Braeside Garden Cottages
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Braeside Garden Cottages

3 Albion St Golden Point, Ballarat, Victoria 3350 Australia
Traveller (13)
Rose Cottage showing queen bed and kitchenette
Room & Suite (6)
Bedroom/Kitchen/Bathroom area
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 B&Bs in Ballarat
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Two delightful self-contained accommodation areas with the ultimate Bed & Breakfast experience at Braeside Garden Cottages Ballarat. Complete privacy and comfort is assured in the two unique, self-contained, well appointed cottages set amongst enchanting gardens. A double areo spa, antique queen size beds, cosy log fires & many other features. Situated close to centre of town, Sovereign Hill.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint

Location

3 Albion St Golden Point, Ballarat, Victoria 3350 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
Avalon Airport
74.9 km
See all flights
Melbourne Airport
87.5 km
See all flights
29Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 7
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mike Kathryn R wrote a review Jan 2020
Khancoban, Australia55 contributions32 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Advertised as 4 star accommodation. Whilst it was a pleasant room we were disappointed to see that the front main door was not lockable, and the bathroom door could only be kept closed with a poorly fitted (secured with one screw) barrel lock.
Although advertised as having Wi-Fi this was only available from a "hot spot" near the front door. We had to stand with the front door open in 40+ degree heat to access.
Although advertised to have a range of herbal teas, only black tea available.
Couch low, saggy and uncomfortable. Not suitable for someone with joint issues. Overall the cottage was dusty.
Spa was pleasant. Bed comfortable. Stained glass Windows lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue M wrote a review Feb 2022
18 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cottage is quaint but disappointingly didn’t live it up to the the description purchased.
Our package stated spa products provided. No shampoo, conditioner & the only spa product was a face mask…no oils or moisturiser.
I had to ask for WiFi password but it did not work.
Most disappointed that there was no extra toilet roll.
Also no recycling bins..everything goes into 1 bin.
Good location but make sure you take EVERYTHING you need.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Take everything you require including toilet paper.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from E M, Owner at Braeside Garden Cottages
Responded 30 Apr 2022
Hi Sue as per our advertisment we do not supply shampoo but some very lovely spa products. The wifi password always works so not sure what you mean. i suspect you didnt type it properly which is a shame. we have high speed wifi . we actually have three recycling bins. (six bins in total) they are often around the back because we collect the rubbish ourselves. Unfortunately Ballarat wont allow glass in the recylcing bins. I'm glad i was able to accommodate you notwithstanding your voucher had expired and you had high season time which we do not provide normally to people on discounted vouchers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lionel K wrote a review Dec 2021
Melbourne, Australia51 contributions32 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Rose Cottage is in a delightful garden setting in a quiet area. It is very private and lots of light though the leaf light windows. It is spacious inside but lacking in small important touches. No shampoo or conditioner or bubble bath for spa provided. No tissues or matches for candles. There is a coffee plunger but no coffee for the plunger. It would be great to have more milk.
Also there is no compendium of local details or instructions, it appears no wifi although our mobiles worked for this.
The shower is very unpleasant with stained mould on the grouting inside and outside of shower.
The whole place is tired looking.
The bed was comfortable. The Spa is a nice addition.
Walking distance to coffee shop and The Grape Hotel ( nice food). The aircon is noisy but very effective.
Otherwise a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking off street Very close to CBD 1.4 kms Walking distance to Drive Cafe an The Grape Hotel -...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paul p wrote a review Apr 2022
Greater Melbourne, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the two cottages for 2 nights and after the first night we complained about the “blankets” that were used for sheets, which the owner said were American velour sheets. Not conducive for summer. Owner said she would give us cotton sheets for us to put on the bed. We also complained about other things, cobwebs, shower mould, dirty couch which was low and saggy, no vehicle access to one of the cottages to unload luggage. Very overgrown garden. Not as photos indicated. Mismatched crockery. Owner did not welcome us. Had to call for the internet connection. Anyway the owner said why are you staying the second night and we said we wouldn’t if possible and then she said she would give us a refund. Have this in writing and to now not be given, In fact the owner hung up on us when we queried it. Stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from E M, Owner at Braeside Garden Cottages
Responded 30 Apr 2022
the person who stayed before you stated "what a delightful place to stay". the people after you gave glowing online reviews. in fact the person checking out today texted just then and said ""thank you again was lovely" . Sadly you cant please everyone. i hope you enjoy your stays elsewhere but my cottages are not for you and unfortunately you will not be able to stay here again, you have uploaded photos of a cottage you didnt stay in and you attended my property and took the photographs last week. Trespassing and actually entering my cottages is not acceptable. You also did not stay in Summer as you state but well into Autumn so your suggestion the sheets were not suitable for the time of year is inaccurate. Many guests love my sheets and ask where they can buy them but i did offer to supply cotton sheets for the following night. You advised me that you wanted a refund and your wife said she would be coming banging on my door for one. Your complaint was that no shampoo was provided and your wife was yelling at me insisting that the web page said that (which it does not). I showed you the spa products that i do provide. I have a self contained cottage and my advertisements set out what is provided. Cottage gardens are not for everyone but that does not mean it is "overgrown". Have a good day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer M wrote a review Apr 2019
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
From the photos Braeside looks charming and from the outside it all looks good if obscured a bit by the overgrown garden - which has a charm of its own. Unfortunately there is a lack of attention to - I'd like to say details but it is the basics that are missing here. I rang the cottage number to explain my partner's mother was dying and to see if I could arrange another date - making it clear that if I couldn't I was not expecting a refund. No answer. I rang again. No answer. We make the trip and then ring the bell to be greeted by a woman who told me she had left messages for me 'on the number you booked with'. I told her I had received no calls or texts but she was adamant. So we got the code to the room - then I get a text saying that she had dialled the wrong number. Easy mistake but her manner was really off-putting and unwelcoming. So we go inside and settle in for our three night stay. And soon I see (from reading over past reviews!)that we are just another in the recent line of guests who dealt with limited and mismatched crockery and cutlery, not enough of anything, including toilet paper. No tissues either. We had to ask for extra toilet paper and towels - only two thin and small towels provided - the ones we got when we asked were the bath sheets. The spa we didn't use - looked really uninviting with just a couple of sample sized satchels for bath and a pump pack that was nearly empty of bubble bath. And the bed. Oh. My. God. Purple velour sheets. Red satin pillow cases. Awful. The pictures show white linen. And then there was the waterproof mattress protector that crinkled and crackled. We debated taking it off but were too concerned about what it may have been protecting us from! Then there were the 'details' of the mouldy shower screen, the rusting bin by the toilet and absolutely no welcome pack of any kind - just a single prima size pack of milk in the fridge. There was also no information booklet on the cottages, just a generic 'what's on' in Ballarat. The sad thing is about this place is the bones are there and all it would take is for the owners or host to stand in the room for a spell and think 'what would my guests like/need/expect?' Or spend a night in it themselves - they'd soon find the 'gaps'! Overall the place was clean but unloved and in a competitive market with airbnb hosts going that extra mile they need to lift.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nola B wrote a review Jan 2016
Bay of Islands, New Zealand15 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked the cottage over 11 months ago and was promised a secure dog friendly garden. Arrived to find the rules had been changed without notice.Owner had noisy constantly yapping dogs. Security was poor , no lock on front door, inadequate blankets/ Donna for a cold town and the place was generally run down. Owner was grumpy to deal with.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BraesideCottages, Manager at Braeside Garden Cottages
Responded 10 Jan 2016
Unfortunately the previous owner does not agree with your recollections and as your dog is six months old it's not possible for you to have booked with her. As I advised you your dog was simply too large for the cottage and our website makes it clear you need to ask permission. Nola and Don Blainey I was away at the time of your stay and have never actually spoken to either of you but you need to respect the rights of future guests. It wasn't acceptable to allow your dog on furniture. It's also not acceptable to leave all your dog droppings on the nature strip. After you left it took four hours to clean the cottage which has never occurred before. Dog hair was everywhere. On cupboards in the bath where you apparently let your dog sleep on appliances and on chairs. It was really appalling. What was worse was the fact your dog was kept all day attached to a verandah post of my own home. It was distressed. I have had a dog friendly policy because people have pets as part of their family. To imagine you would just abandon your dog so you could go out all day as per your email to me is not acceptable as a dog is highly distressed by this and as I advised you you needed to take your pet elsewhere as it created problems for other people with its barking. Your comment re not having a locked door is not true. You were provided with a key and I have an email to you advising re same. I also take issue with your comment that our property is rundown. On 23 December it had its biannual audit and was again awarded four stars. I'm very disappointed in your comments and as a result of my experiences with you I will no longer allow pets at the property. In the past people have been grateful and respectful and treated their pets appropriately as well as the needs of future guests but you were dirty and disrespectful. I have two visitors books full of wonderful reviews and I try and give guests a lovely experience. Shame on you for your malicious words.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Von D wrote a review Feb 2019
South Australia, Australia189 contributions46 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for 3 days. On arrival we had trouble getting down the drive due to all the overhanging foliage. The thorns caught my blouse.

Entering it looked mismatched but pretty. There was no cooking dishes, odd matched glasses. One wine glass, no champagne glasses. The fridge had iced up so you could not get any food in the freezer.

The spa looked good in the alcove but only one side of the jets worked.

There was no shampoo or conditioner or soap in the bathroom. Only 2 toilet rolls for three days. No teatowel. Only 2 bath towels. If you offer a spa bath there should be enough towels to spa and have a shower. Some of the DVDs available didn't work.

And the horrid red satin sheets were awful and so dated. The shower screen needs resealing as mould is evident.

The pot belly was a nice touch.

If they can get themselves up to date on what people want it could become a lovely spot.

However at the moment it is just a granny flat in a back yard

It looks like they've tried but have not got it right yet.

However we did love looking around Sovereign Hill and Ballarat.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask before going.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from copycatfromballarat, Owner at Braeside Garden Cottages
Responded 6 Aug 2019
I am sorry you rated the service as “ terrible” with one star. I actually think you got five star service from me. You didn’t like the exoensive high end products Israeli mud soap the body butter the salt scrub or the mask and I removed them immediately and gave you a cake of Palmolive as requested. You wanted bubble bath and were very angry about this and against my better judgement as it doesn’t belong in a spa I went and bought you some. You were angry as there were two red wine glasses only and you wanted champagne and water glasses too. I immediately accommodated your requests courteously and speedily. You forgot to mention you complained there was no microwave dish and I got you mine as well and noticed when I put it in your kitchen that the microwave dish was actually already there in the microwave although when you departed it departed too. we do ask that people do not take our crockery. Unfortunately when you departed with our dish you also left every single item unwashed in the sink and my cleaner spent an hour washing everything including the champagne glasses the water glasses the wine glasses the greasy three day old plates and cups and saucers. We ask you to please do your dishes and on that occasion I used my discretion not to impose s cleaning fee. The difficulty with supplying too many fishes is some people then sadly lack the courtesy and responsibility to clean up after themselves as per terms and conditions.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stuart H wrote a review Oct 2016
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia30 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night in this quaint little cottage which is set back along the side of another residence which is the reception for the B&B. The proprietor was there when we arrived and showed us where most things were. I struggled a little bit to get the TV going and had to ask her to have a look at it which wasn't an issue for her. The information book was a little bit hard to find. Breakfast provisions and quality of furnishings and overall comfort of stay was good. There is a very large spa that commands centre stage in a large bay window area. Spa was great except the tap was too close to edge of spa and I discovered water was running off onto the floor behind. I literally had to use a plate from the cupboard and hold it under flow of water to direct water into spa. The room has a great gas heater or an alternative air conditioner if required. We used the gas heater and it warmed the room beautifully. Only disappointment was there was no instructions where to leave the key on departure as reception was locked up when we left at 10.00am the next day. I rang the mobile number on the signage outside and got a rather annoyed woman who owned the business two years prior! The kitchen sink had been reported (in the guest book) a month ago as leaking and dripped all night which was very frustrating. The issue with the spa tap had also been reported but not fixed. There also appeared to be a dog living in the back yard of the main residence that woke us regularly with yapping and then full on barking at 1.30 am.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from copycatfromballarat, Guest Relations Manager at Braeside Garden Cottages
Responded 11 Oct 2016
thanks for your review. Re the tv someone had turned off the powerpoint at the wall so glad it wasn't any more technical than that or I may have struggled myself! I have had the kitchen tap fixed already with a new washer but I will be replacing the tap this month. re the spa tap this will only splash back if its on at full pelt. its a bit of a design issue as it needs to be further from the side of the spa bath but its been the same tap for many years. sorry I should have explained to leave the key where you found it. re the dogs I am so so sorry! yes we forgot to bring them inside until they barked in the middle of the night to tell us which we immediately did! Hope to see you again some day
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joan L wrote a review June 2016
1 contribution3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cottage was well furnished but no extra effort made by host to make it special. Would have been nice if gas wood fire was on for our arrival, was freezing. Not enough bubble mixture supplied for spa bath. Very basic cereal and bread provided for breakfast and not enough. We were disappointed and won't be staying again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BraesideCottages, Owner at Braeside Garden Cottages
Responded 27 June 2016
Hi Joan I contacted you twice by email because I did not understand your reference to only having toast and cereal for breakfast. As I mentioned in my emails it's important to businesses that guests accurately provide factual information because people reading your review would be mislead. I'm guessing you snacked on the yogurts and fruit that were in the fridge as well because the empty containers were left behind. That was part of your breakfast. I provide per person per day stayed one yoghurt one yarravalley fruit tub two kinds of cereals for a serve each day and two slices of toast per person. I provide a selection of spreads and butters herbal tea loose tea and teabags instant coffee filtered coffee and in winter hot chocolate. I also provide fresh milk. I have always found this to be very plentiful and usually there is food left over I throw out. I hope you find accommodation you prefer n the future and I wish you well Sorry about the spa but you only are supposed to use a small quantity or it overflows due to the aeration.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sunshinetom wrote a review Feb 2014
Melbourne, Australia48 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights from Saturday to Monday, the location is very good, close to the city centre and still very quiet. It was a great cottage, we stayed in the Rose Cottage. An awesome decorated cottage with a great spa, very comfy bed and a gas heater. We had a very good time. Continental Breakfast was provided. All you need for a romantic getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Sue M wrote a tip Feb 2022
18 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take everything you require including toilet paper."
Read full review
Lionel K wrote a tip Dec 2021
Melbourne, Australia51 contributions32 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking off street Very close to CBD 1.4 kms Walking distance to Drive Cafe an The Grape Hotel - both are very good"
Read full review
Von D wrote a tip Feb 2019
South Australia, Australia189 contributions46 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask before going."
Read full review
448beryl wrote a tip Apr 2016
Victor Harbor, Australia101 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had the Turret room which was a little tight to drive into, but both are very suitable."
Read full review
aidor wrote a tip Oct 2015
Newcastle171 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rose Cottage is a beautiful room in a lovely setting"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ballarat area.
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaBallarat
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRAESIDE GARDEN COTTAGES: Reviews (Ballarat) - Photos of B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Braeside Garden Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Braeside Garden Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Art Gallery of Ballarat (1.2 km), Lydiard Street (1.1 km), and Sovereign Hill (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Braeside Garden Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Braeside Garden Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Braeside Garden Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Braeside Garden Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Lekker, Harry Limes, and L'Espresso.
Is Braeside Garden Cottages located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Ballarat.
Are there any historical sites close to Braeside Garden Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sovereign Hill (0.9 km), Ballaarat Mechanics' Institute (1.0 km), and Harold 'pompey' Elliot Statue (1.4 km).
Is Braeside Garden Cottages accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ballarat HotelsBallarat Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BallaratHotels near Braeside Garden Cottages
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars