We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore

172 Marine Terrace, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hostel in Geraldton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore is not your average hostel and you are more than welcome to find out why! We are conveniently located in between the beach and the main shopping street with cafes, shops, restaurants, takeaways and bars. A big supermarket is just around the corner. The newly renovated, more than 100-year old building where we are located is an attraction in itself and has a modern kitchen with oven, microwave and cook top. Free parking is available. We have cosy dorm beds available, as well as Queen, Twin and Single rooms. Plenty of space to socialise, like a lounge room with comfortable sofas to relax in while watching television, or sit back in a quiet chair on the indoor veranda with a book and ocean view! The courtyard area is a great place to be as well and if you are lucky you can find some passionfruit in the garden!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor dining area
Beach
Game room
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Vending machine
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Clothes rack
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
172Reviews0Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 119
  • 33
  • 12
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sid S wrote a review Dec 2023
14 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location next to the beach with cinema and lots of shops cafés and restaurants in walking distance with off road secure parking. Very comfortable beds and nicely apponted tidy rooms. Great manager friendly and helpful. I've paid a lot more for a lot less. I have stayed several times and it's my prefferd place in Geraldton.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pippa GBFS, Owner at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Thank you for your 5 star review, and your kind words. We are thrilled you love staying with us, and you appreciate all our hostel has to offer. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Veronica K wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
Great location, secure parking & exceptionally clean. Easy walking to cafe's. Perfect for a few nights to break up a road trip. Had a room upstairs with a balcony overlooking the street but very quiet for a Saturday night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pippa GBFS, Owner at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Responded 24 Aug 2023
Thank you for your review. We are trilled you loved your stay with us. We look forward to having the pleasure of you returning soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Manue wrote a review June 2023
Rimouski, Canada24 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed here one night as part of an organized trip with Autopia. The beds were VERY comfortable for a hostel accommodation; we were a bit confused with all the corridors etc but the map of the hostel was explained to us upon checking in so it helped. The on-site staff was very welcoming and kind. Also, everyone in each dorm room had its own set of keys which was much appreciated. Would recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pippa GBFS, Owner at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Responded 2 July 2023
Thank you for your review, and your kind words. We are so pleased you loved your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Raymond R wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
I booked this hostel for the long Easter weekend. The owner is friendly, the hostel is very clean and tidy, guests are well behaved and quiet. The location is in the center of Geraldton and right in front of the beach. I definitely recommend this hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pippa GBFS, Owner at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Responded 22 Apr 2023
Thank you so much for your review, and your kind words. Thank you so much for mentioning the cleanliness of our hostel. We are so pleased you loved our great location. We hope we have the pleasure of meeting you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carol D wrote a review Apr 2023
Perth, Australia13 contributions11 helpful votes
This is great example of a traditional backpacker hostel. Clean bathrooms, excellent kitchen. Comfortable lounge areas, nice courtyards. The beach is just across the road. Lots of restaurants and bars close by. We had a double room with a balcony to the city. Not too noisy but the hum of people out and about.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pippa GBFS, Owner at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Responded 6 Apr 2023
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are thrilled that you loved our hostel and our facilities and fantastic location. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Purplepoppy85 wrote a review Mar 2023
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom5 contributions15 helpful votes
I refused to stay at the Backpackers and booked in to the ocean hotel for very little extra. I wish I’d booked here first instead. You absolutely cannot check in or even drop your bag before 3.30pm. There isn’t someone on reception at all times and when I called the number (and rang the bell) several times, it said the number had been disconnected. The check in process was so long and I was told all the things I couldn’t do, including eating anything or drinking anything other than water in the room. The kitchen is shut at 9pm and you can only do your laundry if you book, for $10 and are told to use the laundrette down the road because the owner uses her expensive washing powder for the sheets and stores other things in the laundry. There’s no aircon. I understand it’s an old building but it was incredibly hot and I just needed to drop my bag in the room and splash my face but the lady on reception kept talking about all of the rules. It’s too much and very unwelcoming. You also have to leave a $50 cash key deposit which I’ve not experienced elsewhere. The hostel is dark, I was informed mostly male and the few women that are there are working for the owner. It’s also insanely hot with ceiling fans but these are just pushing warm air around. The shared bathrooms are like a sauna. The locker in the room was broken and very small so I couldn’t secure my things and it was clear I was imposing on the 2 women that were temporarily living in the room. The linen choices were a duvet or fleece blanket in summer temperatures!!! It was so unwelcoming and so not fit for purpose that I booked into the hotel and left. I don’t understand how this hostel has rated highly because it’s really not pleasant and I’d advise you to book elsewhere to avoid disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pippa GBFS, Owner at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Responded 7 Mar 2023
Wow Rachel! This is a disappointment. I can see from your profile that you only ever give 1 star reviews and you never seem to be satisfied with any of the places you have stayed. You have travelled from Great Britain to Geraldton in the middle of our summer, we have had above average temperatures this summer. Yes it was quite warm the day you arrived, however it was cooling down nicely and there was a beautiful sea breeze coming through the hostel when you arrived. I'm sorry to hear you had issues with your mobile phone, clearly we receive calls to run our business, so our number is definitely working. We are always happy for guests to drop their luggage off. I don't understand why you criticised my hostel when you only stayed for less than an hour. You spoke to the two beautiful girls in your room for less than 5 minutes, and then went to the gym. On your return you checked out. My hostel has a great rating because so many guests have appreciated what we offer them, including our great location, security parking, and our customer service. When you checked in you were not interested in hearing the check in process, however we are obligated to share with you the regulations that we need to adhere to. All the negative statements you have made in your review are a bit bizzare as you did not stay to use any of our facilities and therefore they did not affect you in any way, so I am not sure why you would say such things. You chose to book a shared dorm room, which means sharing with other females, you had a choice and you could have booked a private room. Perhaps you are not suited to shared accommodation. Key deposits are common practice in most hostels. Perhaps you are a first time traveller. I have checked the locker in your room and it is definitely not broken, the girls in your room showed you how to close the locker. By the way I do not have any males working for me at the hostel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mitch T wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Had the pleasure of meeting the lovely lady running the show. Wow, wow, wow ... Fantastic service! Beautiful old building very clean and right on the foreshore can't beat it.....! Highly recommended!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pippa Glynn, Owner at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Responded 5 Feb 2023
Thank you for your 5 star review and your kind words. It was such a pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tim E wrote a review Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom21 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location and friendly staff. Nice building. Affordable. An odd obsession with security, which does impact check-in, etc. Far more focus on security than I've seen anywhere else in 25 years of backpacking.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pippa GBFS, Owner at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Responded 22 Jan 2023
Thank you for your review. We are proud to offer our guests a safe and secure carpark and building.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CKpossum wrote a review Nov 2022
Townsville, Australia30 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Cannot praise our host Pippa (owner) and Ramona enough. Went way beyond what we could expect in helping us after our plans had been derailed by unforeseen circumstances (an emu actually). Apart from offering assistance and somewhere to sleep, the genuine friendliness with which we were treated was very much appreciated. The establishment itself, although technically a backpackers' accommodation, was absolutely fabulous leaving many hotels we've stayed at to shame. From the elegant old building lovingly refurbished to the simple but caringly appointed rooms. We subsequently stayed another 2 nights in different rooms, all of which provided lovely comfy beds and the necessary mod cons. The shared bathrooms were scrupulously clean, the lounges welcoming and the outdoor area was a pleasant little spot for some morning sun albeit the car parking area. Location could not be more central (main street) yet security was well managed and there was no noise disturbance (inside or outside) at night. We indulged in delicious breakfasts at Fleurs (2 doors down) and it was an easy little walk to the foreshore or shopping. It's a credit to everyone involved that such an impressive building is being faithfully preserved for us to enjoy. If you'd like to experience a slice of heritage; some old-world charm; and don't mind the odd squeaky floorboard - make this gem your next stop when visiting Geraldton.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pippa GBFS, Owner at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Responded 14 Dec 2022
Thank you so much for your review, and your kind words. We are thrilled you loved your stay with us, and appreciated our beautiful heritage building. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you. We look forward to you returning.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
james c wrote a review Aug 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom18 contributions4 helpful votes
Brilliant place to stay, super clean and well kept. Beautiful old heritage building which you can really appreciate from the inside. I had a great twin room with amazingly high ceilings. Thanks for looking after me and you were very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pippa GBFS, Owner at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are thrilled you loved your stay with us and appreciated our beautiful building. Thank you for your kind words, we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Geraldton area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$134 - AU$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Foreshore Backpackers
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaGeraldton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GERALDTON BACKPACKERS ON THE FORESHORE (AU$134): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore
Which popular attractions are close to Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore?
Nearby attractions include Geraldton Visitor Centre (0.3 km), Coalseam Conservation Park (0.4 km), and Monsignor Hawes Heritage Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, an oven, and a stovetop.
What food & drink options are available at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salt Dish, L'Italiano Restaurant, and Quiet Life Specialty Coffee.
Are there any historical sites close to Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Hermitage (1.4 km).
Does Geraldton Backpackers on the Foreshore have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.