We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oamaru Motor Lodge

Show Prices
#2 of 19 Hotels in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Oamaru Motor Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

These guys have done a lovely job updating this old style motor inn... From the fast and efficient online booking, to the friendly greeting, to our room... We were very impressed. Highly recommended for all types of travellers. We really loved the decor and furnishings of the room... Very modern and tastefully done.

Helpful?
Thank Ricthomas
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks for taking the time to review. Your comments are very much appreciated. And we hope you enjoyed Oamaru! Thanks for visiting. Cheers. Colin More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my favorite motel so far during my visit in New Zealand, and I have been in New Zealand for 3 weeks, changing accommodation almost every day. The owner is very kind and accommodating. I have a superior room which is very spacious, and most importantly, very quiet. The room décor is modern and comfortable, as is the bathroom.... More 

Helpful?
Thank P A
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. What a very thorough review; well done! Yes we are reasonably new (aprox 8 years) however we upgrade four units every year to keep on top of things. Thanks for recommending us; we buy that! Cheers. Colin More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impressions were great with a very friendly welcome. I stayed one night in an upstairs unit and it was super clean and modern, the bed was comfortable and warm. TV has sky and almost all the channels, so much better than the 3 or so you normally get. Double glazing made for a nice quiet stay. Town is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank ExploreNZ123
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. What a very considered review; thank you very much for this. Much appreciated. We trust you enjoyed Oamaru. Cheers. Colin More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took a King studio suite on ground level. Unit is dated and the bed feels soft. Wifi provided is based on individual login password per device limited to 512Mb. We were given 2 passwords but requested for 2 more as we had 4 devices. TV was mounted in such a way that it was impossible to utilise the hdmi connection,... More 

Helpful?
Thank madbirdy
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks for your review. The complex is 8 years old and the unit was refurbished a month ago. Maybe the modern colours and prints etc don't appeal. Yes, you were given 2Gb free. More was available upon request but some holiday if you are going to sit in your unit and use 2Gb in 12 hours. Oamaru has more... More 

Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by our host and politely shown to our room. I was impressed with the cleanliness and functionality of the room. Comfortable king size bed, great bathroom. Would more than happily stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank GCShadbolt
JanBil, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks very much for your kind review. Gosh how two guests can see the place differently; have a look at the review immediately above this! Thanks for staying and we hope you enjoyed Oamaru. Cheers. Colin More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

A little way out from the action and attractions but still on the main road. Nice and helpful manager. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Decor a bit dated. Oven not working in our room. Good space. Easy parking.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Rachel. I'm not sure you have the correct property. We are not a little way out; there are a half dozen or so motels at the north end of town that I would call a little way out. We only have full ovens in the family units and I can assure you they are all working fine. Our property... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We spent 2 nights here and loved the spacious modern units, best shower ever. Every thing was really clean. Impressed with the free WiFi that seem to be very fast. Comfortable king size bed. Very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank MelCee82
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks very much for the kind review. It goes a long way for making a happy day! Kind regards. Colin. More 

Miners Rest, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

The room was fantastic and very modern and very clean . The owner was very nice and even offered to drop us down the street so we could go out for tea if we did not want to drive .We would stay there again .It was a very quiet motor lodge I think the double glazed windows may have made... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene I
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Darlene. Thanks for the very kind review. Yes we are double glazed so we are well sound proofed. And if I remember rightly, I think you walked in the end! Thanks for staying and I hope you enjoyed NZ. Cheers. Colin More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent place to stay in Oamaru. Beautifully clean and comfortable accommodation with tidy little kitchenette. We were in the unit at the back of the property which was super quiet. Bed incredibly comfortable. Only confusing thing was the wifi situation as it was unclear what was or wasn't charged for. This should have been made clear on check in. Would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lanab_10
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Lanab. Thank you very much for the kind review. Very much appreciated. The days of charging for wifi are long past. We operate on the first 6 hours free per device. We are currently updating signage code print out. Thanks for staying. Colin More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

This motel was a find. Spa bath, king bed, exceptional value. Close to shops. Big room, comfy bed and super clean! Highly recommended for couples or family. Only minor critisism is that downstairs is a little noisy if there are perpetual door slammers upstairs. But as I said, this is minor!

Helpful?
Thank VGGardner
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks very much for the kind review. Yes indeed we do try and offer value and excellent presentation. The units are a very modern build, fully sound proofed but can't escape door slammers and people that walk heavily (thump) on their heels upstairs. For some reason the concrete floor seems to transmit this through the sound proofing and there... More 

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
2.0 km away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#13 of 19 in Oamaru
161 reviews
1.1 km away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#1 of 19 in Oamaru
315 reviews
0.5 km away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 19 in Oamaru
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
1.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
1.3 km away
Northstar
Northstar
#5 of 19 in Oamaru
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oamaru's superior accommodation complex where "great value is only the begining!!" 15 stylish suites and apartments, double-glazed for quiet and warmth. Spacious studio units sleep couple or twin, double-corner spa baths, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom family apartments, access facilities. All units with tea/coffee-making facilities and microwaves with hotplates and frypans available.Some with fully equipped kitchens with electric range. Lovely bathrooms, king-size beds, electric blankets/heating, work stations, wireless broadband, phone, LCD TVs with 50+ Sky TV channels. Cooked and continental breakfasts. All units are non-smoking with ashtrays provided on outdoor seating directly adjacent unit door. Guest laundry available. Ample off-street parking. Pet friendly by arrangement. Courtesy vehicle. Restaurant 50 metres across road, choice of F & C shops, bakery and retail shops 100 metres from motel. Located on Thames Highway close to A&P showgrounds, Sports Stadium, high schools. Experience the difference! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oamaru Motor Lodge

Address: 391 Thames Highway, Oamaru, New Zealand (Formerly 391 Oamaru Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Price Range: $140 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oamaru Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oamaru Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oamaru
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oamaru
#4 Family Hotel in Oamaru
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oamaru Motor Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oamaru Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some room have spa baths”
 of 5 bubbles ExploreNZ123, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a back unit if traffic noise would be a problem”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Thames Highway is busy. The units are double glazed but a room away from the highway will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles IanfromRAK, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for first floor”
 of 5 bubbles Melbourne_FLJill, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Layout means all rooms should be quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Gillys_travels, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay