We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments

Save
Share
291 - 295 Main St, Bairnsdale, Victoria 3875 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 23/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 23/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 13 in Bairnsdale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the centre of Bairnsdale, walking distance to shops and the train station. All rooms have opening windows and some have courtyards (you can request one when booking, subject to availability). We have upstairs but most are downstairs rooms. We have budget standard rooms or beautifully and modern newer deluxe rooms. Open 7 days. 24 Hour check in available if advised prior to arrival. Ample parking can accommodate trailers, boats, small trucks. On-site restaurant that opens for breakfast 7 days a week between 7 am-9 am.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Radio
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French
219Reviews1Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 101
  • 18
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shannon M wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Absolutely disgraceful customer service, pretty much got told that sounds like a you problem not a me problem after they had canceled our booking without any notice what so ever. Will never be coming back here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Kali H wrote a review Mar 2022
Geelong, Australia19 contributions3 helpful votes
Shameful Customer Service! On arrival on Friday night 11th March 2022 (Labour Day long weekend), we went to check in and it was brought to our attention after driving six hours to be here that our rooms booked for Friday and Saturday night, where not in the system! After showing the confirmation booking email sent by management back in January 2022 (which I received after calling and booking in the four rooms personally) with the apparent “manager at the time”. They managed to find my booking on “their old system”. That was when the original man at the front desk called whom I’m assuming was his wife to come to the front office, she asked why and said loudly on speaker “Well tell them to leave there’s nothing we can do about it”. She then realized she was being listened to by myself and quickly ended the conversation. When she arrived to the office, her tone and mannerism towards us was disgusting. The words I’m sorry never left her mouth! As she slithered back out the back, her husband found us four rooms to book into for the Friday night. It was now 7.30pm! These were at full cost and not the same rooms we originally booked! As for the rest of the weekend in his words, “There’s nothing I can do” and insisted he was “stressed” by the situation… NO ATTEMPT was made to fix the situation, these incompetent people had caused. The confirmation email sent by them also stood for nothing. Would not recommend, do not trust there booking system, ability’s, customer service or general human decency for that matter.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Lisa070660 wrote a review Dec 2021
Melbourne, Australia194 contributions127 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights in an updated queen room & it was excellent. Kettle, microwave, toaster & very strong wifi. In an excellent location, close to everything. Friendly owners. Restaurant does an excellent, reasonably priced breakfast. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to all.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Foodie wrote a review Nov 2021
Melbourne, Australia15 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed two nights. A lovely clean room in a great location near the town and shops. The hosts, Marie and Jean-Pierre are very hospitable. Had a delicious cooked breakfast which was delivered on time to my room.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean-Paul B, General Manager at Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Hi Marie Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Your comments will assist us greatly in our quest to continuously improve the service we offer our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Mitchel on Main when you are next in Bairnsdale. Regards
Read more
Malcolm Hunt wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I very much enjoyed my stay at Mitchell on Main. I was in Bairnsdale for work meetings for two days. It was a very convenient location a stone's throw from the train station and close to all I needed in the main town. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. room service was very good and on time. The weather was dreadfully cold but the room heated and a warm and comfortable bed. Jean-Paul and Marie are wonderful and friendly hosts.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean-Paul B, General Manager at Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments
Responded 7 Aug 2021
Hi Malcolm Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you felt comfortable and that your stay was wonderful. We were happy to have you as a guest and look forward to welcoming you back at the Michell on Main when you are next in Bairnsdale. Kind regards
Read more
Aidan B wrote a review June 2021
Frankston, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed here for 3 weeks for business, and had an absolute fantastic time. The room was great and modern with air-conditioning & heating. It also had a nice big comfy bed with an electric blanket! Jean-Paul and Marie are definitely the most friendly and welcoming people I've met in the hotel industry! They were so helpful and the room-service breakfasts were absolutely fantastic everytime! I would definitely stay here again!! Thanks again Jean-Paul & Marie! You made my stay so enjoyable, and thank you both for the history lessons! Cheers
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean-Paul B, General Manager at Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments
Responded 28 June 2021
Hi Aidan Thank you for your very positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Mitchell on Main. We are delighted to learn that you had a fantastic time with us and that you felt at home during the three weeks stay. We will definitely share your feedback with all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your make your next trip to Bairnsdale. Regards
Read more
katamarang wrote a review May 2021
Drouin, Australia19 contributions10 helpful votes
I stayed at Mitchell on Main while in town for work, for 3 nights. The room was a little dated but had everything I needed - a bed that wasn't too hard or soft, a nice hot shower, an electric blanket on the bed and extra blanket in the cupboard for those really chilly nights. To top it all off, the couple that run it are just so lovely. Would definitely stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Apollo117 wrote a review May 2021
Melbourne, Australia21 contributions7 helpful votes
Nice & clean room, good location, friendly manager at check in. The only issue I have which sadly isn’t really the motels fault is people smoking outside their rooms and the smell comes into the room and it’s extremely annoying. Whilst everyone has the right to smoke those who do need to be more considerate to those who don’t and smoke well away from rooms. It would be nice if the motel fixed some way so the doors don’t enable so much smell from the smoke to come into the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Lauren wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions
Stayed here on overnight trip. Very expensive for condition and amenities. TV only free to air, very small. Only 2x shampoos (zero conditioner, soap etc) this is for a 4 person room. Generally quite old/dated and bed uncomfortable. To top this all off the front door had a large gap to let the kfc fumes to seep in and make everything smell like you have been working the fryer all night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Crackles wrote a review Mar 2021
13 contributions2 helpful votes
After a unexpected and flying trip to Bairnsdale. We rang many hotels (between 9:30-10) with no one bothering to answer. We then proceeded down the main road looking for somewhere to stay. After a few failed attempts and accidentally disturbing a domestic else where we stumbled across Mitchell on main. Right of the bat we felt safe. Even better they had a room for us and and the very tired kids despite for a bed. Room was very clean and staff friendly, and welcoming. They showed great pride In their work abs premises. We will be back. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean-Paul B, General Manager at Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments
Responded 16 Mar 2021
Dear Guest We thank you for your feedback regarding your last stay with us at the Mitchell on Main. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay. Your comments are very important to us in our quest to continuously improve on the services that we offer our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel through Bairnsdale.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 89 - USD 99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn Mitchell on Main
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGippslandBairnsdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments?
Nearby attractions include St Mary's Catholic Church (0.4 km), East Gippsland All Abilities Playground (1.2 km), and Bairnsdale Camping and Outdoors (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Earth & Soul Pizza, The Main Hotel, and The Grand Terminus Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Bairnsdale.
Does Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.