We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rivergum Motel

85-95 Northern Highway, Echuca, Victoria 3564 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (13)
Pool & Beach (1)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 8 small hotels in Echuca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We welcome everyone to our Motel for a pleasant and affordable stay.We pride ourselves on customer service and make everyone feel at home for what ever reason there stay . Nothing is a problem just ask ! "Arrive as a guest leave as a friend "
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
71Reviews0Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 26
  • 9
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Adrian C wrote a review July 2022
1 contribution
This place is horrible, do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else. The place was full of drugos and prostitutes!! The manager is rude and complains about his ex wife.. something we really didn’t need or want to know about. The rooms are ok size but smelt musky. The bed was rock hard with a stained cover that clearly hadn’t been washed in months. The bathroom was dirty aswell and there was no hot water at all! The free wifi was hopeless! And the remote to the tv was missing! Bad experience!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dean Wedesweiler, Owner at Rivergum Motel
Responded 11 Sept 2022
Don't bother to make statements that simply are not true if anyone was on drugs it most certainly sounds like you. I would not know who you are as you are not in my system and most likely stayed elsewhere ! You are in my system now banned lol
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SharonW2503 wrote a review Feb 2021
Melbourne, Australia324 contributions190 helpful votes
Stayed for one night recently. The room was a really good size and clean. The wifi was hopeless, really not much point having it. Small bathroom with a good shower. There were ceiling lights by the door and in the middle, and a lamp on a low table between beds. This meant the light was not good enough to read in bed. We had a queen bed and a single. The queen was very soft and the single perfect, made my husband swap at 3am so I could get some sleep. None of these issues life threatening. This motel is on the left on the highway, coming into Echuca, so not near the touristy part of town. Not an issue for us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sarah wrote a review Jan 2021
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions6 helpful votes
We were due to stay at the Rivergum for three nights in January. Less than four hours prior to checking in I received a phone call from the motel saying that our reservation was cancelled. He said that his staff lived over the NSW border and couldn’t get across and there would be no one to service the rooms. He also said he hadn’t been taking bookings for the last two days because of this issue. We had two rooms booked for our two families, and were booked for three nights. The person I spoke to on the phone was very rude, unapologetic and could have told us of the cancellation in advance, especially given he’d known about his situation for two days. We did not get to stay at this motel but going by the service I received on the phone I would not recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dean Wedesweiler, Owner at Rivergum Motel
Responded 11 Sept 2022
I'm sorry you must be mistaken as it was a "she" working in the office at the time and not a "he" I actually think you have the wrong Motel altogether as we where taking NO bookings through Covid ! Regards Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DylNyk wrote a review Dec 2020
Greater Bendigo, Australia7 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night in 2 separate rooms, both rooms were spotless. Even walking into our room on arrival we commented on how clean the room smelt. The room was quiet and comfortable, ground floor and easy to find. Loved our stay here, thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hayley Pridham-Thatcher wrote a review Nov 2020
Melbourne, Australia175 contributions69 helpful votes
We really enjoyed the river gum motel! Karen and the team were amazing, so helpful and friendly. Reasonable pricing, lovely accommodation, very vintage style (see pics below). The pool and courtyard area was lovely and clean, they are located about 2-3ks from the main town, however this motel is a little gem! Please check this out if you are a couple or a family! You'll love it
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Siddo wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
We stayed in a family room which was very clean and spacious. Comfortable beds and great value for money. Adjoining room for kids. Has small kitchenette and good size main room. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andrew B wrote a review Jan 2020
Adelaide, Australia94 contributions77 helpful votes
We are a couple who stayed here for 2 nights, from 31 December till 2 January. This was the most expensive of the five hotels where we stayed during our Victorian trip, yet was sub-standard, definitely not worth anything like the $130 per night we paid. It is similar in standard to the hotel we stayed at in Horsham for $90 per night. Our room was very basic: old, poor wifi (cutting in and out), no cutlery other then 1 teaspoon, no plug for the sink, curtains which didn't keep out all the morning light, an ironing board (available from reception) without legs and with a very thin cover. Reception doesn't open till after 8am, which is a problem if you need something. (I wanted a breakfast bowl and spoon for the cereals I had.) We booked in the belief that the room rate included breakfast, as that is how it is advertised on hotels.com. Alas, on checking in we found out they don't provide breakfast at this time of year; I'd booked directly, so the reception lady said what is on hotels.com doesn't apply. Two good features: our room included a microwave oven, and the parking area included a hose which I used to clean our car, which was very dirty after the recent dust storm. The hotel is on the highway, 5km from the city centre, so its location is a minus. Overall, we found this motel very disappointing and over-priced. We will not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dean Wedesweiler, Owner at Rivergum Motel
Responded 11 Sept 2022
What are thinking $130 per night at Christmas time is expensive and you expect to pay $90 surely that's bizarre! Sorry the office was not open at 8am especially for you. We have had many thousands of customers over 20 years but every now and then we get an exceptional person just like yourself you should be proud to make ridiculous accusations All the best we have removed you from our system the 24 hour Hilton is in Sydney and not Echuca lol
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elizabeth J wrote a review Nov 2019
Wallan, Australia116 contributions59 helpful votes
We came up from Melbourne for one night, would have loved to stay another few nights. Great location, big rooms, clean. The hotel is dated but I don’t see this as an issue. There was a pool and playground for the kids, tennis court and bbq area, unfortunately too cold for us to enjoy in this visit. The staff were friendly also.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Vickee wrote a review Nov 2019
15 contributions2 helpful votes
We arrived late but manager waited for us anyway. Very helpful and even threw in a breakfast for us. Room was comfy and clean. Air con worked a treat. Far enough back off the road not to he disturbed by road noise.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jot wrote a review July 2019
1 contribution
Karin is Very nasty, and I have a feeling she is very reasist,telling me what to do mind your own business.Got a sweet tounge,to begin with,and make new coustomers,but you can see her after few stays,how bad she can be bathrooms are disgusting and rooms are so smelly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Echuca area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$149 - AU$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaEchuca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIVERGUM MOTEL (AU$149): 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Rivergum Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Rivergum Motel?
Nearby attractions include The Great Aussie Beer Shed & Heritage Farm Museum (4.8 km), TwistED Science - Echuca (3.1 km), and Port of Echuca Discovery Centre (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rivergum Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Rivergum Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Rivergum Motel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rivergum Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rivergum Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Johnny & Lyle, Sunago Echuca, and Beechworth Bakery Echuca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rivergum Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Rivergum Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Port of Echuca Discovery Centre (3.3 km), Echuca Wharf (3.3 km), and Moama's Old Telegraph Station (5.0 km).
Is Rivergum Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.