We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

A very good motel in horsham. Reasonable value. Although the reception recommended the hotel next door for a meal which looked terrible. We ate at the Bull and Mouth. Clean and quiet room with heated pool and spa was a very pleasant experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brookskb
Horsham, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2015

I agree with various other reviewers, the manager was less than pleasant, abrupt and quite brusque in his manner when we arrived at 8.10pm on Sunday night. With very few cars in the car park I'm surprised he wasn't happier to have a couple more guests! Not a good start for our few days away. However, that said, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Barbara B. going through our records we are unable to identify you as one of our guests. However if someone treated me in the manner you have described I simply would not have stayed at that motel. Moteliers to my knowledge do not go our of their way to upset guests our business relies on people coming though our...

port lincoln
Reviewed 6 March 2015

Stayed recently overnight with family. Had a large room, to accommodate 4 of us. Clean and comfy. Bathroom showing its age though never the less nice and clean. Lovely indoor pool and spa area. On the highway so reasonably noisy with all the trucks that pass through Horsham but didn't keep us awake! Hotel next door , lovely park across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melstef72
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Melstef 72, We are glad you found you room clean and comfy. Yes we agree some of our bathrooms are dated we are gradually renovating all our rooms several have been completed. Sometimes the truck noise seems louder because of the weather, However most motels are built near highways. If you found my manner a little rude then I...

Geelong
Reviewed 17 February 2015

I stayed for one night, room was large and clean, good hot water pressure, room has all the usual fittings. Car parking in front of room, indoor heated pool looked good, didn't have time for a swim. Large hotel next door. Stayed on a Saturday night and slept well no traffic noise or hotel noise. Motel is getting old but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bruce P, thank you for the review, yes we agree our motel is showing its age however we are gradually renovating all our rooms once they are completed that we will address the motel exterior. It all takes time and lots of money.

Chester England
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Roughly half way between Melbourne and Adelaide on the overland route Horsham is a good place to stop for the night and the Golden Grain represents a good place to spend the night. It's a modern well appointed Motor Inn just walking distance from the towns centre. It's clean, quiet and reasonably good value. Parking is free as is wifi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seebeforeigo
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Seebeforeigo, Thank you for your review of our property. it is very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are updating all our rooms several have been completed. Hope you had a safe journey home.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2015

I often stay at the Golden Grain for business & have always found their hospitality great & rooms spotlessly clean. Although a little dated now, the rooms are a generous size with all the expected features of a motel room. The rooms are sizeable enough for a small lounge area. The Victoria hotel is right next door & it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Chris D. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback from our guests, we are very happy you continue to stay at our motel when on business in Horsham. Thank you for taking the time to review our motel

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Huge room, nicely decorated. The location is pretty good too, with a park and playground just across the street for travellers with children. The biggest impression otherwise was of the gym/heated swimming pool. We took the opportunity to go swimming with our toddler and the water was probably around 30, and perfectly fine. A small bottle of milk included for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Watt A
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Watt A. We are happy you enjoyed your spacious room we will be sure to pass on your comments to all staff and we are glad you used the indoor swimming pool, we hope you to see you again sometime in the future. Thank you for the kind review.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2015

I gave this motel 4 out of 5 about 18 months ago, but I've had to reduce that. A senior's discount, but still $153 a room? You only pay $158 at the Downtowner Motel in Carlton's Lygon St next to the Melbourne CBD, including free parking. The Golden Grain is getting old, as shown by the creaks and the groans...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happyladdy
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Happlady, we were disappointed to read our rooms are average for the price, I don't understand our price was cheaper than what you paid in Carlton and we provide on-site free car parking and you booked your room over the internet where we have to pay agent commissions. May I suggest next time you phone the motel direct to...

Whyalla, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2014

We stayed here for the first time a couple of weeks ago. We regularly have overnight stays in Horsham and as our usual hotel was booked out, we were concerned about having to stay somewhere different. We were however really happy with this hotel, and have decided to make it our regular stopover now. We were in a queen spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
Reviewed 14 November 2014

Fabulous hosts. Rooms are spotlessly clean, it's like stepping back into a time warp in a positive way. Wonderful experience, we will be back and we highly recommend. We are a couple in our late 30's and I would choose the endearment of this motel over the Hilton or Sheraton any day! Thanks x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnBMcDonald

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horsham hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn May Park
Comfort Inn May Park
#3 of 11 in Horsham
110 reviews
0.5 km away
Horsham International Hotel
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Capital Horsham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ploughmans Motor Inn
Ploughmans Motor Inn
#6 of 11 in Horsham
61 reviews
0.4 km away
Smerdon Lodge Motel
Smerdon Lodge Motel
#4 of 11 in Horsham
89 reviews
4.5 km away
Sundowner Horsham Westlander Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn

Address: 6 Dimboola Rd, Horsham, Victoria 3400, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Horsham
Price Range: $161 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horsham
Horsham Best Western
BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn Horsham, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“While the motel reception faces a busy road, all the guest rooms are well set back, so you'll get a good night's sleep in any room.”
 of 5 bubbles 646RichardP, 15 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Away from the highway, although no rooms we stayed in had noise problems.”
 of 5 bubbles Happyladdy, 25 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Ask for a room located at the rear if you do not like to hear the road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles char5656, 25 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Probably all rooms ok, but we had a room at the back to avoid any highway noise.”
 of 5 bubbles elfinpete, 4 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Rooms are all on ground level, and the only drawback if you are near to the road could be traffic noise, as many road trains use this route. However our room was clean, tidy and spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. No complaints at all.”
 of 5 bubbles JourneymanMike, 11 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay