We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,752 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,733: English reviews
Menai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Excellent location for us, walked toCataract Gorge, free easy parking at the door, Laundry facilities good. We ate dinner at the Kings Brideg Tavern, food and service excellent. Room spacious, facilities good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janiceso
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Janiceso, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the accommodation, location and facilities of the Hotel met all your needs and expectations during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Stay Well, Natasha Beck More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stayed in a Standard Queen Room for the first night of our honeymoon and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the accommodation. The first thing you notice is the quaint charm of the hotel and surrounding area. Rooms are nestled in the halls of the old corn mill and retain a lot of the heritage of the original... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tam6290
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Tammy G G, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have managed to start your honeymoon on a wonderful note. We are lucky to have such a unique property and I am happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your... More 

Saratoga
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Overall very clean and comfortable accommodation in a great location, very handy to town centre, restaurants and local attractions. Easy to find, we had a short drive to our apartment after check-in. Very charming. Would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Byrnefamily_nsw
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Byrnefamily_nsw, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that location of the property to the CBD, Eateries and local attractions was found to be convenient. We thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Stay Well,... More 

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Interesting location. Plenty of character and convenient location. Not far from the excellent free Tiger bus service which takes you round town. Very busy restaurant but the meals were good and reasonably priced. Wine seems to be very expensive here but for some readon it deems expensive ecerywhere in Tassy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hla_11
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear hla_11, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I am glad to hear that your time with us was enjoyable and that you loved the character of our beautiful property and the location. We are lucky to be centrally located to the main CBD of Launceston and within walking distance to beautiful attractions such as... More 

Woy Woy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

A lovely location on the edge of the CBD. Great setting and superb value for money. Comfy rooms and bed. Friendly and helpful staff and easy and free parking. Kings Bridge tavern excellent atmosphere and food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andrewcG3416QY
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear andrewcG3416QY, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. I was delighted to read that the staff were extremely helpful and that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Stay Well, Natasha Beck More 

Burnie, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Good service good clean comfortable rooms good nights sleep plenty of room in shower with great water pressure Great walking distance to town The cctv parking excellent not having to worry about car being vanderlised Good activities and proximity to parks for children We have stayed many times always received excellent service and will continue to stay at Penny Royal... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 74lesliea
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear 74lesliea, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that on every occasion you find the staff to be accommodating and the service to a good standard. It is always our intention that our guests feel welcome and that they keep coming back... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Loved the hotel, room and location. Great job has been done to keep authenticity of building but with improvements such as upgraded bathrooms. Mugs would have given you a rating of 5, as it's a waste of a teabag if you've only got a cup to make it in!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alisha_Ian
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Alisha_Ian, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I am happy to hear that you loved your time with us and that the room was comfortable and the location convenient. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful unique product and I am glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you for the feedback in... More 

Ocean Grove
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We were very happy with our stay here. Loved the historic setting. The room we had was spacious, the amenities good. A very comfortable and enormous bed. It is located in a great spot for accessing the gorge, the river and the town, all in walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jenniferwM6332GK
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear jenniferwM6332GK, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the room was comfortable and spacious and that the location of the property to the CBD and main attractions met your needs. We are very lucky to have such a unique product and... More 

.Eaglemont
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Penny Royal and it was close to everything! however it was very noisy the night we stayed. The shower curtain was inefficient and the drain very smelly. I'm sure these are minor things that could be rectified and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 593rhondaf
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear 593rhondaf, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I was happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us, I have noted the feedback in relation to the shower curtain and the drain in the bathroom and we will definitely review those items with our team to rectify them where we can. I... More 

Rokeby
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

stayed at the penny royal 32 years ago for our honeymoon. Enjoyed all of the attractions that where there are this time. Coming back again it was so cool to see that the place had been re vamped again. Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Vicki W, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that we had the opportunity to welcome you back after 32 years and that we didn't disappoint and that the room was comfortable. The renovations and the newly opened Penny Royal Adventures definitely enhance our unique property and I thank you... More 

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.2 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.1 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
783 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
670 reviews
1.2 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#5 of 30 in Launceston
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $112 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room away from Reception and Kings Bridge Bar”
 of 5 bubbles TrevorJ693, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick the rooms closer to reception I believe they are better.”
 of 5 bubbles catherinebX1TU, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get an upstairs room, no lifts but better view.”
 of 5 bubbles guggetravel, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with a window.”
 of 5 bubbles 64travelbug, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request bottom floor if you have mobility issues or lots of bags”
 of 5 bubbles SamP2906, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay