We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Comfort Inn Coach House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Coach House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Coach House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This motel advertises that ashtrays are available outside rooms, however when a guest complained about my husband smoking outside our room, the ashtray was removed. Ashtrays were available elsewhere. The matter was poorly handled by management who said that my husband should not be smoking within 5m of a doorway despite the ashtray being cms from our door. Decent place... More 

Helpful?
Thank MottandCurley
Kylie G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly, we do not advertise ashtrays are available outside rooms. The manager did not remove the ashtray. The guest you mention who complained is quite within his rights to breath fresh air and not your husbands second hand smoke through his doorway and windows. When asked Politely by the Management if he could please step... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We had originally booked two rooms with a total of 7 guests. Upon arrival I met Peter who was warm & friendly & knew all details of our booking. I explained that we were now only 6 guests, 2 adults & 4 kids under 10. I asked if one family room would suffice & said he could give us another... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lawz M
Pete_Kylie, Owner at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review

G'day Lawz M, Thank you for your comments and feed back about your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston. We are more than happy to accommodate our guests needs and requests. Your particular situation allowed the opportunity to accommodate you all in the one family room, it seemed a bit over the top to make... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Great first trip to Tassie, Comfort Inn Coach House is in a great central location, the new owners are a huge source of local knowledge. Accomodation is clean and the views are fantastic, will definitely be back

Helpful?
Thank onesmallfrog
Pete_Kylie, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston and also for leaving positive feedback! Feedback is left often only when there is a complaint - we appreciate you taking the time to do so. Please stay with us again next time you are visiting Launceston - we feel you notice and enjoy the improvements we are... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Location within walking distance to Shops, restaurants and hotels although you will need to navigate the hill for the walk home. The driveway to the motel from the road is steep so if you have a walking disability you may find it difficult. If you are driving everywhere then it won't make any difference. The owners were extremely welcoming, friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank David K
Pete_Kylie, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again sometime soon. Safe journeys. Kind regards Kylie (Manager) More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Sent here by my work travel agent, entry to the hotel is a very steep decline into reception. Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms are accessed via stairs as the property is on a steep hill. Rooms quite spacious & clean. OK for travelling Reps. Rooms not very soundproof as you can here people coming & going. Shower goes hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Micky681127
Pete_Kylie, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave constructive feedback. Please stay again Kind regards Kylie (Manager) More 

Dandenong, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

The motel was clean and had a lot of room. Toilet and bathroom were all great. Staff were quite nice. Up the end of Launceston near aurora stadium but centrally situated on York st.up the top of a long hill do walks from here are not suggested" free wifi was an added bonus

Helpful?
Thank Brendan P
Pete_Kylie, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston as we continue to improve the service and amenities the property has to offer. Thank you for leaving your comments. Kind regards Kylie (Manager) More 

Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Stopped here a night on our way through Launceston. Being a Sunday night it wasn't as cheap as usual but happy to find a room in a busy night. Room was perfectly good. Bit on the older side, view out the window to the city. The driveway was very steep and a brake fail would be a bit of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank caseyj1937
Pete_Kylie, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you Caseyj 1937 for your comments and feedback about your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston. Our rates don't change that much from weekdays to weekends but you did catch us on a very busy night. Our Driveway can be a slight challenge but it does afford us a fantastic view over Launceston to... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Friendly staff made you feel welcome. Nice big rooms serviced daily. Laundry available. Comfy bed. Close to town if you want to walk . Breakfast available and they do room service for breakfast. Free parking.

Helpful?
Thank Neenienoo
Pete_Kylie, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you Neenienoo for your comments and feed back regarding your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston. FREE Parking is a big Plus, especially these days where it seems you have to pay and pay. All of our staff really try to go that extra mile to make a guest feel welcome, like they are... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Booked a family room for 1 night before our flight back to Sydney. The room was a good size. But was old and in need of a referb. The carpark/drive way is horrible. Very steep and awkward to move vehicles in and out of. There are 3 floors of rooms and no lift available, stairs all the way. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Pete_Kylie, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review

Thankyou Linda B. for taking the time to leave some feedback and comments about your recent stay at The Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston. We are working very hard towards getting some of our rooms more up to date, this does all take time. We are currently repainting some rooms and our restaurant/ reception area and more will be renovated... More 

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum for one night 29/02/16 We were only in Launceston for one night to look at a house the next day so I really picked this place because of the location, price and it included parking and breakfast Older style motel but it has been refurbished in recent times id say. Staff very friendly when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaycee1966
Kylie Peter G, Owner at Comfort Inn Coach House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during our first week of Owner/Managers of CICHL and we look forward to having you stay with us again. - Safe Travels!!! More 

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 km away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#15 of 30 in Launceston
413 reviews
0.2 km away
Commodore Regent
Commodore Regent
#18 of 30 in Launceston
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#14 of 30 in Launceston
189 reviews
0.5 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#17 of 30 in Launceston
493 reviews
3.2 km away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#1 of 2 in Riverside
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our 31 room Motel is located in a quiet area of the CBD on Windmill Hill with views overlooking the City and the Valley of the Tamar River. Offering various accommodation options to suit corporate, families and couples. Free On-site Car Parking Free Foxtel Free Wi-Fi Free Newspaper Option of Room Service Breakfast or Breakfast Room Buffet with cooked to order meals (extra) Guest Self Serve Laundry Snack Bar available from Reception Local Attractions: Heritage Buildings, Aurora Stadium, City Park to see the Monkeys for free, Art Galleries, James Boag's Brewery Tours, Mall, State of the Art Aquatic Centre, Cataract Gorge, Tamar River Cruise, Old Umbrella Shop (1860), Gourlay's Sweets. Our Region: Bridestowe Lavender Farm, Wineries, Berry Farms, Convict Sites, Tamar River Wetlands, Ben Lomond Ski Village, Liffey Falls. Hollybank Tree Tops Adventure, Penguin Tours, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Coach House

Address: 10 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $97 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Coach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coach House Hotel Launceston
Country Comfort Launceston Coach Hotel
Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Coach House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Coach House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of the updated rooms they're great!”
 of 5 bubbles RichFromMelb, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed top and bottom both good depending how many stairs you want to climb”
 of 5 bubbles Neenienoo, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a top room at the back for the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles 86daisym, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Great views of Launceston from the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles xanth0rea, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be away from ashtrays which are on the verandah.”
 of 5 bubbles Magstravels2014, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay