We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay

Save
Share
1 Shell St Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (200)
Room & Suite (55)
Pool & Beach (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 61 Speciality lodging in Hervey Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat is a unique holiday destination like no other in Hervey Bay. The 36 private, individual lakefront villas are surrounded by 10 acres of lush nature reserve, teeming with wildlife. Each villa is self-contained with a balcony overlookig our lake, providing the perfect setting for your family holiday or quiet getaway.Just 300 metres from the best beach in Hervey Bay, it's pricless. For your meals you can either cook in your villa, on our array of barbeques near every villa or dine out at a fantastic variety of restuarants close to the retreat. For your supplies, Urangan Shopping Centre is only minutes away, or stroll down to the fish co-op in the morning and select seafood that has been caught fresh daily.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Complimentary instant cofffee
Boating
Diving
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Snorkelling
Bowling offsite
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
291Reviews1Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 171
  • 96
  • 16
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
feljen2009 wrote a review Oct 2021
6 contributions
This was our second visit and we seem to enjoy it more every time we stay. The units (No 24 this time) are clean and comfortable. While some minor issues such as dripping taps and cracked tiles, we raised them with Deb straight away which was appreciated by management. We love seeing the birds and turtles and fish, even had a resident Butcher Bird get up close and personal, eating out of my partners hand. It is in great proximity to the beach and a morning walk to watch the sunrise at Urangan Pier is a real treat. Deb is a great host, providing great information about local places to see and things to do. Her beautiful ducks are also well loved pets and take right of way 🙂 We will definitely be returning and cannot wait until our next visit. Thanks Deb and Rod. From Jen and Steve
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Jen and Steve. Thank you for such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts. If we aren't made aware that there is a problem we can't fix it so we thank you for raising those few little things with us when you noticed them. How special is the personal contact with the animals. We love it and we love that our guests get the opportunity to engage with them for a short time - we get to do it every day. And yes, those ducks are all pretty special to us too. Our human families are so far away - these animals have become our babies now too lol. I am not a morning person so still have not manage a sunset from the pier but it is my goal to do it one day - I'm gald you goe to experience that too. Hervey Bay really is a lovely play to relax and explore. Looking forward to your next visit.
Read more
Anthony M wrote a review Aug 2021
Brisbane, Australia12 contributions2 helpful votes
What a hidden gem! So happy to have spent one night with my wife and 18 month old son who really loved the ducks, birds and turtles all so close to the rooms. absolutely GREAT value for money and within walking distance to the pier and boat club. Very relaxing stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Hi Anthony. We are so happy to hear you had a great stay. The wildlife is such great entertainment for the kids (and big kids too lol). We try to keep our prices lower so families can have an enjoyable holiday.
Read more
Gabrielle H wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Sanctuary Lakes was nice and quiet and close to the beach and shopping centres for any groceries you need. Plenty of board games for the family (even though we didn't find them till we left) You can also buy duck food at the office and feed the ducks which is perfect for the kids. Very spacious villas that where clean and tidy. Great service and great for both families and couples. Nice quiet get away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Hey Gabrielleh842 - so glad you enjoyed your last holiday with us. Not all our cabins have games in them but you know for next time - make sure you ask for the same room lol. We are actually looking at adding games and jigsaw puzzles to our little DVD and book library in the office. How relaxing is it to sit out and feed the turtles.....we love it too. Hope to see you again soon for another holiday.
Read more
Aussiecharles wrote a review May 2021
Point Cook, Australia310 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
At arrival, there is a big security gate, which opens up to a little paradise with a number of connected lakes surrounded by cabins spread throughout the property. There are 36 cabins, and we were allocated unit 2, which is right at the entrance, overlooking one pond with a few birds, which looked more industrial and bare. It was not really what we were hoping for and Deb at reception found another unit, in the middle of the park, as we love nature and birds. She explained later that the park was fully booked, and warned there was a hole in the door of the closet. We were tired from driving all day and just needed a rest, so we closed our eyes and tried to avoid the sad state of affairs surrounding us. The next day reality hit us like a brick. This unit is in serious need of lots of maintenance and should be avoided. There were soiled spots on the carpet, the towel rack was broken (which was promptly replaced to the managers’ credit). The little fridge was wheezing at night like it was ready to give its last breath. The two chairs were very low and uncomfortable. The wash basin had no plug, and there were broken bathroom tiles. I could go on and on, but you get the picture. The scenery is beautiful and we enjoyed sitting on the deck and feeding the birds and turtles. It is not very close to the beach, and we preferred driving to the beach, where there are excellent eating places - please see my reviews (Black Bear and Salt). This place has so much potential and I think the managers are trying their best. But cabins are owned by separate owners that are reluctant to do proper maintenance. It is not fair that travellers should pay good money for a poorly maintained cabin, so I would recommend you avoid cabin 21. It is not my intention to harm a business, so I won’t include pictures of poor maintenance. Life is not perfect, but we all deserve fair and reasonable treatment. As I reflect on our four day stay, I can’t help but to remember with a little sadness that it could have been five star, if the unit was properly maintained. Since then we have stayed in two wonderful cabins in Port Macquarie and Lake Cathie.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 6 May 2021
Hi Charles Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time. As you already have mentioned, the room you were actually assigned to was fine and did have a lake view as well, your request for another room was so that you could see more birdlife. We did offer up the other room with the pre-warning that it was not of the same standard but the only one left. You were offered the opportunity to inspect the room first, and after inspection when asked what you thought your response was "it's perfect". Granted the carpets were not cleaned when the rest of the cabins were done because we had guests in at the time, and we are waiting for another vacancy with the cleaning company to squeeze us in. As mentioned, the towel rack was replaced and other complaints you made were dealt with as we could manage given that it was a long weekend and no other business were open to be able to rectify any of the problems. I have to say the unexpected aggressiveness and tone used towards our staff first thing in the morning was quite confronting and certainly upset the staff who were working on the day. Perhaps a gentle discussion would have been more appropriate and possibly could have resolved more. It was quite difficult to hear your complaints when you were both attacking at the same time. We understand you felt like you had paid too much for your stay ("paid good money") however $430 for a 4 night stay on a long weekend in a 3 star property is certainly not over the top. We feel you are probably better suited to a higher standard than what is offered here. We quite clearly advertise as "affordable" accommodation in 3 star style - this would often indicate that the rooms are not 5 star grade, however they are clean and comfortable. The chairs you complained about are tub chairs, and we have never had another guest complain that they are too low or too uncomfortable. We certainly try to suit the majority of our guests, but we are aware that we may not cater 100% to everyone, no matter how hard we try. Thank you for bringing the fridge to our attention via this avenue - we were not aware it was a problem, so we will arrange to have a new one installed to replace it. We will also advise the owner of the broken tiles and get them replaced. We currently have 4 rooms out of the letting pool while they are having bathroom renovations done, so the poorer rooms are getting fewer and fewer. I'm a little confused about your comments re distance to the beach. We are 2 small blacks - we are exactly 350 m to the beach from our front gate - a 4 minute walk according to google maps. And yes there are excellent restaurants and cafes within walking distance (Salt cafe being one of them). We are sorry your stay didn't meet your expectations on this occasion, remembering though you requested the change of room and accepted the change to a lower standard room prewarned of its state. We would like to welcome you back another time into a renovated room so you can see the difference sometime.
Read more
margaret P wrote a review Mar 2021
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed 3 night in a cabin on the lake watching the bird life and so much funa around it was peaceful and quite Cabins are basic and clean and have everything you need to enjoy your stay Close to everything in Hervey Bay and if you want the beach approximately 5 Min walk away
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Deb Schultz, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 16 Mar 2021
HI Margaret Thank you for leaving us a lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It certainly is a lovely quiet spot to relax.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 74 - USD 85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sanctuary Lakes Beach Resort
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandFraser CoastHervey Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Nearby attractions include Esplanade (0.5 km), The Pier (0.8 km), and Hervey Bay Botanic Gardens (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salt Cafe Urangan, Two Ducks Cafe & Asian Grocery, and Pie & Pastry Paradise.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.