We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hideaway on George

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (11)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good39%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“b b”(57 reviews)
“cooked breakfast”(15 reviews)
“usual place”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Air Conditioning
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Hideaway on George
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
76
73
25
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
76
73
25
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcooked breakfastusual placecentre of townoff street parkingexcellent showerhot and cold breakfaststeep drivebacon and eggsbreakfast room isfollowing morningstaff were welcomingground floorupstairs roomtown clockbig bathroomnice breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Great new owners and host we went back a 2nd time dubiously to discover its changed hands and has really nice customer service now. We wondered what was happening when we were offered an upgrade and then arrived late and the place was well lit...More

2  Thank 801tanya2015
Response from Clare F, Owner at Hideaway on GeorgeResponded 21 February 2018

Hi 801tanya2015, Thank you for coming back to the new and improved (and renames) Hideaway on George! We have thoroughly enjoyed our time here since we took over in late July 2017, and reading through all these reviews sure puts a smile on our face,...More

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here and were very happy with our room, which was quite large and had a bath in the ensuite. The quality of the accommodation was good. The staff were very friendly and the continental breakfast was more than ample. The only,...More

Thank Jennie B
Response from Clare F, Manager at Hideaway on GeorgeResponded 24 February 2018

Hi Jennie, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Your room in particular is one of our favourites ;) We totally agree that the steep drive is good exercise, and are glad you took it in your stride (hehe) Thank...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017

A sort of B&B / Hotel in Launceston. The reception was ok and the room was a very good size and the bathroom was clean, spacious and well equipped. Breakfast was very good and the service was fast. Unfortunately the breakfast was cooked in the...More

Thank johndpensioner
Response from Clare F, Manager at Hideaway on GeorgeResponded 24 February 2018

Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to review Fiona's Bed & Breakfast. We are now under new management, and as such have renamed our property Hideaway on George and are beginning to renovate our older style apartments. We are happy to say we...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017

My husband and I arrived here at 4.45pm for two nights to be greeted with a locked front door and an envelope with keys and contract stating what we will be charged for if we damage the room! Oh, what a great welcome! The room...More

1  Thank fionajohnston1
Response from Clare F, Owner at Hideaway on GeorgeResponded 17 March 2018

Good morning Fiona, First of all, we are SO SORRY you experienced such service. Second of all, you may be happy to know Fiona's on George changed hands in July 2017 and we are now Hideaway on George, run by Clare & Bart. All of...More

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived mid afternoon to find reception closed, however a key and contract was left in an envelope. All tourist information was in reception so impossible to get to and there was none in our room either. The room, number 5, was in the loft...More

1  Thank Patrick N
Response from Clare F, Owner at Hideaway on GeorgeResponded 17 March 2018

Good morning Patrick, First of all, we are SO SORRY you experienced such service. Second of all, you may be happy to know Fiona's on George changed hands in July 2017 and we are now Hideaway on George, run by Clare & Bart. All of...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
USD 97 - USD 154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 97 - USD 154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (11)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
YISHENF
22 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Clare F | Property representative |
Hi Susanfan, Both of our 2 bedroom townhouses have been renovated in the last 6 months. They have undergone a very modern transformation with a full refurbishment. Thanks for the enquiry. We look forward to welcoming you... More
1
Vote
Tutti04
14 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Clare F | Property representative |
Hi Tutti04, We have indeed undergone a management change and subsequent name update too! There is no minimum stay as a rule, although this may change during peak times. If you have any further questions, we would love to... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"choose the newly renovated two bedroom apartment if you are a family for four to five."
Read review
"go on top floor where we stayed bottom floor sounded like an elephant walking across the room"
Read review
"It is lovely area and close enough to walk into the shopping areas."
Read review
"Ground floor room if stairs are a problem."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing