We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sebel Launceston

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sebel Launceston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

837 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Showing 829: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2016

I stayed here in January 2015 and was a little disappointed with the hotel.I was expecting something slightly more upmarket. The room was good in size for the price and had a kitchen and internal laundry and seperate bedroom from the living area. Small balcony overlooking cars. The service was good from the staff, breakfast was ok, coffee - average....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss-Maple-27
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

I'm sorry we didn't quite meet your expectations but thanks for staying with us and glad you found the room size, separate bedroom, kitchen and laundry facilities positives. We do have rooms on all sides of the property which have different views. All aircons are inspected and serviced quarterly so please let us know if you have issues as this...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2016

It was a pleasant experience for just one night. Had a very large room, clean, modern and facing the road, so plenty of natural light. Not too much noise and an excellent breakfast the next morning. I suggest to go for the cooked breakfast option as the continental selection with cereal and the lot is not truly worth the value....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberta Z
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Roberta, Thanks for submitting a review and glad you enjoyed your room, breakfast and the Ritual coffee. We hope to welcome you again next time you're in Launceston. Best regards, Craig Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston craig.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2016

This 2 bedroom apartment was such a nice refreshing change. It was exactly what we booked and had great facilities, everything you need when you're out and about. Close enough to the Cataract Gorge that you can enjoy a day there and walk home.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarsi w
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

I'm pleased our 2 bedroom apartments fitted so well with your needs. The extra space with kitchen and laundry facilities are particularly popular with groups and families. We hope to see you next time you are in Launceston. Kind regards, Susan Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston susan.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Brisbane
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We booked a Deluxe Room 6 months in advance for our 40th wedding anniversary requesting a room with a view and provided this information on the online booking form. As an Accor member we are eligible for an upgrade if available but when we arrived the receptionist was unaware of the online booking request so we were given a deluxe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brisvegas1954
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

I'm glad overall you found the rooms comfortable and the location convenient but my apologies some areas of the reservation did not meet your expectations. We have had high occupancy levels this summer which can make it a challenge to provide upgrades but I have reinforced with our front office to try and meet special requests wherever possible. I've also...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1954RJB1954
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Great central location to base yourself in Launceston, walking distance to the city and seaport. We were there for a wedding on new years eve and was phoned by the hotel prior to arriving to see if we would like to join them for new years eve. Great initiative and good customer service.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 374ComingHome
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Launceston and found the hotel location convenient. We were really pleased with how the New Years Eve dinner went and were lucky to have a great mix of international and local guests attend. We plan to run it again next year including the live music, so if you have a chance to visit...

Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

I have written this a week after our stay. I have been giving the owners time to respond to the feedback we provided during our stay and at check out but as we havent been contacted it appears a trip advisor posting is the only way to get through (based on other tripadvisor responses by the owners). For some context...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Breedog
Craig R, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and my apologies if you were expecting to be contacted post your stay with us. Our Front Office team did pass on your feedback for which we were very appreciative, however we clearly misunderstood the requirement to contact you directly following this for which I am sincerely sorry. The front office team member who attended...

Sydney
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Stayed at the Sebel Launceston for a couple of nights over the new year period in a 1 bedroom deluxe king bed room which comprised of a separate lounge area, bedroom and bathroom. The room was spotlessly clean and very roomy. The bed very comfy. No issues with traffic noise or the clock which other reviewers mention. The staff were...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethN
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Had three nights here, really enjoyed it. Great location close to city centre and other "attractions". Rooms were clean, comfy bed, modern feel to the whole place. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sprc1966
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

As an Accor member, I do stay in Accor chain hotels when possible. Unfortunately there are not many in Tasmania....don't know why. The Sebel was wonderful. The suite room was an excellent size and well appointed. It had a kitchenette and a balcony. The room had a washing machine and dryer which was welcome after a few days travelling this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan G

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
800 reviews
1.5 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
484 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $173 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sebel Launceston staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
Pleasanton, California
6 months ago
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Sebel Launceston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room with a balcony overlooking the street.”
560vickib, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if you have to stay, ask to face the street otherwise you face a wall and carpark”
  • my view from room #2
bettyklimenko, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for rooms with a balcony”
marleneh121, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back to avoid the clock tower bell during the night.”
moe45, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing West get great sunset views, even if they look over the rooftops.”
GeoffreyMcGiraffe, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5