We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,032 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,009: English reviews
New Norfolk
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We found the service and rooms of very good standard. The rooms were very clean and most of all the beds and pillows were really comfortable. The Inn is situated so near the CDB of Launceston. The restaurant is first class we had a wonderful meal and attentive service. Would highly recommend it to friends and would most certainly return...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G8827LYpatriciaw
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear G8827LYpatriciaw, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the service and standard of accommodation met all your expectations, we definitely look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Launceston. Stay Well, Natasha Beck

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2017

The rooms were clean, comfortable and generous in size, representing great value with friendly staff. I loved that there is a good selection of restaurants right at your door step including a lovely wine bar overlooking the lake.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ingrid274
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear ingid274, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. We are very lucky to have a property so centrally located to the main attractions and eateries of Launceston and that...

millicent
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Everything was meet and right next door to a great theme park , kids loved it and enjoyed the room to there own and the help in the park was also exceeding our expectations, great staff and hope the park takes off

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayden1975
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear hayden1975, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and were also able to visit the Penny Royal Adventures and a great time was had by all. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Stay Well, Natasha Beck

Cremorne
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Overall our experience was average. Having only that week stayed in a hotel of the same star rating in Adelaide CBD, I was expecting the same or similar exemplary experience. The only positive I can think of is the proximity to the city and attractions. The bed was nice and soft allowing for a good night's sleep.The shower curtain was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hansE974OF
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear hansE9740F, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was disappointed to read that overall you did not enjoy your time with us. I was happy to read that the location of the property met your expectations and that you were able to have a restful nights sleep. In regards to amenities in the rooms,...

Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We arrived about midday and were lucky to find our room was ready. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient. Our room which was next to reception had a really old heavy door leading to a very big room. The room had fans but no air conditioning whilst the beds were comfortable the pillows were somewhat soft. The front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gunner2412
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear gunner2412, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms comfortable. I apologize in relation to the meal at the Restaurant attached to the hotel, unfortunately they are a separately managed business to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I have stayed at the Penny Royal Hotel many times in the last 4 years, so the 3 nights I booked for 6/2-9/2/17 were not that surprising. It is a wonderful hotel with a very Tudor decor. ie wonderful exposed beams, low ceilings. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Located at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rainhailshine2017
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear rainhailshine2017, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and continue to do so on each visit and that as always the staff are friendly and accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Stay Well, Natasha Beck

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Fantastic location with access to the cataract gorge and excellent café on site. Didn't get the opportunity to sample all the facilities but was well populated by families. Rooms somewhat dated, but clean and adequate. Would use again as a base for the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ricktapp
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear ricktapp, Thank you for your review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the accommodation was clean and comfortable and that the location of the property to eateries and the main attractions of Launceston was convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Stay Well, Natasha...

Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I had high expectations for this accommodation. Unfortunately, I was slightly disappointed. We had a room above us and the occupants upstairs woke us up when they arrived in their room - we could hear them walking (stomping) around. No spare pillows and the ones we had were very hard. Spare blanket was soiled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle M
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Marcelle M, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was disappointed to read that your time with us was not enjoyable due to a few reasons. I apologize with regards to any noise from other hotel occupants and also that there were no spare pillows in your room, these are normally in the cupboards...

Hawthorn East
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The staff were a bit abrupt to guests and the room was stuffy and dark. I was surprised there was a credit card surcharge on my MasterCard because - who does that nowadays? It was cheaper than other places in the area but I'd rather pay a few dollars more to have a better experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brenth603
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear brenth603, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was disappointed to read that overall you did not enjoy your time with us. I apologize in relation to the credit card surcharge it is company policy and unfortunately something that we do have to comply with at the property level. I appreciate the feedback and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Ask for a ground floor apartment , as friends needed to carry bags up two flights of stairs. The room was small with the double bed was very close to the bathroom. The construction of the shower meant that flooding occurred in the very small bathroom. There was no where to store toiletries.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie N
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Marie N, Thank you for your review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that overall your time with us was enjoyable and that we were able to accommodate your with a ground floor apartment and that the accommodation was neat and tidy. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Stay Well,...

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.3 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
531 reviews
1.3 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,292 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $83 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are in the "older" age bracket make sure you are located on the ground floor.”
janis1246, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If elderly ask for a ground floor, all the stairs are a killer.”
, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from noise of street and Restaurant beside”
XyBarbara, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept Room 234 under any circumstances.”
MadamJosephine, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This place is great for location to the gorge!”
Pata4, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5