We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aotea Motor Lodge

Hotels.comUSD 137*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 141*
USD 137*
USD 141*
USD 141*
USD 137*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Aotea Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aotea Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 156: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

I arrived on a very cold and wet night and was pleasantly surprised by the room. It was nice and warm and check in was easy and fast. The room was large and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was okay, but for some reason there was an oversized spa in the bedroom. There was also free wifi. The stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ant W
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 April 2015

on first arriving at the motor lodge my husband checked us in. Service was 5/10 not the best start. then after being in our from for only 2hours I noticed that my feet were BLACK!! the floor was so dirty. I had my 14month old daughter and wouldn't let her take her shoes off after that. I had to scrub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MILZY2014
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there I am not sure why you have decided to post these lies, however we have asked trip advisor to trace this review and we suspect You are a friend of bridezilla Alaina

Porirua, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Lets starts with the spacious double spa bath, what a treat for the grandchildren, This is what having a holiday is all about. Heat pumps were a plus due to a real bad cold snap. Asked for a room change, so down the site we went to more nice beds and sheets

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walkingholiday
Mount Isa, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Discussing customer service from this Motor Lodge. We were locked out of our room on our wedding night as card key failed to work. No staff were on site to let us in and we had to ring a after hours number. This was a issue for a start as we had no credit on our phone. When we did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

This response is a follow up to the rude emails, abusive calls and social media attack Jackie has embarked on. The team feel there is nothing to gain by engaging further with her and we wish the newly weds a happy future.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Well positioned, very clean and tidy, large spa in each room, very comfortable. 3 supermarkets within a few metres, service station alongside. Sited in the main sreet, but at the quietest end. A drive up the Whanganui River is worh the effort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Aotea Motor Lodge has a good reputation and it’s easy to see why when you stay there. Yes it’s a motor lodge, but the rooms are very sophisticated, spacious and clean. We had a room with a spa in the main room near the bed and it was easily big enough for 2 people. It had pillows at one end...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BobSt23
Melbourne
Reviewed 28 March 2015

We had a room at the back so no trouble with road noise. It was a huge room, beautifully furnished with a double spa bath by the bed. As we were in late we didn't get to use it. Maybe next time. It was a little bit of a walk into town for dinner, so we got a taxi back....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jubyMelbourne
sydney
Reviewed 19 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night. In my booking I requested a room at the back, which were recommended by TripAdvisor reviews to be much quieter. On arrival, we were given room 1, which is right at the front & the closest to the road. I talked to the lady about TripAdvisor & my request for a room at the back, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amaanda
Wellington New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2015

I have stayed in many of the accommodation options and this is the best for comfort and service. Modern bonfire able rooms, though the oddity of a spa bath in the suite area rather than the bathroom always gives me a laugh! The larger units offer space and quiet at the back. It's handy to a good breakfast and lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thorndon
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 February 2015

This is a great property, the units are modern and extremely well appointed with a large double spa bath. The back units are far enough off the road not to be noisy. Unfortunately for me that did not help when the people staying above me decided to have a loud party until 1.45am in the morning. Whilst this is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.2 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
234 reviews
1.8 km away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
1.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
50 reviews
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury 5 star central city Wanganui accommodation including free wifi, spa baths, LCD Sky Tv and corporate rates available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aotea Motor Lodge

Address: 390 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: $156 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aotea Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aotea Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whanganui
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whanganui
#5 Business Hotel in Whanganui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aotea Motor Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aotea Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room on the ground floor with large Spa Bath”
ronbbell, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great view from upstairs room 18 on a nice day. Quiet as further off the road. Lovely separate bathroom and spa.”
AnnaFrancescaB_12, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a back room away from street”
MRGuiliani, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
“we had 125 - in a corner/low level. If you like light rooms as for one on the opposite side to 125”
435lynw, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not get unit 17 ..18..19. Around the vback of the motel cold and dark. xo”
LAURANIC287, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 137* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 141
Hotwire.comUSD 137
TripAdvisorUSD 137
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates