We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay

1 Shell St Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (216)
Room & Suite (61)
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 23 apartments in Hervey Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat is a unique holiday destination like no other in Hervey Bay. The 36 private, individual lakefront villas are surrounded by 10 acres of lush nature reserve, teeming with wildlife. Each villa is self-contained with a balcony overlookig our lake, providing the perfect setting for your family holiday or quiet getaway.Just 300 metres from the best beach in Hervey Bay, it's pricless. For your meals you can either cook in your villa, on our array of barbeques near every villa or dine out at a fantastic variety of restuarants close to the retreat. For your supplies, Urangan Shopping Centre is only minutes away, or stroll down to the fish co-op in the morning and select seafood that has been caught fresh daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Boating
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Diving
Snorkelling
Bowling offsite
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
302Reviews1Q+A62Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 176
  • 100
  • 16
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Richard M wrote a review Oct 2023
Hampstead Norreys, United Kingdom871 contributions199 helpful votes
The cabins were basic but had what you needed for a few nights stay. It was a spectacular location surrounding the lake which was full of ducks and turtles. The place could do with a bit of a renevation but at the price it was a lovely stop for a few nights.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 2 Dec 2023
thank you Richard. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently closed for 2 weeks to update some of our cabins and tidy up the grounds a little more. Its been a busy time for us. We are sure you will notice the changes on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Johnny B wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Not knowing what to expect before our arrival, ultimately we were very, very Very happy with a decision to spend three nights at Fauna Sanctuary at Hervey Bay. Being 1/2 of a couple of 2 nature lovers, we had a great time feeding the ducks, and the turtles with the small bags of petting food that are provided for you from the reception. The general manager Deb had a lot of information to impart on us about the wildlife at the sanctuary and Took the time to explain exactly why and how the animals should be treated. Children would find this place unreal. It's like a petting zoo 247. Being surrounded by nature Was a very rewarding experience for my fiancee and I who both come from the big city. We had a great time, and we do believe that we may have in facan see our first born child together here at the Fauna Sanctuary. I hope you have the time of your life!! Ps. The in-ground pool built towards the back of the retreat is absolutely amazing for an early morning swim!!! JOHN BOSS
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I think every guest should be gifted a shot-glass sized cup of turtle/duck feed on arrival, along...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 2 Dec 2023
Thanks John - what a lovely review. Thank you so much. It really is a great place for nature lovers and we are glad you were able to see our passion for the animals and the environment as well. Its the perfect place to get away from a busy life for a couple of days and just re-find yourself isn't it. We hope to see you again soon - next time you need to chill out for a few days.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SAMARSHALL77 wrote a review Sept 2023
Adelaide, Australia205 contributions75 helpful votes
We arrived late, having driven from Sunshine Coast Airport and Rod was great organizing us. It is very secure with a coded entry gate. Cabins are clean and comfortable with a queen bed and single in the standard cabins in one open room with a separate bathroom. Lovely really hot shower. Kitchen has fridge and microwave. All have Aircon unit and tv. All cabin balcony’s face the lovely lake, which is filled with turtles, ducks and geese. They and the corellas come in for a feed in the morning. You are woken by a colcophony of bird song. Thoroughly enjoying our stay. Rod and Deb are also very friendly, helpful and can organise tourist activities. We will be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you use a booking company, and you will be arriving late, it is best to let Rod & Deb know as...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 2 Dec 2023
Hi Samarshall77 - thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and meeting the wildlife. Thry really do enjoy being around people too, and they feel safe to be themselves, which is really lovely. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Annette M wrote a review Apr 2023
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia33 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We booked our holiday last minute and we’re lucky enough to find a place to stay in the school holidays which was reasonably priced. I came with my daughter and 3 young grandchildren and we all loved it. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the kids just loved feeding the ducks, turtles and birds from the balcony. It was lovely and peaceful with well kept grounds, lots of wildlife and the pool was nice for an afternoon swim. I liked the fact we were safe and secure as access was through a secure gate. The beach was close by and a shopping centre a few minutes away. Would recommend for families and nature lovers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 13 Apr 2023
Hi 649annettem - thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We really appreciate it. Last minute bookings through school holidays are very hard to come by so we are excited that you were able to squeeze us in. I'm glad you all had a great time and enjoyed your stay. Aren't those animals just so precious - and entertaining for the kids too lol. We hope we see you again next time you are heading toHervey bay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PhantomScot wrote a review Mar 2023
137 contributions139 helpful votes
We have just had an excellent 3 night stay at Sanctuary Lakes. We found the owners to be friendly, helpful and considerate. The villas are a bit dated but they are clean, comfortable and adequately equipped. All villas are located lakeside so you can feed the ducks, turtles, corellas etc from your veranda. As a special treat you can also feed the wild possums in the evening with the owner. Location is close to all the attractions in Hervey Bay. Great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 2 Apr 2023
Hi you two - we are so glad you enjoyed your visit - the possums miss you already lol. Our economy cabins are often referred to as being a "bit dated" and we get that, they most definately are. The superior cabins have all had renovations and are amazing and comfortable, more modernised - but they are all comfy and clean and thats the most important thing. Its was great to see you interacting with our wildlife - thats what we really love about this place. Safe travels for the rest of your visit and we hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jessica W wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I had booked accommodation on booking .com for this place and when I arrived , the manager told me they had cancelled my booking because I was a local. They did not ring me to let me know, they did this . I read there policys there were no rules about where you come from I never heard such nonsense, I have always been a clean and respectful person and find these managers to be very rude. Do not stay there..
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deb Schultz, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 15 Oct 2022
When you leave a review for a business, its always best to be honest and remember the business has a right of reply. You arrived at 1230 demanding to be let in - you were told check in time was 2pm. You were also advised the 2 credit cards you provided had declined and as per our policy we notified the agent you booked through - they gave you until 3pm to rectify the issue, but you did not. You became quite agressive and threatening so were asked to leave the property. The booking agent cancelled the booking because you did not comply with ours or their policies. Threatening us from the front gate will definitely not get you into our property - a quick google search of your name identified there were some issues that we would not have been comfortable with anyway, so we can say we made the correct decision NOT to allow you to enter the property. We were not rude about it - we stated we do not accept cash payments from locals, we advised both cards had declined and you were required to update that through the agent your booked through, and we advised the booking would be cancelled if you couldn't rectify that issue before actual check in time. We received notification at 3pm from the agent so advise you had not updated info and we were then able to cancel. That is when we cancelled - its not our place to call you - you did not book direct with us. You did receive emails and messages from your agent though.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bruce M wrote a review Sept 2022
Dunedin, New Zealand774 contributions185 helpful votes
Amazing hidden place in an urban centre. Separate units which look out on the lagoon. Lots of birds moving about and roosting on the trees in the lagoon. Postive hosts with a real care for the local scene and their pet ducks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deb Schultz, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Hi Bruce and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and see our passion for this special place we have here. Those crazy birds - they certainly have been very active recently and provide all sorts of entertainment for our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Allan M wrote a review Aug 2022
11 contributions
We spend 1 - 2 weeks each year at the Sanstuary, Hervey Bay on the way to a stay at Kingfisher Bay on Fraser (now K'gari Island). Deb is always very helpful and ensures our cabin is cleaned and made up. Sanctuary Lakes is very peaceful and only a short walk to the lovely Urangan Beach for our daily beach walk and swim. The cabins are fully equipped for self-catering.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deb Schultz, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Thank you Allan. We always make a special effort for our returning guests. We are so pleased to here you love it here. It is so quiet and paceful here. In the middle of school holidays at the moment, and its almost like a ghost town - all the families are out enjoyingthe beach and the whales and the sunshine.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jacowest wrote a review Aug 2022
Ballarat, Australia36 contributions8 helpful votes
A very unique place to stay with abundant bird life to add an extra bit of entertainment. The cabin was spacious, clean and comfortable right on the waters edge where you could enjoy watching the birds. Felt welcomed from arrival by friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deb Schultz, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 15 Oct 2022
Thank you Jacinta. So glad you had a great time during your stay. We are very passionate about the protection of the wildlife and their environment because we know how much people, like yourself, enjoy it. It is a really unique experience. We hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda H wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
the room was dirty, stains in lounge,carpet, blinds mouldy,outdoor furniture dirty, kitchenware was not clean had to clean before using, internet terrible was told by caretakers that we had an economy room so don't ecpect the best!!!!! what a joke so because we booked that type of room don't expect clean!!!!!!! there was a terrible smell coming from outside that came in at night time and smelled like sewage!!!! was so disappointed want compensation for the 2 nights we didn't stay but got nothing would not recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: would not recommend
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deb Schultz, General Manager at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Responded 15 Oct 2022
Sorry you feel you have to leave a review like this because you had to leave early because your staff let you down. You left us a great review on the feedback card in the room. 8/10. We know you requested a refund due to checking out early, however because the booking was made through a third party and we had already been charged their fees for your stay, it made it impractical. Your quotes of statements supposedly made by us are not quite correct, but thats ok. We hope next time you travel to Hervey Bay you find something more suited to your requirements.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hervey Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$138 - AU$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sanctuary Lakes Beach Resort
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandFraser CoastHervey Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANCTUARY LAKES FAUNA RETREAT, HERVEY BAY (AU$138): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Nearby attractions include Esplanade (0.5 km), Urangan Pier (0.9 km), and Hervey Bay Botanic Gardens (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salt Cafe Urangan, Two Ducks Cafe & Asian Grocery, and Spotted Goat Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, Hervey Bay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.