Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments

291 - 295 Main St, Bairnsdale, Victoria 3875 Australia
Traveller (33)
Room and Bed
Room & Suite (45)
Pool Area
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#3 of 7 motels in Bairnsdale
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the centre of Bairnsdale, walking distance to shops and the train station. All rooms have opening windows and some have courtyards (you can request one when booking, subject to availability). We have budget standard rooms (some of which are upstairs) or newer deluxe rooms. Open 7 days, 24 Hour check in available if advised prior to arrival. Ample parking can accommodate trailers, boats, small trucks.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Minibar
Refrigerator
Radio
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

291 - 295 Main St, Bairnsdale, Victoria 3875 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
Melbourne Airport
245.4 km
See all flights
226Reviews1Q+A48Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 102
  • 19
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
WallisJg wrote a review Mar 2021
Melbourne, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room 26 should be avoided unless you sleep like the dead. Everyone else should bring earplugs and for some, a mattress topper. It is about 10 mtrs from this compact room to the Princes Highway and has a locked interconnecting door to another room right next to the bed. When we weren’t listening to the roar of trucks and cars, we were an unwilling 3rd party to next doors phone conversations and her crashing about in her room. The mattress felt flat and old and was way too hard to be comfortable for us however we get that some don’t mind a firm bed. The skylight and roof above the toilet had a lot of spider webs with dead insects stuck in them but overall the rest of the room and linens were clean, as were the grounds and pool area. When we booked, this was the last room left in the whole town. We would have reconsidered overnighting in Bairnsdale had we of known prior that our lucky last room score meant we would be sleeping on the Highway with the neighbours noise adding to the incredibly noisy road ambience. Am sure the non connecting, renovated rooms away from the highway are much better according to all the other reviews, so be sure to book those if you can and you’ll have a great stay no doubt. We just lucked out on a very busy long weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oldjack wrote a review Dec 2020
Greater Melbourne, Australia
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel provided a stop-over on the way from one point to another and is not a place you would want to spend more that a night. Its small rooms were basic but clean inside but that is about all. The rooms have only one window facing the car park and overall reasonable value and a good location but not a place you want to spend much time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Apollo117 wrote a review May 2021
Melbourne, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice & clean room, good location, friendly manager at check in.

The only issue I have which sadly isn’t really the motels fault is people smoking outside their rooms and the smell comes into the room and it’s extremely annoying. Whilst everyone has the right to smoke those who do need to be more considerate to those who don’t and smoke well away from rooms. It would be nice if the motel fixed some way so the doors don’t enable so much smell from the smoke to come into the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren wrote a review Mar 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here on overnight trip. Very expensive for condition and amenities. TV only free to air, very small. Only 2x shampoos (zero conditioner, soap etc) this is for a 4 person room. Generally quite old/dated and bed uncomfortable. To top this all off the front door had a large gap to let the kfc fumes to seep in and make everything smell like you have been working the fryer all night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sian S wrote a review Oct 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel last night and was extremely disappointed. Besides being made to pay a $150 bond on the room (which I’ve never done or heard of) which was nearly as much as the room, I was made to wait in reception at checkout so the owners could check the room so I could be refunded my bond money. ( 2 mothers, one of which is pregnant and a 9 year old child stayed in the room, we weren’t going to do any damage). The reception staff were rude and the rooms where dirty. Also more concerning is my ID was not checked or rego taken, now given the circumstances of the current COVID-19 pandemic this is quite concerning. I feel if my ID was checked I wouldn’t of been charged the $150 bond and made to wait at checkout as I do look younger then I am.
Will not be staying again and will not be recommending this place to friends or family’s.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Milner, Owner at Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review. A very common practice in the hospitality industry is to take security bonds if a guest cannot provide a valid credit card. It is a universal practice and not one that we singled you out on, as it is the same policy we adopt for any guest that does not provide a valid credit card. Please note that it is also stated in the Booking.com conditions where your reservation originated from. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms as testified by so many reviews. As guest numbers are low due to Covid-19 we have 2 staff members on Jobkeeper who have meticulously spring cleaned and maintained each and every room until they are sparkling. To say your room was dirty is simply not true and completely demoralizing for the staff. I personally checked you in and out for your stay and remember having an engaging conversation with you even to the extent of discussing that you were looking forward to having a spit roast with your family that evening. I believe I was in no way rude to you. Please accept my apology if you felt singled out over a policy that is a very common practice in the hospitality industry, this was certainly not my intention, but it is unacceptable to make incorrect comments that reflect badly on this motel which I believe needed to be clarified.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen E wrote a review Jan 2024
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here several times and found it excellent. Cannot be said for my latest experience. Maybe under new management since last visit but there is now no restaurant. Upon entering the room the notice on the microwave states that you have to wash your own dishes or else you would be charged a cleaning fee. Reception closed by 7.00pm so we could not get replenished coffee and milk etc. washed dishes but no t-towel to dry. Left at 7.15 in the morning and again office locked. Could not discuss my concerns
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mitchell On Main, Owner at Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Hi Karen, I’m sorry your experience with us was not what you expected. We do have open and close times and after these hours we are always reachable on the mobile number printed to the front door. There is ample tea, coffee and sugars supplied for a one-night stay, rooms are serviced and restocked every day at the guest’s request. Restaurants can be located all throughout our beautiful town of Bairnsdale with not a short selection to choose from. As for our restaurant it has not been open since 2021 (covid-19) all good things come to those who wait and we shall do just that! We hope this will not deter you from returning again another time. Kind Regards, Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janiharr wrote a review Mar 2020
Carlton, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst clean and comfortable was very noisy at the front of the property, not sure we would bother staying again. Security could also be an issue as the door could easily be forced. The included continental breakfast featured "no name" cereals.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
389glenne wrote a review Jan 2020
Moe, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at some average, and some very average, country hotels lately so this was a very welcome surprise. The hotel room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was very quiet. The room had a small fridge, with a small mini bar, a table and chairs, couch and a nice big window(although the view was average. The included breakfast was basic but it could be upgraded. Bacon and eggs on toast was $14. At the time we stayed, the restaurant was closed for dinner.
The hotel has a nice pool, that was full of kids, with a table and chairs under cover where mum and dad can keep an eye on the kids. I would happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We had a room at the rear away from the main road.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
katamarang wrote a review May 2021
Drouin, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Mitchell on Main while in town for work, for 3 nights. The room was a little dated but had everything I needed - a bed that wasn't too hard or soft, a nice hot shower, an electric blanket on the bed and extra blanket in the cupboard for those really chilly nights. To top it all off, the couple that run it are just so lovely. Would definitely stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian H wrote a review Dec 2020
Melbourne, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfy, clean, spacious room with a king size bed, fridge, TV, and good shower. There is also a swimming pool for guest use. Pleasant, welcoming hosts, and a superb breakfast of eggs benedict, served on English muffins, washed down with a pot of English breakfast tea. A good find - will definitely make this our regular stopover when traveling further east. Thanks chef, it was the eggs and friendly welcome that made a real difference!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Try for a room away from the main road
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean-Paul B, General Manager at Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Hi Adrian Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Mitchell on Main. I am delighted that you felt welcome and also enjoyed your breakfast. I will pass on your comments to the chef and look forward to welcoming you once more when you next travel through Bairnsdale.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Mitchell o
Bairnsdale, Australia
Hi Graeme, I'm not sure if you still need my reply as the above reviews are quite accurate and amazingly helpful. In regards to parking, we have quite a few spots to put a car and a boat whether you would like to keep them attached or unhook. We also have family rooms with a queen in 1 room and 2 singles in the other (they do fill up quick at this time of year though) or twin shares of a queen and a single we have quite a few. I hope this helps. Regards, Kathryn
Adrian H wrote a tip Dec 2020
Melbourne, Australia53 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try for a room away from the main road"
Read full review
Mike K wrote a tip Feb 2020
Darwin, Australia64 contributions71 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and get a room towards rear of complex. The main road can be a little noisy at night."
Read full review
389glenne wrote a tip Jan 2020
Moe, Australia89 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had a room at the rear away from the main road."
Read full review
wengen bound wrote a tip Nov 2019
Burwood East, Australia84 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Front rooms have traffic noise so ask for a room further back for good sleep"
Read full review
Mike M wrote a tip Feb 2019
Melbourne, Australia19 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a ground floor room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bairnsdale area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$151 - AU$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn Mitchell on Main
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGippslandBairnsdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MITCHELL ON MAIN MOTEL & APARTMENTS (AU$151): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Bairnsdale) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments?
Nearby attractions include St Mary's Catholic Church (0.4 km), Sun Cinema Bairnsdale (0.5 km), and Schoolworks Supplies (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Main Hotel, Bairnsdale Bowls Club Inc, and Cells cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Bairnsdale.
Does Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bairnsdale HotelsBairnsdale Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BairnsdaleHotels near Mitchell On Main Motel & Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars