We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Urangan Motor Inn

573 Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 4 lodges in Hervey Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Newly renovated bathrooms and furniture in our Premium Rooms. Affordable Standard Motel Rooms. Ample off street parking. Set on the foreshore and quiet with close proximity to heritage listed Urangan Pier.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Beach
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
186Reviews0Q+A41Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 71
  • 15
  • 7
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
stephenelliott61 wrote a review July 2023
Brisbane, Australia51 contributions6 helpful votes
Motel is in a great spot but I would have to agree with others about the smoke detector not being attached to the ceiling…this is totally illegal and could be reported to authorities if they choose to let it go…and an audit on safety was to happen..I was going to mention it to them but couldn’t find anyone at check out time
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Traveller wrote a review July 2023
12 contributions
A last minute booking on our trip. When we got to Urandangi the motel light was out (hard to find at night). The bedroom was clean and the bed was comfy, however the walls are paper thin and it felt like we were sharing the room with our neighbour (who kept us awake most of the night). The shower was awesome except the drain didn’t work properly and flooded the bathroom. Overall the stay was ok - close to restaurants and the pier but the bathroom needs a good spring clean.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bettor off paying the extra $20-$50 for elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John T wrote a review Feb 2023
Gladstone, Australia1 contribution
Do not , repeat do not stay at this motel. Extremely rude and sexist manager. Makes crude jokes about women. Thinks everyone loves his dog. Dirty and smelly air conditioning. Complained about cigarette smell in room and reply was “ smells better then your wife’s perfume “. Pillows had a bad musky smell . Never again at this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Good location if doing whale watching
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Urangan Motor Inn, Owner at Urangan Motor Inn
Responded 23 Feb 2023
Hi, I'm not sure if you have the right place as our manager is a professional young woman. We are sorry to hear that you had to endure such treatment, however this was not one of our staff here at Urangan Motor Inn, as we do not have a male manager nor would we condone such treatment of guests from our staff. If you are able to provide a confirmation number and dates for your booking we would be happy to look into this issue for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeffrey D wrote a review Oct 2022
Unfriendly reception (she said she was the manager) we paid $330.00 for two nights and when we arrived home we notice that they had charged us and extra separate charge (which we did not authorise) $110.00. No window in bathroom and extractor fan did not work - and the fan cover fell off -but they did re attach it. Wardrobe had spiders and webs in it. The one and only blanket in the wardrobe smelt like vomit. The fan in the room did not work and the smoke detector was detached from the ceiling and sat on top of the wardrobe (no batteries in it - so it was not working anyway) However - bed was comfortable and the aircon worked.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take your own cleaning products
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
thamuthafiga2016 wrote a review Aug 2022
Greater Hobart, Australia73 contributions15 helpful votes
We booked in advance but at the last minute so most places were booked out. The room had a couple of beds, a shower/bathroom which was extremely slippery when wet. On day 2 we asked for the carpet to be vacuumed because the dust was extreme ,and the bed heads dusted because the dust was laughable. The house keeper was lovely even though it was extremely busy. As the week went on we took care of ourselves by getting rid of rubbish,asking for towels etc because we read that they don’t service rooms regularly.Fridge is freezing up. Power points scarce and read the small print. We got what we paid for.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Read the small print. Bring your own towels, cutlery,crockery,power boards (bulk). Toilet...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Christine B wrote a review Jan 2022
Rockhampton, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
This was a stop over stay for 1 night. Front desk was not at all friendly while holding their dog in their hands as i checked in. No allocated parks for our room. We had a room in the 2 story section, on the bottom floor. Cobwebs and smoke butts at the door, inside stained carpet, dusty, chairs worn, aircon blocked by cupboard. Just sheets on beds and had to use blankets from cupboard that smelled horrible, bed old and uncomfortable as were pillows. Bathroom just didnt seem clean at all. I dont usually write reviews but my stay here was not good. Left early next morning. These rooms need major TLC.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Women Travel Solo wrote a review Nov 2021
Brisbane, Australia189 contributions182 helpful votes
Conveniently located across from the Urangan Pier. Within walking distance to eateries and a big, modern pub. Room was next to the pool, spacious and comfortable. Check in and out effortless. Bathroom big and modern, but has soap, shampoo and conditioner dispensers, that I'm not a fan of. Personal preference Highly recommend this very cheap and comfortable motel
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Parking space in front of room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Everton wrote a review Oct 2021
Brisbane, Australia242 contributions97 helpful votes
It was a nice affordable place to what I needed, I only needed a place to stay for the night as I was taking the ferry to Fraser Island the next morning. We arrived very late at night, and a late check-in was arranged without any problem. We left early morning when the reception was still closed but was able to just drop the keys at a checkout box. Parking just in front of the room. There's a nice bakery just next to the building, great coffee and good bread, a good place for breakfast before taking the ferry.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Vicki V wrote a review Sept 2021
Shellharbour, Australia7 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed in room 4, a Deluxe Queen and it was a large room with all of the necessary amenities. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was one of the largest I've seen in a $100 a night motel. Great hot water too. It's in an unbeatable location opposite Urangan pier, next to Kelz Bakery for a great breakfast and almost next door to Oaks resort, the spot for driking and dining. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rob T wrote a review July 2021
1 contribution
This hotel would not refund or provide credit for our booked stay on 5th July even though we cannot travel from NSW because of covid restrictions. Even though booked through Booking.com, they blamed one another for their rigid no refund policy. Colluding essentially.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hervey Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$92 - AU$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandFraser CoastHervey Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

URANGAN MOTOR INN (AU$92): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Hervey Bay) - Photos of Lodge - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Urangan Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Urangan Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Esplanade (0.3 km), Urangan Pier (0.2 km), and Hervey Bay Botanic Gardens (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Urangan Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Urangan Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Urangan Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Urangan Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Urangan Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salt Cafe Urangan, Two Ducks Cafe & Asian Grocery, and Waterfront Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Urangan Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Urangan Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.