We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Commodore Regent

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Commodore Regent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Commodore Regent
See the most recent reviews
Showing 183: English reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Sad. Very very disappointing. Worst place we had ever stayed at. Looked so dirty. Not maintained at all. In the bathroom shower nob was broken and falling down plus so many bugs. Never going back. 😡😡😡

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lolita D
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Lolita From reading reviews here on TripAdvisor and other sites, you will notice how seriously and quickly we respond to all our feedback. No-one is more disappointed to hear, after you've left, that your stay has generated this response. You made no contact either whilst here or even since your stay so it's difficult to address general comments. You...

Julia Creek, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Motel was in a good position - rooms were clean and serviced daily. Laundry on site easy to use. Would recommend. Staff friendly and the restaurant served fantastic meals. Free wifi was easy to use too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dkshopgirl
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Good morning dkshopgirl and thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the comments about our great restaurant. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Hope you whole trip in Tasmania was safe and enjoyable. Many thanks Simon Peavey Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We hadn't stayed in a motel for years, but chose this one after shopping around online as it appeared to be good value for money. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was large and accommodated ourselves and our daughter comfortably. Although a little tired in some respects, it was extremely well maintained and clean. Bathroom was more than adequate. Nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrooksieG
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi BrooksieG Thanks for staying with us over the Christmas/New Year period and thanks for you comments - I shall pass on to the housekeepers the great feedback. I hope that you have had a great time in Tasmania and we look forward to welcoming you back in Launceston again. With thanks Simon Peavey Manager

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

The best thing about this motel was a very convenient location. Its right opposite the city park and the hotel staff were friendly too. The room size is good . However there is no microwave or basic kitchen stuff like plates or spoons. Its a very old style room as well and not sure if the AC/ Heater was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CA Neha B
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Thanks CA Neha B for your review, I'm glad to hear you found our location and cleanliness to suit you - we offer several different types of rooms and it sounds like you must have booked one of our basic motel style rooms. We certainly have rooms with kitchens (and the plates, microwave etc) that you were lacking this time....

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Commodore for 3 nights, last min booking, got a good deal, thats what we thought, but unfortunately it was not so. The only positive was the clean linen, n friendly staff. The room was old, with broken walls, peeling wallpaper, and dirty old carpet. The bathrooms were the worst, the door lock was falling off any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deepa K
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Deepa K, I'm glad our staff were friendly and able to help you during your stay but am disappointed your room wasn't what you were expecting. Currently our booking service offers cheaper rooms to suit different budgets but next time, when you are staying with us please speak with me about any concerns you have. We do offer fully...

Brisbane Austrralia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The motel is opposite City Park which is lovely, good park for relaxing and also walking. Simon the manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was on the ground floor which was good as to get to first floor there were stairs, no lifts. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Went for dinner in the dining room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeatherGC
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Thanks Heather for your review, We have a great kitchen team here and our food receives terrific feedback so I'm glad to hear yours was a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Launceston! Simon Peavey Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Just right for what we need today. Queen bed and 2 singles and 1/3 of the price of the sebel. We just needed a room basically and this ticks all the boxes. The staff are very helpful too. They didn't have a microwave in the room so we nipped down to woolies and bought some prepared food. But they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1966ginny
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Thanks for your review 1966ginny, I'm glad that you found our hotel suitable for your needs and our staff very helpful. Hosting guests centrally in Launceston is something we love doing. If you are staying for a few days next time call us and we can book you directly into one of our rooms with a kitchenette and microwave. Hope...

Cranbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Make sure you check your rooms before paying for them. The room was nice size, couch and bed comfortable. But the shower and toilet button needed a thorough cleaning for killing mould. Some cleaners don't really know how to clean shower grout. Will not go back again, when I spoke to Receptionist he didn't seem to care, not a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye W
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Faye W, I'm really sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience here. This review was posted before I started at the hotel but if you could email me I can follow this up with you. manager@commodoreregent.com.au Sadly I wasn't on staff at that time to speak with you personally but hope we can have you back again...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Had an overnight stay last month and it will be our last. Beds were comfortable but decor needs over hauling and maintence lacking. Found a rather large problem under our bed the next morning and after advising the management of this situation it was just , oh yes, we had a couple of issues with a previous guest. Professional management...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alanbenn_2000
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

We sincerely apologise for the distress that you incurred during your stay with us. Unfortunately the owner of the property was not made aware of the incident that had previously occurred on the lead up to you stay. Actions have now been take to restructure the management of this property starting with the termination of the previous manager. We would...

Perth
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in a standard queen room and it was perfect for what we were after. It had a couch in the room which was great for chilling out in the evenings and the bed was comfy. Views to the city were lovely and the location was only a short stroll to the town centre. Parking onsite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation at the Commodore Regent and your visit to Launceston City. It was unfortunate that there were some noisy guests on the Saturday night. We work hard to provide a peaceful visit for our guests. We...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
522 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
1.4 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Commodore Regent is perfectly located with fantastic views overlooking the City Park, and only a 3 minute walk to the CBD with great cafes, boutiques and shops. We are also within walking distance to many great Launceston attractions. Free internet access, off street car parking and daily newspaper. The motel also features Restaurant 13 which has sweeping views of the City Park and is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Regent

Address: 13 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $85 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Commodore Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Launceston
Regent Launceston
Launceston Regent
Launceston Comfort Inn
Commodore Regent Launceston, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Regent staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room, which was at the rear of the complex, was quiet and had a view of sorts over some of the city. Depends what you are looking for”
 of 5 bubbles ianj569, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Recommended ground room”
 of 5 bubbles lillypilly72, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in front row have lovely sky and park views but do have more traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles alikat19, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The motel has room on 2 levels. Nice views on 2nd level but a bit of hike up the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 220tomm220, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check the room first for cleanliness before you agree to take the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 531fayew, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5