We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay

Hotwire.comUSD 90*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 103*
USD 90*
Great Deal
USD 100*
USD 101*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 169: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The good: The park itself is very clean, and has a lot for kids (and adults) to do. The bad: Apart from 1 of them, the staff were either rude, or weren't friendly. Surely it's not THAT HARD to put a smile on, or at least fake some friendliness.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShoeiFantaRaraBubba
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed at many Discovery Parks and they have been great. But this one takes the cake. Staff were rude, cabins were over priced ($400 per night) due to some event on that weekend, forced to wear hideous orange bands to say we are guests and also made to pay $400 cash bond. Trying to get back to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ale614
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a three bedroom cabin for 5 of us. The cabin wasn't so clean with spider webs everywhere. The water pressure was bad and warm water supply was not stable during shower. Heater was not working and the air con in living room only has the cold air mode. No wifi in the cabin too. Tv only has limited channels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EliseAlice
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay, responded to this review

We're sorry to read of your negative experience at our park, Elise. In order to help us further improve the experience for our guests, we invite you to email us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au to share your feedback with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Coolum Beach, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a wonderful place to stay. The staff were terrific and the cabins exceptionally clean. The only problem we encountered was with the wifi which was not easily accessed. Apart from this small hiccup we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone. :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina L
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay, responded to this review

We're glad that after experiencing our park for yourself, that you would recommend us to others! Thank you for taking the time to review us, Marina.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a powered caravan site. Toilets & showers very clean. This park is close to town and to lots of great walking tracks. Beach is just over the road. Only problem is the traffic noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bindi B
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of our facilities, sites and location, Bindi!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is good value, in a great location, and is very well maintained. We had a 3 bedroom villa which was nice and spacious. I think I'd like to see a 2nd bathroom or an ensuite or even just a 2nd toilet. One bathroom was a struggle for 6 people, let alone 8 which I think is the max....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that despite aspects of your experience, you enjoyed staying at our park in Bunbury. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and we do hope you stay with us again, Jeff.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Koombana Bay Discovery park and we will always keep coming back. We stayed in the unpowered sites 2 & 3 which were perfect close to the showers/toilets for the midnight loo run and close to the kitchen area too. The facilities are spotless and the most cleanest I have ever seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kb84wa
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay, responded to this review

We're glad that despite some issues with the jumping pillow, your family enjoyed the stay at our park and you'll be back again. Thank you for sharing your comments with us as we look to continue to make improvements to our park.

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Every year we normally go on a little trip to Busselton, but we decided to change it up and try Bunbury, boy was that a mistake! We were literally staying in a box. An Economy Ensuite Cabin. It was very small and had a tiny TV with no DVD player, so we went and bought one from Kmart. First of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Temily G
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your experience. To discuss your comments further, we invite you to contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Temily.

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We spent a short weekend at Koombana Bay for the 3 Waters Running Festival. The kids loved the time playing with other kids, scooting and jumping on the big pillow. The kitchen facilities and amenities were great and the park is located well for easy access to the beach and town centre. The only downside was the noise from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mac K
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review, Mac. We're happy to know that your kids loved making new friends and the facilities at our park. We hope you have the chance to return for another fun stay!

Woy Woy, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We had booked online and accidentally booked our site right on the main road. When we arrived they bent over backwards to sort out our mistake and were able to give us an alternative site which suited us much better. I think from now on I will ring and book directly with the park rather than book online. So much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear you appreciated our staff's friendliness and customer service, Kerry. Thank you for sharing your review.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunbury
0.7 km away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
876 reviews
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#5 of 9 in Bunbury
77 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Discovery Parks – Bunbury Village
1.2 km away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
4.9 km away
Riverside Cabin Park
Riverside Cabin Park
#1 of 1 in Eaton
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Resort syle property with accommodation and camping areas. Located across the road from Koombana Bay swimming beach and the Dolphin Discovery Centre and a short stroll to cafes, restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay

Address: Koombana Dr, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Price Range: $67 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay Bunbury, Western Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Perth, Australia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the outskirts otherwise people cut through your villa, the bouncy pillow gets pretty noisy.”
Scuba2013, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The two bedroom apartments are worth the upgrade.”
KristyGirl82, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Caravan areas are near the road so can have traffic noise. The ensuite sites are on the estuary side so are quieter. Ensuites an asset. .”
_maryherbert4, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ensuite site for campers. Deluxe cabin has everything you need.”
JustineH902, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All ensuite sites were well stiuated”
alisona960, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 90* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 100
Hotels.comUSD 101
Booking.comUSD 103
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates