We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Te Mata Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Te Mata Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Satellite Beach, FL, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Before arriving,I got an email indicating that the lodge was several hundred meters down a gravel road. That road was very steep and I was worried about getting stuck there if it rained. We spent almost a month in New Zealand and this was the worst accommodation by far! We prepaid for 2 nights but left after only one. Small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don W
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are open to hearing feedback and endeavor to improve where we can. As you mentioned, we do email our guests before their arrival describing our perceived remoteness and the type of driveway we have... pre-warned means there are no unwanted surprises. Daily, my wife drives to Thames in a...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a chalet for our 2 night stay. It was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. We liked that we could recycle our rubbish. The setting is absolutely beautiful and the tranquility was glorious. Murray was very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yachtees
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Te Mata Lodge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and even appreciated and went to the additional effort to place rubbish in the right bins. Recycling is important to us and we do our best to ensure the minimal amount of rubbish ends up in a landfill....

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

My husband took me here last year for a surprise birthday getaway weekend. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and well equipped - I enjoyed the puzzles provided, they were a nice peaceful break from devices and social media! Unfortunately we didn't get to fire up the BBQ next to our room for a nice meal, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lina T
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for such a great review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay last year. We are gearing up for another great summer so if you find yourself visiting the area again give us a call and we can take a small amount off the nightly rate.

Opotiki, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Loved this quiet secluded spot not far from the beach and right by the river. The first sight of "Vanilla", the duck knew we were going to be staying at the right place. Murray met us on arrival and unlocking the cottage door we were 'home away from home'. Lots to do here and close to Thames and Coromandel. At...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AmigonKitty
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the many different 'bits' that all make up for the Te Mata Lodge experience. Vanilla the duck is still chilling as you come into the road although there was a winter season where she decided to call our lawn by the river home....

Reviewed 8 October 2016

Extremely peaceful and secluded lodge with very friendly, accommodating hosts. Unfortunately we travelled during a lot of wet weather. There was no internal dining area to eat our meals and the outside dining area was unusable due to rain blowing in. There was limited hot water in the chalet but our hosts were aware of the problem and indicated it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the peaceful seclusion although unfortunately at a very wet time. The wettest September we can remember! As advertised the Chalets are indeed a small and cosy space and the small living space does incorporate kitchenette, living and dining if the whether is bad. We have had guests who...

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 3 August 2016

After a long 2 months of working overseas, and only have a weekend off I decided that I would take my family out of Auckland to relax and rewind and that's exactly how it was. Te Mata Lodge was just what we needed, our kids thought we had moved to Paradise and they wanted to live there! it's beautiful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasona2323
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

thanks for staying with us and leaving a review. Glad to hear you finally decided it be time to take the family out for a much needed break. It is well worth it and something we need to remember for ourselves also. It is such a privilege to share our little corner of the Coromandel Peninsula and seeing others enjoy...

Dexter, Michigan
Reviewed 25 June 2016

My family (including 6 and 2 year olds) loved staying at the Te Mata lodge. We rented the larger cottage, which had two bedrooms, one with three beds. It gave our family space to settle in and relax. Very kind hosts. Beautiful location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trishawittkopp
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in the two bedroom cottage even at this time of year where there is a whole lot less sun. If you get the chance to return in summer when the river is far more inviting it would...

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 June 2016

my freind and i were looking for a quiet place to stay halfway between auckland and tauranga and we found this little beauty came up te mata lodge first the hosts were awesome friendly helpfull and atentive to our needs most impressed very warm and cosy rooms could do with an up grade of the tv and phn reception was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynley628
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for great feedback. It was great to see you ladies just chilling and enjoying the space. Can't agree more a TV upgrade wouldn't go a miss. Could be coming time for us to bump that one further up our priority list.

Ann Arbor, MI
Reviewed 7 May 2016

We stayed 2 nights with our daughter and son-in-law in a 2-bedroom chalet with a central well-equipped kitchen and lounge which was just what we wanted for a day of traveling up the lovely Coromandel coast. The hosts were friendly and helpful, and the quiet setting in the woods and along a stream above Te Mata was delightful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acwolfe
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive review. We're pleased our 2-bedroom cottage matched your needs and our quiet, river valley setting allowed you to unwind and relax after a day touring the Coromandel Peninsula.

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We booked two nights in March and ended up staying for 5 nights. The place is beautiful, peaceful and the hosts are very friendly. I read a lot of the prev comments and could not relate to any that had issues with the place. The cabins and shared kitchen/bathroom were clean and of good standards. The kids loved the river,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mefty H
Thames-Coaster, Owner at Te Mata Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your wonderful description of your time with us!!! Come again!!! We get huge satisfaction from knowing our guests have enjoyed their Te Mata Lodge experience. As for the Cockles, we have a lovely Chinese family staying this weekend who have sampled the experience too :)

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
23.7 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
441 reviews
23.4 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
33.4 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
300 reviews
24.7 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
292 reviews
30.3 km away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Hahei
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in an idyllic valley, bordered by bush and stream, minutes from the coast. Quality reasonably priced accommodation - cabins, cottages and chalets. Quiet and peaceful, no road noise. Swimming, gold panning, rock/gemstone collecting, bush walks, kayaking, glow worm grotto - all free to guests. Friendly owners who are happy to help with trip planning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Address: 18 Eames Crescent | Te Mata Bay, Thames Coast, Thames 3575, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Price Range: $83 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Te Mata Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Mata Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take good quality insect repellent”
 of 5 bubbles meftyh, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Would recommend a room with a kitchen for the little people - much easier for meals and cups of tea and coffee :)”
 of 5 bubbles carlandjaci, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask if you are a family with young kids - if you can have the cabin next to the lounge.”
 of 5 bubbles ForestNZ, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Chalets are nice and quiet and secluded”
 of 5 bubbles 406jls, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a Chalet and they were both away from the main camp area, where there are several cabins in close proximity to each other.”
 of 5 bubbles Strabaneboy, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay