We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

593 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 588: English reviews
London
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was a wonderful surprise to find such a charming hotel during a recent work trip to Ballarat. I always expect a reasonably high standard from Mercure, but my expectations were far exceeded here which has moved me to write this praising review. The rooms are set way from the main reception building peppered around the beautifully maintained grounds, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baron_Von_Pineapple
Simon M, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Baron von Pineapple, Thank you so much for the great review of Mercure Ballarat. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ballarat. Regards, Simon Monk General Manager

Hamilton, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

With a 4 hour distance between my partner and I, Ballarat is our meeting place when we decide to meet 'Half way' and this hotel is our choice for Ballarat, we keep returning. Upon arriving, I was welcomed by the lovely receptionist, Kivi. She was extremely friendly and coincidently, She remembered us from our previous stay 4 months prior. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malea26
Simon M, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Malea26, Thanks for the great review. We pride ourselves on our friendly service so it is nice to read comments like yours. I have shared your review with Kivi and all of our team and we very much look forward to welcoming you both back again soon. Regards, Simon Monk General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayer in a lodge room. Very nice grounds, nice room. Everything you really need for a short stay. Free water and WiFi is always good. Glasses in bathroom were very dirty though. Was really the only drawback. Breakfast was good. Small buffet, but a good selection. Overall a short but nice stay.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 629daniel
Simon M, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear 629daniel, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Your comments have been shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Ballarat again. Regards, Simon Monk General Manager

South Riana, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Mercure Ballarat between 4-9 January. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. The room was extremely tired looking at first sight, we were staying in a Loft Room that slept 4 with a king size bed upstairs and pull out couch downstairs. There were only 3 towels and 2 cups to share between 4 people.......not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
Simon M, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Neil J, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, whilst your stay should have been enjoyable I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and for this I truly apologise. It is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve our standards I have shared your comments...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

First the positives: - 1. Hotel was at the grounds of the dancing concert that we my daughters were in and the conference area was large and well set up; 2. Plenty of parking; 3. Spacious room - we booked the two bedroom "Mews" Apartment and there was plenty of room for 5 of us; 4. $50 for 5 to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonpb1974aus
Simon M, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jason, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Ballarat. Your feedback has been taken on board and has been shared with our team. We are currently undergoing an extensive improvement program which includes seventeen brand new rooms coming online in the coming months. As part of this process there has been some...

Victoria
Reviewed 1 week ago

A magnificent private setting, wonderful room, superb facilities and beautiful gardens and surrounds to wander through. Reception was terrific, Bern the wine expert was fabulously informed and made great recommendations. I will never stay anywhere else in Ballarat from now on. A fabulous place to stay, easy parking...in fact everything was easy. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
Simon M, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Many thanks for the great review! Your comments have been shared to Bern and all of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Simon Monk General Manager

australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this on the day and staff in the phone and in person where so helpful friendly and personable that they truly helped make our brief stay in their city memorable. We stayed in the Mews apartments which was exceptional value for money including breakfast. We walked to sovereign hill and had all that we needed. Breakfast and dinner were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jays4
Simon M, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jays4, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Ballarat. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the friendly service that we are proud of. We hope to welcome you back again when you next visit Ballarat. Regards, Simon Monk General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely place to stay. Everything was very good here. The room, restaurant and facilities were excellent. We had an initial issue with the laundry facilities but once pointed out to hotel management the issue was very quickly resolved. Very friendly and professional staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugo A
Simon M, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Hugo, Thank you for the great review of Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Simon Monk General Manager

Springwood, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Room was very clean and quite large. Service from staff both at reception and in the restaurant was very good. Breakfast was excellent. Our bed was comfortable. We would happily stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alandou
Simon M, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review

Dear Alandou, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure Ballarat again soon. Regards, Simon Monk General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Smooth check in and check out. Allocated 'quiet room' at the end as requested (with one of us recovering from an operation and using this location to break up the drive home). Ample parking. Grounds were beautiful and well maintained however small pool had leaf debris and with no shade was not inviting from our perspective. Dinner was good in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SwapSuitsForSwimmers
Simon M, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure Ballarat again soon. Sincerely, Simon Monk General Manager

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
2.5 km away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
183 reviews
2.8 km away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#3 of 32 in Ballarat
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
2.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
2.1 km away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in Ballarat
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are looking for Ballarat accommodation, the Mercure Ballarat is ideally located and offers the perfect balance of both business and leisure facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre

Address: 613 Main Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Ballarat Lodge & Convention Centre)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Price Range: $118 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ballarat Hotel And Convention Centre Victoria
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#13 Business Hotel in Ballarat
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles jasonpb1974aus, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They're all good rooms and all superbly located”
 of 5 bubbles 258AndrewA, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 64 was great”
 of 5 bubbles hugoa785, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden view down the back”
 of 5 bubbles KiviZhang, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for garden view room”
 of 5 bubbles Dazza-R53, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay