We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Hotel Bentinck

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Hotel Bentinck
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Bentinck
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Brisbane
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Plenty of character with clean and well decorated rooms. I found it very quiet but had an upper floor room. There isn't really much traffic anyway. The location is good and easy parking - it's a small town . The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. A possible improvement would be a quieter seperate table service alternative to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrFairGo
Robert H, Owner at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this review

Thank you MrFairGo, We appreciate your review and you have brought up some excellent points for us to look at to improve the bistro in the future. We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful 4 star accommodation and you received excellent service in all areas of our establishment. Thank you again,

South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed a night on the way to Adelaide. Fantastic all rounder, with various options for accommodation from rooms upstairs to little motel drive up budget cabins out the back. The restaurant is very good and the little pub very novel with that port nautical theme. We had a lunch at the pub and it was excellent value fish and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim J
Robert H, Owner at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Tim. We certainly enjoyed your patronage last week and look forward to having you as our guest again in the not too distant future.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2016

After riding from Adelaide via Bordertown Horsham & Great Western i decided on Portland for the sunday nights stop.I booked a 2nd floor corner spa room and was delighted with the room and this lovely restored hotel upon arrival. The bar staff were very helpful sorting out my booking as i enjoyed a nice pint by the fireplace.I later enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 69buggydingdong
Robert H, Owner at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review. Your room was one of our beautiful corner suites which I admit is one of my favourite in the hotel. I will certainly pass on your remarks to our Bar and Kitchen Staff.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Really liked this hotel, amazing views, comfy rooms although quite small. The restaurant attached has good to absolutely die for..... Beds are resonanly comfortable, good wifi, all the little things like kettle, fridge etc. My only complaint would be, even though the housekeeping ladies were wonderful, they were outside your door before check out trying to hurry you out so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Stayed overnight at the Quality Hotel Bentinck, very comfortable and clean...there is a Waiver you sign re Band playing in the downstairs Bar but we stayed in Room 22 and didn't hear a think except for some late night revellers in the street below but not too bad.... overall a comfortable stay overnight. We found the local RSL and enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosebond
Robert H, Owner at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review on the Quality Hotel Bentinck. The majority of our Hotel rooms, that like your room 22, are not affected by any Entertainment that may be happening on the ground floor. We just like to make people aware of what is happening within the complex. We are pleased that you...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2016

It is nice to stay in different types of accommodation on a holiday, and this lovely old restored hotel was not only gorgeous from the outside, but the two rooms we stayed in were luxurious and comfortable and decorated in a very nice historic way. We stayed in a one bedroom suite overlooking the waterfront and our son in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite B
Robert H, Owner at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review of your stay at the Quality Hotel Bentinck. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as gusts and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

London
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The room was beautifully decorated, quite contemporary in style with a comfortable bed and plenty of space. The bathroom had exposed brickwork and was pristine. The public areas of the hotel were less impressive: quite tired and cobbled together. The included breakfast was basic, but fine. There is a pub attached to the hotel which provides a wide range of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9april9
Robert H, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we take all feedback on board and we will be looking into ways of improving the standard of the hotel. Our staff will be very pleased to hear your feedback on their service and we have updated all of our booking websites to include information about the reasons for the inclusion of the sound waiver....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The room was comfortable and quite large with lots of interesting period features. Gracious old hotel with evidence of its history that has had the rooms restored beautifully. Large bathroom with all amenities supplied. We stayed in a king suite with a partial view of the harbour. The staff are wonderful and courteous. The food at the hotel is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John_Dese
Robert H, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this review

Dear John_Dese, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the charm of the hotel. Thank you for your review.

England
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Dated, old-fashioned decor with carpets and windows that hadn't been cleaned in a long time. "Overlooking harbour" meant a distant peek through the water at a construction site. Traffic noise. Poor breakfast On arrival you have to sign a form that you have been told the bar will be playing loud music play until 1:30am.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Otsale
Robert H, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this review

Dear Otsale, Thank you for your review, your concerns have been noted and will be dealt with where possible. The windows are cleaned on a regular basis, been a seaside resort sea mist is a constant vigilance. The hotel is was built in 1956 and has been very well restored in period, also to be noted Portland is a working...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

This is the place to choose to stay in Portland! It's a country pub with 4 star luxury. Very very clean, very comfy King bed, great food downstairs in the pub bistro. Whisper quiet (even on a Saturday night with a band downstairs-just ask for room above reception). I would recommend this hotel for a romantic couples getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyFeetWorldwide
Robert H, Owner at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Quality Hotel Bentinck. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we hope that we can welcome you back some time in the future.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.1 km away
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
Victoria Lodge Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Portland
94 reviews
1.6 km away
Mariner Motel
Mariner Motel
#1 of 7 in Portland
75 reviews
0.2 km away
Melaleuca Motel
Melaleuca Motel
#3 of 7 in Portland
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quest Portland
Quest Portland
#1 of 10 in Portland
189 reviews
0.7 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 7 in Portland
88 reviews
0.4 km away
Annesley House
Annesley House
#2 of 7 in Portland
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mac's Hotel Bentinck was originally constructed in 1855 and has been renovated in classy Victorian style. Boasting 14 beautifully designed spacious guest rooms, some offering breath taking ocean views. All rooms at this 4 star accommodation are air conditioned and include Austar cable TV, wireless internet access, mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities. Select rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs. Continental buffet breakfast, WIFI, Austar & onsite gym facilities inclusive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Bentinck

Address: 41 Bentinck St | Corner Bentinck & Gawler Street, Portland, Victoria 3305, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Portland
Price Range: $159 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Bentinck 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Bentinck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Bentinck Portland, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel Bentinck staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you don't like loud music playing where you sleep, avoid Friday and saturday nights over the bar.”
irg141, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the Bar side of the establishment”
Sloene, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a view of the bay. Third floor rooms mean walking up a fair way ! Not a problem for the young and fit though”
837stuartw, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Has a variety of options for budgets see review”
TimJ213, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Corner spa room is large and very well appointed”
  • Corner spa room at sunrise
69buggydingdong, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5