We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 137: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A one night stopover on our coastal tour from Melbourne to Adelaide so not the first Best Western we've stayed in along the way. As stated in previous reviews it is undergoing refurbishment and this does appear to be long overdue as the rooms are very dated and this isn't reflected in the price, ours was a good size room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Theresa H
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The motel's undergoing a major refurbishment, so normal service may not be quite ... normal. Nonetheless, our room (awaiting refurbishment) was clean, comfortable, and provided an excellent shower - water pressure in Mount Gambier is high. Free wifi was secured (many places have totally unsecured connections, so you can't, or shouldn't, access anything that might contain private information) - well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BPinOz
Mt gambier
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went there for a fiction and the front receptionist was rude!!!!!! Very rude. People including myself arrived 10-15 minutes early and she was just rude to all of us and it was like she was angry we arrived early. For someone that works at the front counter I think they need to be friendly and welcoming. Very rude and won't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah9890
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

only stayed the one night very big room dvd player in the room and a good free selection of dvd,s at the reception the hotel is having a makeover at the moment but we never heard any noise from builders the restaurant was closed at night so we took a drive into the town for a meal but a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robin b
Garstang,UK
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Wow retro it wasn't!!!! Dirty no filthy carpet in room. Bathroom smelt like something had taken its last breath in there. I understand the hotel is in the process of being updated so I feel maybe it could get better but after a long drive I was very disappointed lucky for me it was just 1 night. If I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michelf28
Sydney
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Very large rooms, good off street parking. Had restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Hotel undergoing extensive renovations and rooms at present a little dated.... expect it to be another half star within a month or two as more rooms are renovated. Didn't have dinner but breakfast was very good... walking distance to town centre. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWLSydney
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here recently for 3 nights on business, and was pleasantly surprised at the changes they've made. Stayed in one of the recently (long overdue) refurbished rooms, which is spacious, has an incredibly comfortable king size bed, all new furniture and a lovely new bathroom. Room to room noise is very minimal, as is the street noise, and would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Npootz
pakenham, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2016

the staff are extremely good. friendly, efficient and polite. but the decor in the reception and first floor landing is very dated, and the rooms are also dated. the lighting needs updating, the bathrooms, and bedrooms all feel like 1970's. Great size rooms, very clean, comfortable bed, but compared to other BW and other accomadation need to spend some money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
Swan Hill, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016

As we had been staying in inexpensive rooms on our travels we decided to treat ourselves to a more expensive room and have a night in, in a spa room First impression when we walked into foyer was nice. But once we walked into the room we noticed the smell first and the dirty carpets. Then we noticed the light...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 71Kell
David P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for your feedback We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and are alarmed at some of your comments. It would have been nice to have you raise these issues while you were here but unfortunately you didn't and that leaves me no chance to fix and confirm your complaints. We do always thrive on cleanliness...

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Looks can be deceiving. Foyer, reception and bar areas look inviting, but my room was so dated, bordering on dangerous, I couldn't believe it. Lowlights - room was very dated and in urgent need of updating, lighting was very dim, cupboards filthy, breakfast set up confusing, some staff attitude left much to be desired. Highlights - reasonable rates ( only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Norm S M
David P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Firstly its nice to read that you actually enjoyed some of your stay. But I am very disappointed in your review and find it grossly inaccurate and misleading. Your claims of our rooms "bordering on dangerous" are ridiculous and its an insult to our business. I also cannot understand how the breakfast menu & set up is confusing, we...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
9.8 km away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#1 of 17 in Mount Gambier
475 reviews
3.2 km away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#10 of 17 in Mount Gambier
159 reviews
1.2 km away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
#16 of 17 in Mount Gambier
104 reviews
0.2 km away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
3.0 km away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel

Address: 175 Commercial St E, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Price Range: $132 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Gambier
Mount Gambier Best Western
Best Western Southgate Hotel
BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel Mount Gambier, South Australia
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mount Gambier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 105 had a regular "snore" from nearby equipment (not a human). We got used to it.”
 of 5 bubbles BPinOz, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room on the south side, away from the Princes Highway.”
 of 5 bubbles MarkN540, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Maybe the smaller units are better.”
 of 5 bubbles KOH_HT, 20 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Don't say on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles havagoodtime, 1 Nov 2015 | Read review
“They have rooms that assist less mobile people”
 of 5 bubbles holgerk166, 1 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay