We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Bignell Street Motel

    86 Bignell Street, Whanganui 4501, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    USD 65*
    USD 62*
    SAVE USD 3
    USD 65*
    USD 65*
    Traveller (15)
    Room & Suite (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (10)
    Overview
    • Excellent6%
    • Very good29%
    • Average9%
    • Poor9%
    • Terrible47%
    Travellers talk about
    Internet
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Kitchenette
    Laundry Service
    Room Service
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Bignell Street Motel
    Deals (14)
    27 Aug.28 Aug.
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
      USD 65USD 62
      View Deal
    • Kiwi Unit (Free parking, Free WiFi)
      USD 65
      View Deal
    • Kiwi Unit
      USD 65
      View Deal
    More deals for this property
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
      USD 62
      View Deal
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
      USD 62
      View Deal
    • Kiwi Unit (Free parking, Free WiFi)
      USD 65
      View Deal
    • Kiwi Unit
      USD 65
      View Deal
    • Kiwi Unit
      USD 65
      View Deal
    • Kiwi Unit
      USD 65
      View Deal
    • Kiwi Plus Unit (Free parking, Free WiFi)
      USD 72
      View Deal
    • Kiwi Plus Unit
      USD 72
      View Deal
    • Kiwi Plus Unit
      USD 72
      View Deal
    • Kiwi Plus Unit
      USD 72
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 14
    Riverview Motel
    140 reviews
    #5 of 26 hotels in Whanganui
     
    Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
    51 reviews
    #4 of 26 hotels in Whanganui
     
    Astral Motel & Apartments
    57 reviews
    #15 of 26 hotels in Whanganui
     
    Kings Court Motel
    294 reviews
    #2 of 26 hotels in Whanganui
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (44)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Bignell Street Motel
    See the most recent reviews

    11 - 15 of 44 reviews

    Reviewed 2 February 2014

    Not knowing what to expect - after a painful experience at a motel in Hastings. We only expected to stay one night at Bignell Street Motel - but after opening the door to our room - we saw how much room there was & clean...More

    Thank Masta8586
    Response from Nigel M, Manager at Bignell Street MotelResponded 4 February 2014

    Thank you so much. This is exactly the experience that we want our guests to have. :-)

    Reviewed 9 November 2013

    I rang to book a tent site but was offered his own caravan which I paid cash for. No receipt was offered. The caravan smelt musty. The bed didn't look as if the sheets were clean. Fortunately we took our own bedding. I washed all...More

    6  Thank Valerie D
    Response from Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street MotelResponded 18 November 2013

    Thank you for your feedback. You paid for a tent site but I lent you my personal caravan to stay in at no extra cost as the weather forecast was not good. No one had stayed in the caravan for a few weeks so it...More

    Reviewed 28 October 2013

    I also was a little concerned by the reviews below, having booked before seeing them, but as the last reviewer has said found our units were clean recently painted, tidy and perfectly adequate. It is a cheap place to stay, its not flash but it...More

    1  Thank Simon R
    Response from Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street MotelResponded 30 October 2013

    Simon R, thanks for coming to stay with us. I am pleased that you found the room good value for money and that there was plenty of room for your large family. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

    Reviewed 21 September 2013

    I am aware of other reviews that are not terribly complimentary about this motel BUT we took a group of school kids here and we were totally surprised with the place. The owners have put in a lot of work to upgrade this motel. We...More

    2  Thank JDNZ
    Response from Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street MotelResponded 30 October 2013

    JDNZ, I am glad that you and your team had a pleasent stay with us and that you found the facilities that we have available to be above your expectation. We hope you come and stay with us again soon.

    Reviewed 18 May 2013

    I booked through Jasons and so paid upfront. If it wasn't for that I'd have left. No lightbulb in loo, bathroom light not working. VERY shabby and nasty looking. I expected cheap and cheerful as it was a budget place but this was beyond the...More

    7  Thank justme255115
    Response from Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street MotelResponded 31 May 2013

    Victoria, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Wanganui, the city that prides itself on friendship, happiness & great sightseeing. The manager serviced your unit and conversed with you on more than one occasion during your stay. If you had let...More

    Riverview Motel
    140 reviews
    #5 of 26 hotels in Whanganui
     
    Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
    51 reviews
    #4 of 26 hotels in Whanganui
     
    Astral Motel & Apartments
    57 reviews
    #15 of 26 hotels in Whanganui
     
    Kings Court Motel
    294 reviews
    #2 of 26 hotels in Whanganui
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Room amenities
    • Refrigerator in room
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 37 - USD 75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 15
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bignell Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • North Island >
    • Manawatu-Wanganui Region >
    • Whanganui
    • Also Known As
    • Bignell Street Hotel
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (15)
    Room & Suite (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (10)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Astral Motel & Apartments
    57 reviews
    3.97 km away
     
    Riverview Motel
    140 reviews
    3.70 km away
     
    Kings Court Motel
    294 reviews
    3.07 km away
     
    Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
    51 reviews
    4.76 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Mischief on Guyton
    51 reviews
    3.07 km away
    Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art
    120 reviews
    2.95 km away
    Kristy’s Cafe
    141 reviews
    2.80 km away
    The Big Orange
    98 reviews
    2.96 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Virginia Lake
    290 reviews
    3.72 km away
    Durie Hill Elevator
    271 reviews
    3.83 km away
    Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
    113 reviews
    3.53 km away
    Kowhai Park
    171 reviews
    4.11 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Bignell Street Motel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Sleep anywhere but this place. The road, a tent, in your car......"
    Read review
    "Ask for a room in the new block"
    Read review
    "No good rooms or caravans"
    Read review
    "Go somewhere else!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing