We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oslo Hotel

TravelocityUSD 30*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 48*
USD 30*
USD 48*
USD 30*
USD 48*
USD 30*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Oslo Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oslo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 8 May 2015

We stayed here when we first moved to Melbourne. The location is great as we wanted to find somwhere to live in that area and find work there. For us to go and find work it was perfect, it was the cheapest place we found at $20 a night and our room was 3 bunk beds with a fridge and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue2101
Reviewed 19 March 2015

what a dump! Me and my girlfriend stayed there the same weekend of the F1 grand prix because everything else was booked out, and i was eaten alive by bed bugs. Almost a week on and my arms are still irritated. do yourself a favor and sleep in a park if this place is your only option.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DeeWirew
accomodate, Manager at Oslo Hotel, responded to this review

Over the grand Prix weekend we had over 150 new guests at our hotel. We did not have any complaints as everything was going very well at the hostel. The only problem was a room that may have had some problems that seemed like it brought in from an outside source.. With the low temperatures of this current Melbourne summer...

Reviewed 17 March 2015

We checked in as three female backpackers a week past Wednesday and booked the Oslo purely because all other hostels were booked out for the Grand Prix but thought it would do for one night. Upon arrival we noticed the place was very dull and gloomy, and generally in need of a little update/TLC. The holes in couches in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gjl20
accomodate, Manager at Oslo Hotel, responded to this review

I dont agree with this review as its not true what has been said. We do not have any mousetraps in the building only mouse bait done by professionals to keep the building free of mice. There is nothing wrong with the comfort or cleanliness of the couchs. So what if there is a bit of tape on them from...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I, are currently travelling Australia. Obviously money is a bit of an issue whilst travelling, so we were more then aware that we wouldnt be staying in the highest quality of hostels/hotels. We arrived in St Kilda, Melbourne, which had been an area highly recommended by friends for its great atmosphere and querky shops, bars and restaurants....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lenny44k
Reviewed 6 December 2014 via mobile

Cheap, but very bad. Beds are horrible, just a thin matras on a wooden board or some springs. A prison has more comfort. One shower and one toilet for many rooms. Rooms and amenities are old and dirty. Better go somewhere else and pay a little more!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marvin S
accomodate, Manager at Oslo Hotel, responded to this review

WE have had alot of people stay in this room and really have had not complaints. It is very cheap and clean and has a fridge in it and in the budget section of the hotel. We have better rooms available in our main building so you get what you pay for but and we try to cater for all...

Mount Dandenong, Australia
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If I pay a budget price, I do not expect 5 star accommodation - BUT, I do expect a clean and properly managed place to stay and expect it to be as it is described in a website, review or handbook. This place fills none of this criteria. It has been appalling for many years, staff were not friendly. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank WickedWalkabout
accomodate, Manager at Oslo Hotel, responded to this review

I disagree with this reviewer as our place is very well managed and our staff are friendly and helpful. I dont understand how the reviewer has said that our hotel has been appalling for many years - how would she know that as a traveller as they only visit the place while travelling. The only way she say could say...

St Kilda, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Second (or may be third ?) time I come in that backpacker because I have always been so well welcomed! The manager and the staff chosen are so kind that i shouldn't change for nothing when i come in Melbourne. My room is pleasant: i have a common balcony and I am quiet (almost when there is not too many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dulac12
Helston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We got lucky that they had given our 4 bed dorm away when we arrived, so got a private for the same price! The boss and a few of the staff are actually really nice, and the tv is good.. but other than that, it really isn't a good hostel! Such a shame that everywhere else is so expensive! They...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Chelsea T
Miri, Malaysia
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Arrived at 10am had to wait till 11am for an Oslo staff to open the gate, staff is not friendly, not welcoming and I think she really need a good sleep... Dead rat on lawn. The foyer worn out, couches stinks, dusty, gloomy and dirty. Coffee machine doesn't work, wifi connection is terrible...( first world country? I think not) Room...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Fuyii
accomodate, Manager at Oslo Hotel, responded to this review

We open the gate at 10am every day - seven days a week. Check in is from 12pm so this guest is lucky that he was in his room by 11am. The furniture in the foyer is in good condition as they are quality and comfortable couches. The coffee machine usually works as does the wifi. The kitchen is noisy...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I've read most of the other negative reviews and they are correct in spirit. I take exception to the way some of them are done, for instance tossing your luggage and items all over the room to make it look messy. The point is you need to be fair and accurate about this. So: The other reviews are correct. I...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Pat S
accomodate, Manager at Oslo Hotel, responded to this review

There is not filthy urine on the carpet and the rooms are cleaned completely when people vacate their rooms. The internet only works properly in the lobby but sometime you can get lucky and it will work in some rooms. Sorry about the kitchen being messy with approx 30 people using it at the time but we are busy in...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (14)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Oslo Hotel

Address: 38 Grey St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Price Range: $19 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oslo Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Oslo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oslo Hotel St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oslo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for rooms not in the court yard.”
Jade2422, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Just dont go there, period!”
kanstef, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Single or Double Rooms”
justink604, 9 May 2015 | Read review
“Absolutely no room would be acceptable due to the overall unsafe, dirty feel of the place.”
WickedWalkabout, 26 Jun 2014 | Read review
“The room I always have had is a single one: good link quality and price”
dulac12, 23 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 30* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 30
Hotels.comUSD 30
PricelineUSD 48
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates