We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 469: English reviews
Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Awesome service! Room was so beautiful for such a cheap room! Warm and inviting lovely Manchester. Provided free wifi and a tv! Would definitely recommend to anyone and everyone and will definitely be back again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RHeathie32
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Third time I have stayed at anndion, never disappointed. From the initial greeting to my grand children and myself by Dion we were made to feel very welcome, this continued throughout our stay. Warm cosy family environment, definitely recommend 😀

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianne07auckland
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Repeat business is our highest compliment, so thank you. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Auckland
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Great People , very Friendly , knew we were checking in late , after a long drive , Lights on , Heater on Electric Blanket on. !! nice little touches. Good location , centrally located to town . Within an easy walk of town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarlinBlue
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and that we were able to provide the little touches that acknowledge the value of all our guests.

Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Excellent service and hospitality from the team at Anndion (as always). We always bring our larger groups here because of the homely feel the lodge has, yet still allows for personal space in each of the rooms. Wonderful dinner in the restaurant and Gayle was also very accommodating of our last minute changes. Thank you very much

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MIRIAMA04
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

It is always our pleasure to host returning guests, and we look forward to doing the same many times in the future. Thank you for your feedback.

Wellington
Reviewed 13 July 2016

This place has a variety of accommodation, ranging from upmarket to a backpackers lodge, where we stayed. It was impeccably clean and pretty much anything you might need was provided. Although it was busy, mainly with older couples and families, it didn't feel crowded. Friendly owners too. Great value. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meandhernz
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - it is most appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us - and of course, as well as the shared facilities, we also have a range of self contained suites and apartments available too. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again.

Invercargill
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Great room and service, unfortunately we did not utilise the dinning facilities, however the room was great and the service given was excellent, thank you for your availability at a time of need for me and my family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wenereiw
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and hospitality.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Unfortunately didn't realise that for $105 a night we had to share toilet and shower facilities, not ideal with children . Pancake-thin blankets (very cold). Room smelt of cigarette smoke. Tidy grounds otherwise

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank X8677HQlaurenw
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As well as the shared facility which you booked, we do have fully self contained suites and apartments - and would have been happy to show you alternative options had you raised your concerns with us. All our rooms are strictly non-smoking, so we are at a loss to explain your comment re cigarette smoke....

Urenui
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Had to attend a conference the next day at the same place as where the accommodation was. Owners did everything to make guests comfortable. The room was warm with the electric blanket turned on. The owner was a great host, very welcoming and attentive. Food was very nice. Can highly recommend the accommodation and the facilities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juryfarms
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to know you enjoyed our facilities and hospitality.

Whangamata, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Rooms were roomy and clean. A bit dated decor but cute. Very quiet and a great bed. The person on duty was very friendly and cheerful. Across from river walk and a five min drive into city centre. Will certainly stay again and recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Louise N
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Fabulous from the beginning when we checked in to when we checked out. Dion was friendly and very helpful. The room "riverside suite" was well appointed, clean and beautifully presented. We didnt get to meet Anne but were pleased with the overall facilities. Our dog got to stay with us which made our stay even better. Thank you we will...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 66bfox
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.8 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
226 reviews
0.8 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#19 of 27 in Whanganui
51 reviews
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 27 in Whanganui
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
46 reviews
1.8 km away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
1.8 km away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the award winning unique hospitality the Anndion is renowned for with 21 accommodation rooms ranging from 1 and 2 bedroom apartments to boutique fully self-contained king suites and lodge rooms with guest share facilities, spread over three properties the Anndion complex is more like a travellers resort than just a bed for the night. Set in lovely kiwiana themed gardens with a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located on the banks of the Whanganui River, just 5 minutes from the city centre. Facilities including free Wi-Fi, off street parking and secure motorcycle and bicycle garaging, a salt-water swimming pool, outdoor spa, infrared sauna, covered BBQ courtyard and guest laundry facilities. Conference and function centre with full onsite catering ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Address: 143 - 145 Anzac Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: $74 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whanganui
#2 Spa Hotel in Whanganui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our separate rooms were small and contained but very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I prefer a soft top bed. It was a bit firm, however my husband had no problem. (call me a softie) I slept on the single bed. The room was enjoyable. There was a tv in the room so we could just have peace and quiet when we needed it.”
 of 5 bubbles 987clarew, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We enjoyed very much the "river side suit"”
 of 5 bubbles 200MichelP, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go for the poolside appartment”
 of 5 bubbles tulloch2015, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Location was very handy to town while still being quiet and rather boutique.”
 of 5 bubbles rosiesview, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5