints at all and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaspilite
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jaspilite, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular that the room was clean & spacious, the dinner was to a good standard & reasonably priced, and that the service was very friendly. I am glad that we were able to alleviate your...

Knebworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a two night organised tour of Kakadu & Catharine Gorge National Parks, the coach pulled up outside the Crocodile hotel for the first night. What a surprise greeted us as we walked in to the reception area, what a luxurious oasis in a wilderness! The hotel itself was immaculate and had a very nice restaurant which served us a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John A, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular that the breakfast & dinner in the restaurant was excellent, and that the team was very friendly & helpful. I agree that the rooms could use some improvement, we are striving to provide...

Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed with my son at this hotel during the last week of December. The staff was very helpful and the location was very convenient. The pool was not good... cleanliness could also be improved. Good spacious rooms. Good food as well but very expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5shyams
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 5shyams, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay, in particular that the team was very helpful, the rooms spacious, food was to a good standard and that our location was convenient. I have shared your feedback regarding the cleanliness to better...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There is not a lot of choice of hotel in kakadu, but the hotel is very correct. The restaurant is good, simple good food. The rooms are ok, nothing you can expect more as it is a very nature related kind of trip. The parking is convenient. The hotel crocodile shape is super kitch and i loved it. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy K
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy K, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is very pleasing that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular the food in the restaurant was good, the art gallery was of great interest to you, and that you loved the unique layout of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ducked down to Kakadu from Darwin for the night, as there are always great 'off season' specials at the Mercure. It was our son's first time and he loves crocodiles so it worked out well. We had a great time but the poor old crocodile needs a facelift. The reception area and restaurant are lovely, but the motel rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J K
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J K, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, in particular that the dinner in our restaurant was lovely. I agree that there is room for improvement across the property and we are in the process of working on these to provide...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
27.6 km away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
385 reviews
42.5 km away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
714 reviews
1.0 km away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
175 reviews
0.0 km away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Address: 1 Flinders Street, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Price Range: $93 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go in the wet season, you're likely to get stranded.”
 of 5 bubbles anne_qld, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the bottom floor have pool access.”
 of 5 bubbles BuffaloJade, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“first floor offers more privacy but no lift to take your suitcase up , only stairs”
 of 5 bubbles aviscath, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one on ground floor near the pool. Glass doors open direct to pool.”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Adcairns, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay