We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Margaret River Bed & Breakfast

Traveller (136)
Room & Suite (53)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
4.5 Star guesthouse set in beautiful gardens and forest centrally located 5 minutes from town. Four luxurious queen suites, private courtyards, peaceful forest outlook each with large en-suite, double spa-bath, large separate shower, separate toilet, spacious common lounge/dining room with gas log fire and an alfresco area secluded in 9 acres of pristine forest. TV, free WiFi and all modern facilities. Experience our gourmet Australian breakfasts with freshly home-made bread and muffins. Central to restaurants, magnificent coastal scenery with beaches for swimming or surfing, vineyards, breweries, golf, caves, chocolate, cheese, nougat, olive oil, fudge, candy cow and many other attractions all close by. Escape, indulge and relax. Call or email for specials and longer stays or use our Book Now button for instant confirmation. Take a Margaret River Nature Tour for an all day excursion to see the most scenic locations in the region with the rocks, soils and plants explained, visit some wineries etc and enjoy a scrumptious lunch and afternoon tea in a forest of giants.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Spa
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
598Reviews
182Photos
3Q+A
91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 486
  • 104
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A basic, simple and clean bed and breakfast. Rooms are very basically furnished, bathroom is huge and all in all very clean accomodation. Drawers for storage perhaps in side table or the desk would be nice for storage of smaller items. Hosts are lovely and give you space.
Read more
Response from Dirk H, Owner at Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Responded 3 days ago
Dear LindyLocks, It is wonderful you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for leaving a review. You appear to have found the rooms good enough for you, basic and simple with a huge bathroom, if a little bare and lacking drawer space. Our guests leave enough stuff behind without us having to check drawers every time we make up a room. As you are the first to complain in 10 years about the lack of drawer space, we are quite happy with the uncluttered and spacious rooms as they are. You also enjoyed the quiet and the pleasant breakfast setting in the alfresco area looking out on the forest. Good luck to finding that setting in town and there certainly will not be any chickens, fresh eggs or a rooster for your son to enjoy. We are rather miffed at being punished for the high tariff, that you chose to pay. As you stayed during the peak period, you would not have found any equivalent (4.5 Star) accommodation any cheaper in the region. We have been virtually full since before Christmas through to now, so everybody else thinks our rates are ok. The charge of $25 for the foldaway does not even cover the costs of setting up, the linen and the extra breakfast that your son enjoyed. So it is also unfair to be disparaging about that as well. Maybe next time you visit, if you would like cheaper rates, come and stay during our winter months when things are a little quieter and we are happy to give mid-week discounts. You hopefully will then be able to enjoy yourself a bit more and you will be surprised at the many things you can still do here at that time. The restaurants, wineries, breweries, distilleries, chocolatiers, cheese makers etc are all still open and welcoming plus the forests, caves and lighthouses are also still worth visiting. Unless a keen surfer with a wetsuit, you will not go swimming at our stunning beaches, but just watching the waves in winter is a show in itself. Best Regards, Pam and Dirk
Read more
Margaret River bed and breakfast - friendly, convenient. Our second visit. Looking forward to the third! Hiding in the Bush- a gem of a spot. Close to town, yet far away. Great base from which to explore the region.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Dirk H, Owner at Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, Thanks for staying with us again and leaving a review. Looking forward to seeing you again next time. Regards, Pam & Dirk
Read more
We had a lovely time staying at Margaret River B&B, the host Dirk was very friendly and helpful with lots of advices for exploring Margaret River & surrounding area. And don’t forget to take away some honey, it’s the best honey you can get.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Dirk H, Owner at Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, Glad you enjoyed your honey and your stay here. Thanks for the review. Regards, Pam and Dirk
Read more
My wife and I spent 3 nights in this lovely B&B, attracted by its positive reviews and reasonable price point when compared to similar level competitors. It's located about 5 minutes drive outside of the Margaret river centre which means you need to commute to the city for
Read more
Response from Dirk H, Owner at Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Rowan, Thank you for your very detailed review. You have covered very much what we are about so it is nice that it was appreciated. Best regards, Pam and Dirk
Read more
We stayed here for one night during January 2019. Unfortunately it didn’t live up to our expectations. Out of all the places we stayed during our 3 weeks of travelling around Australia Margaret River B&B was the most expensive. We weren’t welcomed on arrival or at any time
Read more
Response from Dirk H, Owner at Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Helen. We are sorry you were disappointed in your stay here and thought that we were expensive but the 4th of January is in the middle of the peak period in the Margaret River Region and you would not have found 4.5 Star accommodation elsewhere for less. All hotels vary their rates depending on demand and we have been full from before Xmas to the beginning of February. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our comfortable beds, spacious rooms and a forest environment where you enjoyed your breakfast. We did not see you when you arrived as we were out walking the dog but we had left a note for you, so you could find your room, which you did. We don’t hover around our guests or check what you are doing in your room, but as you discovered, you just need to knock on our door and we are there to help you. What is unique about our B&B is that there is a very large lounge room and alfresco area which is just for the guests so you don’t have to interact with us if you don’t want to. All the other guests were still sleeping in when you had your breakfast, otherwise you would have had more company. I’m sure our breakfast was not disappointing for you as we serve 5 different cereals, 6 different bowls of fruit, 2 yoghurts, 8 different homemade breads, honey from our own bees harvested from this forest, homemade honey oat cakes and jams from the local Berry Farm. Not to mention an antipasto platter of cheese, salami and hams plus an espresso machine making freshly ground cappuccino, an extensive range of teas or some orange and apple juice that you could enjoy. You also seemed to have enjoyed our alfresco setting in the forest where it is delightful to have your breakfast listening to the birds. You could also have had a cooked breakfast (as shown in the compendium) but we charge a bit extra for that, depending on what you want. Mostly, we do have a chat with our guests while they are enjoying their breakfast and if they are interested, will provide them with a map and an itinerary to make the best of their stay in the region. But we don’t hover around all the time, so sometimes guests will come out and have a quick breakfast and only see us at check out, as you apparently did. So sorry that you expected to be living with the hosts. We are there but we respect the privacy of our guest and variously interact with them when it appears that it might be appreciated. So if you stay next time and we weren’t there to greet you at check in, please knock on our door, come and shake our hands and we would be happy to make sure your stay here is as enjoyable as all of our other guest discover. If respecting your privacy was such an offence to you, I’m not sure what we could have done to have lessened your disappointment. Regards, Pam & Dirk
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
ellenbrook room
The garden outside our room was amazing with colour and beautiful flowers every where
PreviousNext
12345611
Hi Lee-Ann. Thanks for your query. We have a large lounge room just for the guests and it has a gas-log fire that can be turned on for warmth and atmosphere. The room has a good R/C air conditioner that also warms up the room very well but it doesn't quite match it for atmosphere. Please call if you have any further queries. Regards, Dirk Hos Margaret River bnb.
1 vote
Hi. Thanks for your enquiry. We can happily put a foldaway bed along side the queen bed for your 4yo. We also have a cot available. The charge for the cot and foldaway varies depending how long you are staying. If you would like to email me (dirk) at margaretriverbnb) with your dates I would be happy to give you a quote. You can check availability at that website as well. Regards, Dirk, Margaret River BnB
0 votes
Are the rooms air-conditioned?
Hi Neno, Thanks for your enquiry. Yes, the rooms have reverse cycle airconditioners in them. If you are staying for more than a few nights please send me an email, otherwise you are welcome to book online at our website. Regards, Dirk
0 votes
Show all answers
"All rooms are the same with a private outdoor area"
"Enjoy the spa bath!"
"Take a tour with Rachel"
"We had a lovely garden view - useful to have a car as this is about 5km out of town."
"Don’t spend money at this facility"
PreviousNext
12345619
PRICE RANGE
USD 111 - USD 190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
loaring place hotel margaret riverloaring place bed and breakfast
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Loaring Place B&B
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaMargaret River RegionMargaret River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing