We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Magpie

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Magpie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Lovely friendly and helpful owner. Our unit was very clean and well equipped. Kitchen / Bathroom dated but very clean and excellent value for money. Nice looking pool and children play area. We really appreciated that our small dog was able to stay and we felt very welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Jane L
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review

Hello Jane, Thank you for your review, it is nice to see our efforts being recognised. We pride ourselves on how we are able to keep all our guests comfortable down to the four legged cute ones. Kind Regards Greg & Lisa Lomas THE MAGPIE. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Absolutely immaculate motel. Friendly welcome, family room spotlessly clean with plenty of room for adults and 2x young children. Pool was an absolute god send as it was 33 degrees upon arrival to Hastings. Handy to have a dairy next door...highly recommend staying here.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review

I wanted to personally let you know how much we appreciate you sharing your review on trip advisor. We have high standards with our cleanliness and are very proud of the value for money we offer our customers/friends that stay. Thank you so much for sharing your candid review and letting everyone know. We look forward to you visiting us... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Lisa is awesome. The room is absolutely fabulous and super tidy. A herd of elephants seem to have taken up residence above us (they had a stampede at midnight). Other than the elephants, this place sure does rock. Oh yeah and completely affordable! Will be back

Helpful?
Thank TashFernz
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review

Thanks Tash for your review. It is great that you note the effort we put in. We really enjoyed both of you visiting us and look forward to next time. Sorry about the inconsiderate ones above, we would love everyone to be as considerate to other guests as you were. More 

Rotorua District, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Reasonably close to the CBD so a stroll to the shops was easy. The pool did look good and would be good for kids as they could be watched from your unit. The unit itself did need a refurbish but all in all it had everything we needed.

Helpful?
Thank AndreaPick
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review

Thank you for letting everyone know about our lovely motel. The pool is lovely on those hot Hawkes Bay days, just recently we hit 29 degrees so many used it. Thank you for taking the time to let others know how homely it is here. More 

Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Location excellent with easy access to CDB and many eateries. Pool looked inviting. Good wi-fi. Unfortunately parking for side units was terrible. Rather small spaces and requiring reversing back almost to main road. Shower water pressure was extremely poor.

Helpful?
Thank Alex W
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you had a good stay. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2015 via mobile

We arrived at this motel after a long search for accommodation and we were very happy with what we found. The welcome was warm and helpful, the room was tidy and clean. There was a nice seating area at the rear with a pool.We did find the room hot but I just left the fan on in the bedroom to... More 

Helpful?
Thank frostoff59
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review

Satisfied customers are a welcome to our Motel. We love our location and we pride ourselves in how clean we have our units. We work so hard to keep it all finely tuned. Thank you very much for sharing your review as we know many read the reviews and the type of review you have given us is a great... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Good Bits: Close to Splash Planet and Town. 5 Mins to everything. Has a play area for kids with swings and trampoline. Good outside area for sitting on warm days. Staff were friendly. Pet friendly. Bad Bits: No air con in the room so heat was unbearable. Nearly suffocated in the heat and couldn't open windows as owner advised us... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank FamilyNMJ
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review

Really shocking unexpected review. We let them bring their dog for no cost, which they let in places we did not agree to. We treat our property for fleas after each dog, you have to in this industry. We know who this group was,with out embarassing you, the room was left disgusting. You had no respect for anothers property. Our... More 

Otaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Came here to be apart of the Hawkes Bay Cup Rowing Regatta in Clive. Overall we enjoyed our stay and for the price it was very good. Location-wise was not too far from the River and close to Shops Restaurants and Splash Planet. A little bit disappointed that when we returned after our long day out, the beds were not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seuga F
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our self care units are popular because they are great for independant travellers. More 

Rotorua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, and received a hot deal that was available online. The room itself had everything you need. Great outdoor area right next to the playground and BBQ table. Was very clean and tidy. It is a little outdated but the price we payed reflected on that so we didn't mind. We got nothing but great service... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 2huks
Lisa L, Manager at The Magpie, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We pride ourselves on our service and our cleanliness, we feel this is crucial in our industry. We will make sure more plugs are available. Plus we put a extra in for fridge. We look forward to you revisiting us in the future. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Came here to be close to Splash Planet, which it was. Overall we enjoyed our stay and for the price it was very good. Location-wise, it's a bit of a hike on foot into Hastings central, esp. in very hot weather. There was a very small but well equipped dairy/corner store just next to the motel and there were a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luluzz
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinions. More 

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
1:20
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 km away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#5 of 20 in Hastings
75 reviews
2.4 km away
Amici Motel
Amici Motel
#3 of 20 in Hastings
170 reviews
2.0 km away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 20 in Hastings
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Clansman Motor Lodge
Clansman Motor Lodge
#8 of 20 in Hastings
40 reviews
1.7 km away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
2.0 km away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Hastings
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Magpie Motel is a small motel that prides itself as being at the heart of the Hastings/Hawkes Bay area. Close to CBD, close to restaurants, tourist activites, beaches and outdoor areas. Great value for money. We offer Ensuite units, one bedroom, family room and studios. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Magpie

Address: 1122 Karamu Road North, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Price Range: $89 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Magpie 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Magpie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Magpie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at front have no one above and easy parking. Was not noisy. Nice to have grassy area at back of unit for our dog.”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the upper level”
 of 5 bubbles TashFernz, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on front with better parking.”
 of 5 bubbles alexwZ3635RK, 7 Mar 2015 | Read review
“There are two storeys to choose from.”
 of 5 bubbles seugaf, 9 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Ask for an upstairs room unless you are a very heavy sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles Luluzz, 3 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay