We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Shamrock

Williamson St Cnr Pall Mall, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (175)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 22 hotels in Bendigo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A fixture on the Bendigo social scene since 1854, this grand lady has kept her stunning looks and Victorian adornments. She's a gracious hostess - seductive or entertaining depending on her guests' moods. She carries her age proudly alongside modern luxury and personalised service. Located in the heart of Bendigo with 28 accommodation rooms, 2 different styles of dining, a TAB and sports bar as well as newly renovated Underground New York Style bar, the Hotel Shamrock has more than meets the eye.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
618Reviews4Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 165
  • 261
  • 110
  • 47
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
PDMM_Gourmands wrote a review Feb 2024
Queanbeyan, Australia773 contributions312 helpful votes
This was our second stay. We love this place…the location is fantastic! The rooms are very clean and well appointed. The bed was amongst the most comfortable of any place we’ve stayed at. Ask for a room off the main streets…we learned from our first visit. We had a double room (315) and it was excellent. There is a restaurant and a sports bar attached to the hotel. We enjoyed wine at the sports bar, but didn’t eat there. One can walk anywhere within the CBD. Ask the hotel for discounted parking at the council’s parking garage. We parked on the street and it was safe and just fine. Wifi is reliable and free. We highly recommend this place for its location and great value!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Speak to check-in staff for discounted parking nearby.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Swetts wrote a review Jan 2024
Gladstone, Australia124 contributions33 helpful votes
What a great reception we got. Nothing was a problem with their welcoming. A real heritage hotel. Dinner and breakfast was served with a smile or two. Entertainment on the balcony excellent on a Saturday afternoon. Relaxed atmosphere with plenty to choose from.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
richard o wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia9 contributions
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Shamrock Bendigo. It is centrally located, and there is secure parking in the adjoining council carpark. The rooms are old-world but well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom renovation is excellent, very stylish and functional.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Robyn C wrote a review Sept 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Made an error and booked the wrong month. As a result this lovely establishment is not going to refund me . Had already spent $250 there during the day and really liked the staff. The hierarchy is the problem. Smells like Qantas to me
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book the right date as they won’t refund you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacob Coad, General Manager at Hotel Shamrock
Responded 10 Sept 2023
Hi Rob, As discussed, we won't refund a non-refundable booking, especially when expletives are directed towards our team. Everyone has the choice between refundable & non-refundable terms, pricing reflects this flexibility. Thanks for taking the time to review us with 4-Stars for Value & Location however, appreciate it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Holly C wrote a review Sept 2023
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Stay was marred by dirty linen - make-up, hair and mysterious stains on pillows and sheets. Clearly they weren't changed between guests. Difficult to contact anyone as ridiculously, reception closes at 6pm! Finally in contact with the night manager who was pleasant and did try to rectify the problem by moving us to another room. Second room, which apparently was their best offer to unhappy guests, was still not great, with filthy carpet and yellow stains on towels. A real shame because it's a beautiful, historic hotel. It needs to be restored to its former glory. There is a feeling that they're stripping out the charm and replacing it with soulless, modern details reminiscent of a cheap motel. For example, the room had a beautiful marble fireplace but it was covered awkwardly by a table with a note saying the gas heater still stuck in the middle of it is non functional. The door to the balcony was also boarded up, not used and desperately in need of being restored. Had dinner in the pub, a bit of a cold atmosphere. A roaring wood fire would have been nice in the winter cold. Service was lovely, food was average (a real cheap cut of lamb). We realise the manager was new to the job but there are some changes here that he can make to bring the hotel up to par with its past history and reputation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jeffry b wrote a review June 2023
Essendon, Australia14073 contributions3651 helpful votes
The historic Hotel Shamrock dates from the 1850s, it is an icon of Bendigo. Bendigo was one of the world's richest goldfields, and the Hotel Shamroch reflects that opulence. The Hotel Shamroch is decorated in period style, the rooms are fitted out with bar fridges, electric kettles and comfortable beds. By the way, the bistro serves authentic cuisine., it's well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Guests can store their luggage while they tour the city
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GACASydney_Australia wrote a review May 2023
Gosford, Australia387 contributions266 helpful votes
An imposing hotel with a great location in the heart of Bendigo. Huge room, large ensuite and storage area, beautifully restored and refurbished on the 2nd floor . Overlooked Bendigo's main street, council chambers and parks but very quiet. Easy walk to attractions, shopping, restaurants etc. Enjoyed our meals at bistro and Yardbird Bar, terrific staff in both locations provided amazing service. Adjacent to council parking station - free on weekends. Extended our stay from 1 - 2 nights and planning a return
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Alfred Joseph room, 2nd floor was excellent.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CocoTampa123 wrote a review Feb 2023
Perth, Australia1714 contributions570 helpful votes
We stayed for several nights, room was specious and well presented. The room had a separate sitting are, divided off by a wall, unfortunately thee was only one light switch for all the rooms lights, therefor if one wanted to go to bed and the other read, all the lights in the room were on. Upon arrival we were advised that teh lift was being serviced and not working that day, but the lift didn't work for any of teh three days there. a
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adelee wrote a review Dec 2022
Talbot, Australia1 contribution
+1
Although 'Suite 002' was clean, bed comfortable and receptionist was lovely and situated in central location but paying $215 for the night ...our 'Suite' was so basic and small and price does not include breakfast of any kind nor parking fees. 'Suite' not situated in main building but enter from side street. Loud doof doof music from above and below floors continued until 2am! So noisy! And the street noise is terrible. We were so disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't think even ear plugs would even help!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Keith1504 wrote a review Nov 2022
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom160 contributions108 helpful votes
We visited here for an overnight stay on a Friday. I was a little concerned when we arrived and realised it is on the corner of two very busy roads right in the centre of Bendigo. Furthermore, on the ground floor was a popular pub with live music that evening. I had visions of it being a very noisy night as we tried to sleep. We needn’t have worried though because our room was a haven of peace. The hotel itself is very grand in the old-fashioned sense. It was Bendigo’s first hotel and dates back to the 1850s with a wonderful history that is laid out in detail in the room information. Past guests include royalty, politicians and many famous people. Photos in reception show Charles and Diana visiting in 1983. We had a Spa Suite Room that was magnificent. The Dame Nellie Melba suite. It was very large and airy with high ceilings, very clean and appropriately decorated, spa bath in the ensuite. It felt very solid in a way modern hotels struggle to achieve. Lots of windows (which had been double glazed) and no noise at all from the street. It could not be more central for access to shops, restaurants and all the main attractions. We’ll definitely be choosing the Shamrock again on our next stay in Bendigo.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bendigo area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$141 - AU$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn bendigo, bendigo comfort inn
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGreater BendigoBendigo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SHAMROCK (AU$141): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Bendigo) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Shamrock
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Shamrock?
Nearby attractions include Bendigo Art Gallery (0.4 km), Rosalind Park (0.5 km), and Golden Dragon Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Shamrock?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Shamrock?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Shamrock?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Shamrock?
Conveniently located restaurants include Masons of Bendigo, The Dispensary Bendigo, and Curry Garden.
Is Hotel Shamrock located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Bendigo.
Does Hotel Shamrock offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Shamrock?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fortuna Villa (1.9 km), Eaglehawk Town Hall (5.8 km), and Bendigo Town Hall Tour (0.2 km).
Is Hotel Shamrock accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.