We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

2.3 km from Whanganui centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
143 - 145 Anzac Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 459: English reviews
Christchurch
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

My mother and I stayed for 1 night in a twin room at the lodge. The lodge was clean and tidy and had the facilities required for our stay. The hosts were exceptionally accommodating. Some of the towels and sheets could be upgraded, but can't complain as the price was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ames1005
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which allows us to monitor our guest perceptions and act on any areas of improvements that are raised.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 March 2016

The best hosts we it love there. Our rooms were perfect and lovely décor. We were racing on the river so we always stay with you and love your service and hospitality. Hopefully we will be back again next year to stay with you. Thanks for a lovely stay River racers all the way from Christchurch

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleandrichard1
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Repeat business is the highest compliement we can receive - so thank you. We too look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again next year.

Central Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Enjoyed our stay in the lodge, everything you need, clean, comfortable, just like home ,even a dishwasher in the kitchen, lovely setting & outlook, swimming pool a bonus, very friendly. If back in Whanganui would definately stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenisb131
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback - we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Situated conveniently in terms of accessibility and distance from town centre. Very clean. Good room. Excellent shared facilities including bathroom and expansive kitchen, dining room and lounge. Friendly service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack Z
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

This place is an enigma - it's both relaxing and frustrating at the same time. The management are very accomodating and go out of there way to look after their guests. I think that is the greatest strength of this business. The lodge is homely and comfy and they have no problem with children staying. However, as it is so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJRajah
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which we value hightly as it allows us to continually monitor our guest experiences and perceptions and we take all your suggestions on board as opprotunities for impreovment. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and the atmosphere and hospitality that we offer. If you have the opporunity to join us again, you...

Porirua, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Excellent, friendly service. We had a beautifully appointed room with lots of character. Directly across the road from the River, making it a great location for us to go for a late night stroll as it was a very warm night. Would have stayed another night if we were able to. Awesome hosts. We would definitely go back there and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NTS83
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and facilities and got to enjoy the lovely river walk.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Found all staff very helpful and courteous, especially Gail, the receptionist, who made sure we had the most accessible suite, as the wife had trouble climbing stairs. Great location and ambiance alongside the river. Would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank asrrmar
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It was our pleasure to host you and your wife and we look forward to your return visit. We trust your property that we couriered to you arrived safely - and that your eye injury is both recovered and impressed your family.

Nelson
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience travelling up the West Coast of the North Island, I stopped in Wanganui for the Vintage weekend, staying in the lodge at Anndion for a night was a treat, met people from further North and have lots of laughter and sharing of stories :) Ann and Dion have a range of rooms to suit all travellers, they...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bam_nelson
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. Repeat business is the highest compliment we can receive - so we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We aim to greet all guests with warm and genuine kiwi hospitality - and are so pleased you experienced this and enjoyed all our facilities. We trust you felt better from having spent...

Tenerife, Spain
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Incredible place we really enjoyed ! Dion the owner is one of the most friendly people I ever met ! So kind !! We also use his restaurant and the food is just delicious !! We would love to stay there more time

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddy E
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your times with us and our hospitality.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 February 2016

The welcome is always fantastic and they make you feel like you are a guest in their home. The towels and bedding always tastefully arranged, and they are easy to find. I stayed o. The lodge which is like a 5 star backpackers. They provided me, however a fantastic breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C7724YOsuel
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

The highest compliment we can receive is repeat business - so thank you. We endeavour to greet our guests with genuine kiwi hospitality, and aim for our guests to feel better for having stayed with us.

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.8 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
221 reviews
0.8 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#19 of 27 in Whanganui
49 reviews
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 27 in Whanganui
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
43 reviews
2.0 km away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 27 in Whanganui
40 reviews
1.8 km away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#3 of 27 in Whanganui
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the award winning unique hospitality the Anndion is renowned for with 21 accommodation rooms ranging from 1 and 2 bedroom apartments to boutique fully self-contained king suites and lodge rooms with guest share facilities, spread over three properties the Anndion complex is more like a travellers resort than just a bed for the night. Set in lovely kiwiana themed gardens with a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located on the banks of the Whanganui River, just 5 minutes from the city centre. Facilities including free Wi-Fi, off street parking and secure motorcycle and bicycle garaging, a salt-water swimming pool, outdoor spa, infrared sauna, covered BBQ courtyard and guest laundry facilities. Conference and function centre with full onsite catering ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Address: 143 - 145 Anzac Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: $76 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whanganui
#2 Spa Hotel in Whanganui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We enjoyed very much the "river side suit"”
 of 5 bubbles 200MichelP, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go for the poolside appartment”
 of 5 bubbles tulloch2015, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Location was very handy to town while still being quiet and rather boutique.”
 of 5 bubbles rosiesview, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Located on Whanganui River arriving via Parapara Road from Ratahi, Close to city. Both downstairs and upstairs units, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 313michellep, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I am not sure what you mean by this, but I think management would be wise to spot check the cleaning and presentation of rooms. Also the communal dishwasher would have benefited from actually been cleaned, the filter and arms inside. and a dishwasher cleaner put through regularly. My sister and I did this and it worked beautifully.”
 of 5 bubbles kevino441, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5