We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hillview House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hillview House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Hillview House is billed as a bed and breakfast. My wife and l stayed for 3 nights. The location was great for walking around and taking in the sights of this beautiful city. As far as the room went, it was of adequate size for two adults. The bed was comfortable and room temperature was good. The size of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
Wynyard, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

For the price I expected a lot better really. Young lady booking us in very sweet and pleasant, but any further service was quite absent - we stayed three nights, room not made up, no new towels offered, no top up of tea/coffee sachets. Room was tired and need of a good clean - same went for bathroom -small but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Hillview House ten years ago, have fond memories and we're hoping for a repeat experience. Unfortunately, since the change of ownership approximately twelve months ago, Hillview appears to have evolved into a type of Back Packers accommodation. The building looks the same from the outside, however inside tells a different story. A lovely girl checked us in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stav V
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this review

Dear Stav First of all, thanks for your time to write this review. I appreciate your comment and feel sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. However, please allow us to explain. First of all, there seems to be a misunderstanding. We never sell any shampoo or body wash. On the contrary, we provide very good quality of... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We were very surprised by our marvellous stay here,Our room had the most comfortable king size bed,the room was very clean and well maintained,the owners made us feel very welcome.we only stayed 4 nights but wished we stayed 7 days,we recommend Hillview House to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank possumtan981
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Noticed when booking that this place got mixed reviews, but read well and was good value with tariff including a continental breakfast. Good points: Very pleasant welcome from polite and friendly young lady. Reasonable free Wi-fi, Comfy bed and pillows. Small ensuite bathroom was nice and clean. Not so good: Limited tight parking. (we had to park in the street... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darryl B
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We check-in at around 4pm, we are surprised that the reception girl is a Hong Kong people, she used Cantonese to welcome us. There is free parking outside the house. The view from the house is really good. However, the room is a bit small, and not much equipment and amenities in the room. And the room cleanliness is quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yik L
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the cosy B&B, Kit made us very welcome and looked after us very well during our four day stay.Great value with reasonably priced cooked breakfasts,( continental breakfast was included in the price)and within easy distance of local attractions. Free wifi and parking make Hillview an attractive option for your stay in this lovely city.

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Spent an evening at Hillview House - the National Trust house is delightful. The room was old fashioned, warmband comfortable. The welcome and service was excellent with us being in our room within minutes of arrival. Good continental breakfast in the morning. Free car parking available.

Helpful?
Thank John C
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Good location to CBD and Cataract Gorge. Nice hotel down the hill for a drink and meal. We stayed in the 2 BR self contained apartment. Clean and tidy but could use a facelift with some new furniture/fittings. Beds were comfortable but the pillows were somewhat flat. Plenty of hotwater for showers. Some other guests and/or staff were outside our... More 

Helpful?
Thank WE_R_OFF_and_RACING
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Launceston, being the civilised little city that it is, does B&Bs well, and the last time I stayed at this place – which would be a few years ago, probably under previous ownership – I seem to recall it being rather charming. Somehow it has gone off in the interval. It starts with a lot of advantages, being about four... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Doug F

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 km away
Hi George
Hi George
#7 of 31 in Launceston
86 reviews
1.0 km away
Kilmarnock House
Kilmarnock House
#16 of 31 in Launceston
59 reviews
0.5 km away
Windmill Hill Lodge
Windmill Hill Lodge
#10 of 31 in Launceston
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 31 in Launceston
163 reviews
0.8 km away
The Mews Motel
The Mews Motel
#8 of 31 in Launceston
48 reviews
2.1 km away
Aberdeen Court Launceston
Aberdeen Court Launceston
#13 of 31 in Launceston
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hillview House was originally built around the 1840's and extensively enlarged by Rev. W Law in the 1860's. It has now been sympathetically restored to provide a charming stay for your Tasmanian holiday. Hillview House offers supurb home cooked or continental breakfasts, served in our colonial dining room with sweeping views of Launceston and the Tamar Estuary.You will find a visit to Hillview House will leave you with fond memories of personal care and attention. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillview House

Address: 193 George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $106 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillview House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hillview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview House Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hillview House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was on the second floor. The room walls are thin, so any noise made, is shared throughout the floor.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffmY148NL, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floor for best views”
 of 5 bubbles possumtan981, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed a ground floor room with a view, if you have a problem with stairs I would ask as the stairs were quite steep.”
  • View from the deck outside our room.
 of 5 bubbles W7857HSlindad, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles Hall_10, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Plenty of other Hotel/ Motels nearby”
  • bedroom closet and room quality.
  • tight fit
 of 5 bubbles 7007, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay