We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Show Prices
#9 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

862 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 801: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 December 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmel O
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 December 2014

Being English, we found these cottages soooooo cute. Beautifully decorated and situated, provided everything that you could need. The icing on the cake would be a small shop perhaps, that stocked basis foods, ice cream etc. We didn't eat here, as we didn't like the menu, so went over the road to The Honest Lawyer - which was a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 December 2014

Monaco restaurant provided excellent food in a relaxing envoronment, perfect after a hard days work! TV channels were a bit confusing as they did not match the displayed channel name.Pleasant walks on the doorstep around the bay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMandAB
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 December 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenjohnNZ
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niall-NorthLondon
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Reviewed 11 December 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our trip around NZ with our 2 sons (aged 5 and 3) in one of the 2 bedroomed Riverside Cottages. Having been disappointed with a number of the hotels we've stayed at so far and then reading some of the TripAdvisor reviews for Mercure Nelson Monaco, we arrived with trepidation! However this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rebecca K
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca K Thank you very much for sharing such wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read your feedback with such joy! I am pleased that we were able to create a home away from home for you and your family while on holidy in New Zealand. It is a real honor to have...

Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 December 2014

For 3 dollars you can wash and dry your cloths in the laundry, which was really good. Rooms are well maintained, which is not usual in NZ. However, hotel is located opposite of airport, therefore it could be noisy at the evening if you prefer to sleep a bit early.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ipek U
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Ipek U Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found our guest laundry useful and worth the $3. It is nice to see your comments regarding our well maintained rooms, we have a team of very hardworking maintenance staff who will be pleased to read your...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 December 2014

Beautiful surroundings but just felt old and tired in the rooms. Seemed to be a lot of new staff in the restaurant for breakfast and orders forgotten or arrived incomplete. Staff were warm and friendly but not enough to make us stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Helen W Thank you very much for sharing your experience on our tripadvisor page. We very much appreciate you taking the time and we are sorry that you found the hotel to be old and tired. The hotel was built only 8-10 years ago and was built to look like an old English Village with Railway Sleepers from the...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 27 November 2014

This fun boutique hotel has everything you need onsite. The front desk staff are so nice and friendly. The restaurant on site had a nice breakfast and wonderful service and staff. They were so welcoming to us and our infant son. The room was on the smaller side, but we had one on the first floor end which meant it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RWAJ08
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear RWAJ08 Thank you for sharing such lovely comments regarding your stay with us at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is such a pleasure to read about your stay and thank you for your comments regarding our staff. They are ofcourse a fundamental part of our business and I am sure that this feedback will serve as encouragement to...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 November 2014

Very agreeable accommodation. Spacious rooms. We liked the Cotswold village like complex. Pleasant friendly staff. Location is not handy to town but very nice when tide is in. Dining was very acceptable

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin O
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Kevin O Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us at The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am pleased to read that you liked the old world charm that we have created. We are located en route to the beautiful Abel Tasman...

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (240)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.9 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
629 reviews
6.8 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
5.9 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
525 reviews
6.7 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 42 in Nelson
446 reviews
6.1 km away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $90 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Auckland, New Zealand

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great views, convenient location, clean & comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles akritig2013, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Downstairs suite with access to garden”
 of 5 bubbles HoneyAndPaul, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for view to the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeB291, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A studio room which we expected it to be small . But it was 1 brm with separate lounge and dining area. The other rooms looked lovely too.”
 of 5 bubbles ggsboss, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The village green rooms have a lovely green manicured lawn which may be nicer and allow more light in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles MelAuckland, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5