We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

448 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 May 2015

I was attending a seminar at Kingsgate and I phoned the day before to ask about parking near the entrance. I explained that I have mobility difficulties and a mobility parking permit. I was told that Kingsgate has just the one parking space for `the disabled' but that the manager usually parks there. The person I spoke to said that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary C
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review

Mary is correct that we have only one disabled carpark, we normally have sufficient car parking in our 2 carparks for our house guests but parking in the immediate vacinity of the hotel is limited. To ensure that we always have the disabled carpark available for those that need it we park a hotel vehicle in the space and then...

Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

I was a little surprised at the dated appearance of the rooms and outside of the building. The foyer was very modern. Room were very clean, comfortable and warm. Staff were all friendly. Buffet breakfast was nice although one dish that I wanted had run out and not replaced. The second morning was not buffet and I was not offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinna O
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 21 April 2015

Resonable hotel and rates according to Greymouth. The hotels restaurant offers good and tasty dinner in resonable price. The breakfast was continental, altaugh it should be a buffet. Without any fresh fruits or vegetales. free limited wireless internet, free parking. The room needs renovation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oferta10
Woodend, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

need of repairs. I was getting away for a nice weekend an from the pictures on the net. It looked like really nice decor with a nice balcony. What a complete let down cracks in the walls carpet thread bear. Where the heater meets the wall un safe wiring. very over priced and the balcony what a joke. I am...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mare5064
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all feedback and do try to address all issues that are mentioned. I can advise that we are in the process of replacing the carpet in the superior rooms, and that all electrical appliances and fittings are checked regularly to ensure that they are safe to use. We...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We stayed here for two nights at the end of March 2015. Room was comfortable, tidy and clean. The staff were attentive, especially the bar and restaurant staff. The hotel had laundry services which were available for our own use. To use them had to buy tokens from hotel reception. (2$NZ per token.) Managed to get all our washing done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments on to our staff.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2015

The room I stayed at was quite small. It appeared dirty everywhere as well. I could find hair from the previous hotel patron on bench top and in bed. That was totally unacceptable to me as far as cleanliness is concerned. The bathroom was aging and without a mixer tap at the sink. On a freezing morning, the last thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Evon A
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and apologise that the cleaning was not up to the required standard. Our economy rooms are small older style bathroom fittings, the shower is over the bath. For those looking for a bathroom with modern fittings and a walkin shower, our superior rooms have these features.

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 March 2015 via mobile

Terrible room which smelt musty had dirty carpets, curtains coming off the rails, dated furniture, moldy bathroom with rotting window sills etc. The room needed a total makeover and even the outside enterance needed a good clean. I could go on and on but DONT STAY THERE

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noeline T
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. we are aware that we are an old hotel but do try to make up for this by offering clean comfortable accommodation and good honest service, we apologise that we did not deliver this time.

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 March 2015

This hotel would have been in fine in the 70s but is very dated and has been poorly maintained. The staff were friendly enough, the plumbing was the noisiest I have ever encountered! Reception staff didnt offer or seem to know too much about breakfast, we had to find about things like that by ourselves!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review

We appreciate all feedback and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We know that we are not the most modern hotel but do try to offer honest, freindly and professional service, I am surprised that you felt that reception did not know about breakfast options, we will bring this up at our next staff breifing....

Otorohanga, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 March 2015

We booked this hotel because of its proximity to the rail station as we did the Trans-Alpine trip. While the hotel rooms are getting a wee bit shabby, they are clean and nicely presented. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and had lamb shanks. They were superb, and the service by our waitperson Ashleigh was extra specially good. She...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank satch58
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review

Your kind words will be passed on to Ashleigh, we are aware that we are in need of a makeover, but do try to offer good clean comfortable accommodation along with honest freindly service. Our restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner every day where we serve a range of dishes that will suit most tastes that is reasonably priced/...

India
Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile

Firstly i was not convince to stay here as reviews here were not great enough. I tried with Hotel, to my surprise it was superb. Hotel is right in the centre of the city, it is opposite to the lake view and very close to market, railway station. Near to this hotel there is Indian Restaurant Priya. But to your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jigs551
KingsgateGreymouth, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with all of our staff.

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
3.0 km away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
235 reviews
2.1 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
178 reviews
7.2 km away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 20 in Greymouth
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
124 reviews
1.7 km away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
364 reviews
1.8 km away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated right in the centre of Greymouth, The Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth is perfectly located for easy access to the West Coast's spectacular scenic attractions. Only 300 metres from the Tranz Alpine train station and Intercity bus terminal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Address: 32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth 7801, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Price Range: $90 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greymouth Kingsgate Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here! Go anywhere else!”
822gemmar, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look for an alternative!”
PaulofNottingham, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
kyoshikiwi, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor. No elevator/lift”
DAVE_NIAGARA2013, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very close to CBD and river”
, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5