We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
See the most recent reviews
Showing 461: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel as the name suggests is on a stretch of the towns beach, backing on to what appears to be the town's center. The parking for the hotel appears to be in the car park of the towns liquor store, which we later found is owned by the hotel and where you will receive a 5% discount on production...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night in the Penthouse. On arrival the outside and setting of the hotel do not inspire confidence with the car park shared by a supermarket and liquor store. The reception is bright and check in efficient. The hotel is a mishmash of buildings so to get to the Penthouse one has to go outside on 2 occasions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Paul C, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to review the hotel in regards to your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you found the Penthouse beautiful and that its features and facilities were modern and you had the best night sleep for a long time with superbly comfortable bed. On the...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here for one night and it proved to be the most disappointing of a three week trip. Although booked into a "superior" room we were allocated a room overlooking the Main Street. Not only that, it was directly over a noisy bar downstairs where the revelries went on until late. No lift or porter was available. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Mary W, Thank you for choosing to stay here at the Beachfront Hotel Hokitika and taking time to review the hotel in regards to recent stay. I am sorry to hear that the room type you have booked was a disappointment for you. We also offer the modern, luxury and spacious Oceanview rooms that features the amazing Tasman Sea...

Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were referred to the Beachfront Hotel restaurant by our hosts at Teichelmann's B/B. It was a very busy Saturday night and although we did not have reservations we were greeted kindly by Jessie and seated at a perfect table outside where the ocean view was amazing. Zach was our knowledgeable, professional/friendly and efficient server. The food was delicious. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbell_13
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to dine with us here in the Oceanview Restaurant at Beachfront Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your dinner and that the service and the quality of the food was outstanding. I have already shared your most positive feedback with the team to give them the credit for their performance....

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great restaurant with fabulous food, good choice and great service in lovely setting. We visited when touring the West Coast with friends and had a lovely evening. A good menu with some lovely seafood dishes. Nice setting with good views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izy60
chicago
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very basic, clean, in need of updating but rooms are well-equipped and serviceable. Heated towel bar and bathroom floor was good for drying clothes. Beds sagged but that might be an American preference thing. Good location in a small rainforest city, cute lounge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary612
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here recently as part of our 2 week journey through Asia and I could say one of the best service we have ever received from check in to the cleanliness of the room to the restaurant quality. Everything seemed to operate like a faultless brandnew car. We loved the Oceanview room which is not fussy and you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndLes179
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Andles179, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your most positive feedback. It is great to hear that you found the service and the quality the food at high standards. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the view and that the cleanliness of the rom was good. I will certainly share your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable & popular low rise hotel, with 4 separate blocks to suit all tastes & pockets. We stayed in the Oceanview block & enjoyed it much. Clean, big bed in a large room, spacious bathroom, well-equipped facilities (kettle, tea, coffee, cups, proper wine glasses, bottle opener etc) Bottle opener is handy as the hotel is in cahoots with the booze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and reviewing the hotel in regards to your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room decent size, clean and that hotel facilities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Beachfront Hotel in...

Aptos, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Under different circumstances I would have rated this place much higher but... after a large storm the tranzalpine train on which we were going to travel was shut down. This was our means to travel from the east coast to the west coast of south island. In addition the main road from east to west was closed. When I called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location, all shops and restaurants within a minute. However, 3 nights was to long stop, was not much to do in the town. We had breakfast included and the quality was good. Staff was friendly and professional. we had some booking mistake that was managed by staff very well.

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skyfall8
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this review

Dear Skyfall8, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time review the hotel in regards to your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the breakfast at the quality you've expected. It is also great to receive positive feedback about the staff members who I...

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.9 km away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#7 of 9 in Hokitika
85 reviews
1.3 km away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#1 of 9 in Hokitika
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.4 km away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
145 reviews
1.2 km away
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The stunning Beachfront Hotel Hokitika located by the beach and in the central of Hokitika offering wide range of accommodation from 28 luxury, modern and spacious Ocean View Rooms overlooking Tasman Sea, to 23 newly refurbished Driftwood superior rooms to 2 & 3 bedroom suites or The Magnificent Penthouse. Newly refurbished Ocean View Restaurant with its sleek and contemporary design overlooking Tasman Sea offering daily breakfast, dinner (A La Carte, Buffet and Set Menu Options) Central location to Pancake rocks, Shantytown, Gold panning, art galleries featuring jade, wood, ruby rock, gold, glass, Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers as well as numerous rainforest walks and cycle trails. * Free WIFI, * Free Parking, * Laundry service, * Bike storage, * Free Netflix (Only in Penthouse) * Bottle Store on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Address: 111 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range: $139 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Hotel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokitika Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hokitika
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hokitika
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beachfront Hotel Hokitika staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
York, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Beachfront Hotel Hokitika staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the beach are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles avenue12016, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the beach”
 of 5 bubbles 1nv1ctaH0g, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles dialshikhu, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a deluxe king room with ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles sophieclondon2015, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check room location when booking”
 of 5 bubbles Jdmd2015, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5