We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Peppinella Motel

Show Prices
#24 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Peppinella Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Crib Point
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have stayed here a few times over the years but this time was a bit surprised. Whilst the room was still clean and comfortable, the grounds and surrounds are in a bit of disrepair and in need of a lot of love. Has a new owner from my last stay so that may explain the change.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kidgell12
Mount Barker, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Peppinella does not present well when you drive up (dated, needs clean and paint job and garden surrounds need attention) However rooms have been tastefully upgraded with good facilities. A very comfortable stay. 3 nights. Not too far from shops, amenities (2kms). 5 kms from Ballarat Central. Easy drive. Manager was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LES S
Handson Y, Manager at Peppinella Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We will work hard in the future for the the gardening and painting job etc.

Berkeley Vale, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Only stayed in Ballarat to break our journey. Motel very ordinary and peculiar set up of no wash basin the the bathroom but a general sink in the bedroom for everything. I know the No Smoking rules in rooms but when the smoker is outside your door and the smoke is wafting in day and night it is not pleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We booked in for several nights but left after one. It was freezing cold the heater did not work. Extra blanket supplied were very old. The shower room was old and dirty looking very basic. The net curtains were torn the whole place needed updated. The positive thing was the bed was comfortable, there were no fly screens on door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pattiesud
Handson Y, Manager at Peppinella Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and sorry to hear your bad experience here. For the air-conditioner, I think it was not user friendly but it is working as Ballarat is so cold in winter while it is impossible to stay without heater. Please remember the reception is always standby for help.

Reviewed 4 October 2016

Looks like it's been refurbished, lovely clean room. Manager was fantastic and allowed me to check in early while my partner was unexpectedly in hospital for the night! Pool was overflowing but we were in the middle of the big wet

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Manager very helpful but motel needed a lot of updating. Family room fine for one night and electric blankets. Heater didn't work .Manager put in floor heater. Shower needed a big upgrade so we didn't use it. Good cheap price for stay and breakfast was value, but we didn't have cooked one. Ok for overnight stay as we were mostly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 348elsie
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute booking for us and we needed somewhere cheap and clean. We had one extra adult when we arrived and reception quickly and virtually no extra cost gave us a bigger room. Beds had electric blankets (thankfully as it was Winter) and were comfortable with good pillows. My only fault was that the bathroom could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in family room. Blanket had stains, vanity basin (scratched, old) and kitchenette in same room with no cupboards/drawers for crockery/cutlery, no toaster supplied, toilet seat old and stained, front blind broken, very sub-standard, dusty and dirty. Cutlery bags were old and reused, air conditioner not working very well, had to sit with blankets over us to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Val D
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I arrived at eight and got straight o work on my laptop, around 10 pm pulled the sheets back to fall into bed and hey bingo.....dirty stained sheets... I then turned an extra light on and found the pillowcases also stained. Rang reception and when the lady came in she said "this is horrible and to think I have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hammo1959
Handson Y, General Manager at Peppinella Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear this bad experience in our motel. I was on leave when you were here and this was true according to what the relief manager told me. We would be very careful with the issue in the future. For the refund I am sure that money had been returned to your account as we promised over the phone...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Stayed one night. The room was okay without being anything special. WiFi internet was intermittent, going on and off a few times during the evening. When first turning the hot water on in the shower it sounded like a brass band was hiding in the wall, glad it wasn't late at night :) Overall I would rate the motel as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GJM-Melbourne

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
5.0 km away
Comfort Inn Main Lead
Comfort Inn Main Lead
#27 of 32 in Ballarat
81 reviews
7.0 km away
Victoriana Motor Inn
Victoriana Motor Inn
#17 of 32 in Ballarat
77 reviews
5.2 km away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Bakery Hill Motel
4.9 km away
Bell Tower Inn
Bell Tower Inn
#19 of 32 in Ballarat
124 reviews
4.3 km away
The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Peppinella Motel

Address: 102 Smythes Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3356, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Price Range: $102 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peppinella Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Peppinella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppinella Motel Ballarat, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peppinella Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all ground floor, in a row”
 of 5 bubbles 916less, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Hammo1959, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in rooms 7 and 8.”
 of 5 bubbles 661traceyb661, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Family room had two bedroom a room 13”
 of 5 bubbles villareme, 31 May 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet as it is set back from a main road.”
 of 5 bubbles micheller861, 18 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay