We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Show Prices
#14 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rutherford Hotel Nelson
See the most recent reviews
Showing 341: English reviews
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for three nights in this old lady. Opened in 1972 it is overdue for a refurbishment. The polite lady who checked us in and out was lovely. However other reception staff encountered seed a ottos frazzled and stiff as other reviewers have mentioned.Our room on the nineth floor was ok but had uncomfortable beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
AlexanderSiebentritt, Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Richard T Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Rutherford Hotel Nelson and for choosing our hotel as your place of rest and relaxation. It is disappointing to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We normally have a variety of fresh fruits available at...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Stayed at the Rutherford when visiting Nelson for the first time on recommendation of friends. Nice lobby area, hotel a little dated. We were on the 9th floor - and apparently upgraded to a premium room. Was not sure what that would mean, but having stayed in heaps of hotels I was "excited". Excitement over, we ended up with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Le S
AlexanderSiebentritt, Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Le S Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review on your recent stay at the Rutherford Hotel Nelson. I am sorry to hear your experience about the upgrade. A premium room is our standard room type therefore we have no room to upgrade to a premium room. I do apologise that if you have been...

Bucks
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

WE had four days here on part of a tour of New Zealand. THe hotel is in a quiet area of the town and our very nice large room was full of light and faced the cathedral. THe hotel style is traditional, in fact it had a corporate feel about it, with retrained woodwork for decor everywhere and uniformed staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank accidentaltourist_8
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This hotel is supposed to be the best in Nelson, the staff behind the desk lacked personality and well conversation, ability to be front of house.....the shower was a drip and took 20 mins to heat up. There is no safe in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victoriaschav
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel in a great location for exploring the town and my room had a nice view over the town down to the sea. Rooms a little dated but air con worked well. Limited wifi, would expect more from a 4 star hotel. Some noise from the neighbouring room so sound proofing could be improved. Did not eat at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pebs71
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Very close to all the shops and restaurants. Great walking distance from everything. Very quiet, and the staff were great. If you happen to go sight seeing for a few days, you can leave your luggage in a secured area at the hotel. We had a view of the church and the great sunsets behind it. The only reason I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Staff were more than willing to help with anything you might need. Ocean restaurant attached was mediocre and pretty pricey. Best part was the wonderful bartender, Josh. Really personable guy, good stories, great recommendations on drinks was the biggest thing. Not to mention he could probably make anything to your liking meticulously.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Raylo
Michigan
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Other than the shower head, the hotel was very nice. The shower head was very low for me and I'm only 5'4". Our room had wonderful light, lots of mirrors, lots of hangers, and nice towels. I counted 4 outlets free to use. The wifi was good and the rooms were quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 495Barb
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We enjoyed a night at the Rutherford which is by far our most favourite place to stay when we come to Nelson. It has that touch of luxury and decadence about it which elevates it above the numerous motels in the town. We were greeted by Ciaran McKenna at the front desk, a charming friendly person. From check in to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HopewellLodge
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 January 2017

This is the best hotel in central Nelson with a choice of restaurants in the hotel and very comfortable quiet rooms. The staff are friendly and capable and the breakfast buffet we had was good. The views over the town or hills are interesting. The hotel is about 100m from the town square where the excellent Saturday market is held....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Argy14

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
629 reviews
0.9 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.8 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 42 in Nelson
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
525 reviews
0.3 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
6.1 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Miyazu Japanese Restaurant
Miyazu Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Oceano
Oceano
Cuisines: New Zealand, Seafood, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nelson is an extraordinary NZ destination befitting a hotel of such a high standard. The Rutherford Hotel Nelson offers luxurious hotel accommodation with a full complement of features designed to help you achieve the most from your stay. The hotel offers a range of superior guest facilities including two restaurants, a cafe and is only a couple of minutes walk from Nelson's main shopping district and landmark cathedral. Dining, relaxing, or getting away from it all, this is one of the few hotels that puts you right at the doorstep of three national parks and an unmatched range of sandy beaches, blue seas and mountain wilderness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Address: 27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $204 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rutherford Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rutherford Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Rutherford Hotel
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rutherford Hotel Nelson staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Centennial, Colorado
Centennial, Colorado
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rutherford Hotel Nelson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good views from eighth floor!”
 of 5 bubbles MrsBiffo, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great place to stay if you don't have a car, walking distance from most places”
 of 5 bubbles jennifervH375QP, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be fine”
 of 5 bubbles DaleB973, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any of the high up/corner suites should give you great views.”
 of 5 bubbles Alaroy01, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great views from upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles lujamesm, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5