We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Graz, Austria
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

The hostel is quite okay. We had a good stay during daytime but in the night we have had problems to sleep as the matresses are too thin. When we arrived about 15 new ones where at the reception, but they all should be replaced. The pool is nice though and the location as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moXXXmo
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

thanks for the review. Yes we are replacing all the bunk beds, its a very expensive process as the hostel has around 100 bunk beds, we are getting it done as quickly as possible.

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

The room was quite big and cosy . Kitchen and common room quite big with all basic amenities!! Nearby to the main street and other tourist attractions. The staff was helpful and gave us good info about the area. The view is beautiful. Strongly recommend:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kanub2015
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you back again.

Como, Italy
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I stayed in a private corner room with its own bathroom, which was clean, light and a decent size. The bed was comfortable and the shower good. The location was convenient, just a ten-minute walk from town and there was plenty of parking on the road. There was also free wifi, although it was a bit patchy. Unfortunately my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We ended up staying here as the other places that we preferred were fully booked. We also liked the sound of the hot tub, but that was rather disappointing as it was only lukewarm. To make matters worse, we had a terrible night. We were in a room which had an incredibly noisy door that was impossible to shut quietly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. As new management its important we listen to all our guests and hear all reviews good and bad. New mattress's are being ordered for all dormitory's and we will look into all other issues you mentioned. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay, if you are ever...

Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night nice facilities and was treated to a great evening show at 4am to 2 girls going at it not sure if that was part of the price or just and added bonus either way I wasn't complaining so stay here and you to might get the same late night entertainment I got

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jono K
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Pleased you enjoyed the facilities, but cant promise a re run of the entertainment!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom facilities, for 2 nights in January. I'll start with the good points: - Kitchen was nice, spacious and clean (we used the one which closes at 10pm on the ground floor). Can't comment on broken appliances in the kitchen as I only used the kettle once. Nice big sofas. - Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crayfisharecool
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and all you have mentioned. New TV's have been ordered for the private rooms and we are currently making coat racks. There are hooks on the back of the doors to all the rooms. Thanks for letting us know about the hand dryer, we didnt realise it was so noisy. All the best with the rest...

London
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Sounding pedantic for a review is usually a good thing, but the only slight down-side to our (Double Ensuite) room was the noise of the draft when the bathroom fan turned on. This was a good hostel, free wifi, clean, great shower - we didn't even make full use of the facilities. Admittedly we were an in/out stay, but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AntsMurray
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and you are not at all pedantic, as new management we want to hear all your views about your stay. We will look into the issue you mentioned, thanks for staying and all the best with the rest of your trip.

Switzerland
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Ca. 1.5km outside of Kaikoura, on the main road (but the rooms look to the courtyard and are quiet), friendly staff giving you informations for activities, restaurants, etc. Transport to/from town, nice terrace with mountain-view, hot pot, swimmingpool, clean and well equipped kitchen. Free WiFi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 33bine33
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your comments. All the best with the rest of your trip.

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Place was taken over by gang of young germans. They drank excessively, were loud and left the kitchen and dining area filthy, three days in a row. The staff cleaned the kitchen once a day- not enough. Walls are very thin so we were treated to their noise even in our room. Room was dirty (long black hairs and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sailawade
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

As new management we appreciate your comments and will look in to all that you mentioned about your stay. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your time with us, we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand. Have a happy new year.

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

Good value for money. Good facilities. Clean and respect for all their guests whatever their age. Beautiful location - close to whale watch. They have en-suite rooms. Excellent value for money. A pool and sauna.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish P
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review, pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 km away
The White Morph Heritage Boutique Collection
1.9 km away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
1.1 km away
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
#7 of 36 in Kaikoura
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.0 km away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is situated on Beach road, Kaikoura. We are the largest hostel in Kaikoura catering for groups and budget travellers. We offer a clean homely environment with bunk rooms, doubles, twins, ensuite rooms and heating in all rooms. All bed linen and pillows are provided. There are 3 large kitchen's fully equipped as well as BBQ's on the decks free to use. We have a large heated salt water pool, spa and sauna to enjoy while staying with us. Guest computers are available and the wifi can be used throughout the building. The hostel is only 5 minute walk to the town centre, and across the road from Whale Watchers. The best bakery in town is situated right beside us and grocery stores only minutes away. The intercity bus can drop you off outside the hostel, ask the driver when you start your journey. We have plenty of parking space and it's free to use. Luggage storage short term is available, if needed ask at reception. Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is a great place to relax, unwind and take in the great views and spectacular sunsets from our extensive decks. Our friendly team can help book tours or give you advice on what to do while you are with us. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range: $54 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dusky Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dusky Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dusky Lodge & Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not get the indoor facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles chchchr15, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles VascoItaly, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“go to the lodge across the street”
 of 5 bubbles sailawade, 26 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There are loads of cheap backpackers here try somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 76jaynew, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stay in the front rooms on the first floor away from the common areas, it is better.”
 of 5 bubbles fab992014, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay