Big River Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Big River Motel

Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 8 small hotels in Echuca
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Big River Motel their small hotel of choice when visiting Echuca. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning and a refrigerator, and you can stay connected during your stay as Big River Motel offers guests free wifi.

The small hotel features room service, newspaper, and baggage storage. Plus, Big River Motel offers barbeque facilities, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Given the close proximity to The Strawberry Pick (2.8 mi), guests of Big River Motel can easily experience one of Echuca's most popular landmarks.

While in Echuca, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Big River Motel, including Top of the Town (0.1 mi), American Hotel Echuca (0.9 mi), and Lucky House Chinese Restaurant (1.2 mi).

Echuca is also home to TwistED, a popular science museum that is not too far from Big River Motel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Big River Motel as you experience all of the things Echuca has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Golf course
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Wifi
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

317 High St, Echuca, Victoria 3564 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 41 out of 100
41
Bendigo Airport
76.8 km
See all flights
Melbourne Airport
170.7 km
See all flights
70Reviews1Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 30
  • 12
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
whistle007 wrote a review Mar 2022
Yarragon, Australia74 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here recently for two nights. Very reasonable rates per night and the rooms were very clean and roomy. The staff at the motel were very helpful and pleasant and enjoyed my short stay.
Car parking was easy i open car park.
Shower was fantastic with great water pressure
Older style TV but worked great with no picture breakup or issues.
tea and coffee available and they also gave me some milk.
I stayed in ground floor single story section, there is also a two story section of the motel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ground floor from room 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Debbie Boylan, Owner at Big River Motel
Responded 29 Mar 2022
Hi there Whistle007, Thank you very much for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Debbie and Chris.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Faye H wrote a review Mar 2020
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great accommodation ,and well looked after. My husband had an operation at Echuca Hospital which is within walking distance. The occupational therapist came and set up the room with aids for my husband which was wonderful. Would highly recommend this Motel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Debbie Boylan, Owner at Big River Motel
Responded 26 Mar 2020
Hi Faye and Neil, Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality whilst Neil was recovering from his operation. Hope he is improving every day. Kind regards, and take care. Deb and Chris.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robyn Y wrote a review Feb 2020
Albury, Australia77 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I know this is not the best looking motel, BUT, we had a lovely room, spotless clean, great shower, owners lovely, breakfast great , if your looking for a motel just out of the city centre then this is it. Would definitely stay again.....and price was great.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had a standard twin...had microwave, toaster, tea and coffee and biscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Debbie B, Owner at Big River Motel
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Hi Robyn, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable experience at our Motel. Kind regards, Debbie and Chris.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George D wrote a review June 2020
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Big River Motel in Echuca, on 6/6/20 to 8/6/20.
No hot water in the morning, they said too many people use the water. Said to us “Don’t stay here Next time” Microwave in room, but no Plates or Cutlery.
Lots of UHT milk in fridge was Use By 20/3/20
Three months past Use By Date.
We Do Not Recommend staying there. Reverse cycle air conditioner did not warm room. Electric Blankets were pathetic and did not notice that it was hardly working.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
megsy64 wrote a review Oct 2014
1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Big River Motel was my home away from home for 4 nights, while a family member was in hospital. Debbie and Chris were more than welcoming and very supportive while I was staying there. They both went above and beyond to ensure I had everything I needed.
Clean rooms, comfortable beds and nice hot showers. Having the option of ordering breakfast and dinner was fantastic, it was always fresh and on time.
Cant wait to go back and stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shaneflinteagle wrote a review Apr 2013
Melbourne, Australia29 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 1 night recently and found the room to be clean and adequate. However there was a recurring noise all night. Every hour there as a noise for approx 20 minutes then it would stop and start again the next hour. Not sure where it was coming from. Could have been heater for the hot water. Our room was at the rear of the property. If we stayed there again I would request a quieter room.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trentham_Ozlady wrote a review Jan 2013
Melbourne, Australia130 contributions81 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at this motel after searching for accomodation for the New Year. As Echuca is a popular destination we were fortunate to find accomodation for New Years Eve. This property is about a ten minute drive from the Port of Echuca area and easy to find in High St. Echuca. Our unit was a larger comfortable standard queen sized one. The decor is a little old fashioned but the rooom was clean and the bed linen fresh. The air conditioner was a little noisy to leave on overnight . The staff were friendly and co operative. Most likely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Downstairs rooms to save climbing stairs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rosey55 wrote a review Jan 2021
Wantirna, Australia72 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were already staying in another motel in Echuca and decided to stay another night. Using Tripadvisor we found this moyel to be the only one with a vacancy. We got their last room through Bookings.com. Bookings.com stated that we could check in from 12:30 but when we arrived the room was not ready. It was when we came back at two hous later.
The room was very clean and had obviously been refurbished fairly recently. The bathroom hadn't been refurbished though but was still clean. One thing that could do with replacement was the mattress which was very firm.
This motel is next to the hospital but away from the shops and tourist attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Debbie Boylan, Owner at Big River Motel
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Hi Rosey, Thank you very much for your review. Regards, Debbie and Chris.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren E wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A few girlfriends of mine booked this motel and paid for it in full online and the next day the owners called up and told us we had to cancel our booking. One of my friends called back and asked them why we had to cancel the booking and they advised that they do not take group bookings - yet they have advertised rooms of 3 and we booked a room of 3.

Do not book this motel there are far better places to stay in Echuca and this is the worst customer service I have ever had to deal with.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Debbie B, Owner at Big River Motel
Responded 25 Feb 2019
Now Lauren, You are being a bit sparse with the truth. The fact is, your friend booked 2 rooms for 6, 22year old women. We do take group bookings of senior age groups e.g. Probus Clubs, Senior Citizen Clubs etc. We did our very best to find alternate, appropriate accommodation for your group, providing a list of Motels that would better suit your needs. Also, we were looking after our other guests best interests for a peaceful, undisturbed stay. Regards, Debbie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holly S wrote a review May 2015
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I often visit Echuca, having quite a few friends living in the area, and without fail I always stay at the Big River Motel. The rooms are cosy and comfortable having recently been renovated. The prices are very reasonable. The staff, especially Chris and Debbie, are welcoming, competent and always go above and beyond to help wherever possible. The motel is perfectly located being only a 10 - 15 minute walk from most attractions, fantastic dining venues and the shopping precinct. I love the culture and the atmosphere of this country town and would recommend this place to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Delaynie C asked a question Jan 2016
Adelaide, Australia
Will 1 room fit 8 people
Answer from elljay29
Nagambie, Australia178 contributions12 helpful votes
We had a downstairs room which had double and single bed, there could be larger rooms, management very helpful give them a call.
whistle007 wrote a tip Mar 2022
Yarragon, Australia74 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground floor from room 1"
Read full review
Robyn Y wrote a tip Feb 2020
Albury, Australia77 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had a standard twin...had microwave, toaster, tea and coffee and biscuits"
Read full review
sharon0mary wrote a tip May 2019
Melbourne, Australia10 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"premium room large and bright"
Read full review
Pete_Mish1 wrote a tip July 2017
Monegeetta46 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I travelled alone so the queen was fine. Pay the extra and get a deluxe queen room if travelling with a friend."
Read full review
Paul E wrote a tip May 2017
Kiama, Australia216 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Their slogan says it all."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Echuca area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$100 - AU$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaEchuca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG RIVER MOTEL (AU$100): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Echuca) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Big River Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Big River Motel?
Nearby attractions include Echuca Heritage Walk (1.0 km), Echuca Moama Uniting Church (1.0 km), and Centenary of Echuca Primary School No. 208 (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Big River Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Big River Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Big River Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Big River Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Big River Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Johnny & Lyle, The Mill, and Fuzion cafe.
Is Big River Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Echuca.
Are there any historical sites close to Big River Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Port of Echuca Discovery Centre (2.0 km), Echuca Wharf (2.0 km), and Moama's Old Telegraph Station (3.1 km).
Is Big River Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Echuca HotelsEchuca Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EchucaHotels near Big River Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars