We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
USD 99
View deal
FindHotel
USD 96
View deal
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Travelocity
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (851)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (493)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 24/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Stamford Grand Adelaide
Updated 24/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 in Glenelg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
4134Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,767
  • 1,352
  • 604
  • 245
  • 166
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Safari767912 wrote a review 18 May
3 contributions
Great location for a break right on Glenelg Beach. Room very clean and comfortable. Asked for a room over looking the ocean with some elevation to appreciate the view and was given a room on the top floor (12 Floors) which was fantastic. Food at Grand Restaurant was awesome and the entire staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Richard S wrote a review 3 May
Portland, Australia184 contributions32 helpful votes
Stayed 1 night to deliver a car to Adelaide. Beautiful location right on the esplanade at Glenelg. Accommodation was excellent. We had a twin room on fourth floor which was great. Had a lovely burger in the ground floor pub for $25. Bit expensive but was delicious.Car parking was $20 per night. Reasonably priced at just over $200,plus parking
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil Rawat, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent experience at Stamford Grand Adelaide. It is great to see that you overall enjoyed your stay with us on your quick trip to Adelaide and were able to enjoy beautiful Glenelg. We appreciate your support and do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand again in future for a longer visit. Kind regards, Sunil Rawat General Manager
Read more
NatH wrote a review 2 May
Adelaide, Australia2 contributions
Loved the waterfront balcony. Breakfast was very disappointing luckily we only paid $25!each. Everything was empty staff did not look busy and had time to refill. Milk containers all empty, no bread for toast and lots of empty plates waited almost 30 minutes. I would have rated McDonald better. Reception could have informed us or had a sign the cocktail lounge would not be open as we wasted time waiting.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil Rawat, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Natalie, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent experience at Stamford Grand Adelaide. We note your mixed comments and I am pleased that we hit the mark with some of our service delivery and facilities. In the areas that you have rated your experience less than ideal and provided comments, I have spoken with the appropriate manager and requested action where required. We will be working hard to improve our breakfast experience as this is usually a highlight for most of our guests and we are disappointed to know we let you down. We value your support and do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand. Warm regards, Sunil Rawat General Manager
Read more
Alex F wrote a review Apr 2022
Brighton, Australia147 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
Located right in the beach and jetty at Glenelg this is the perfect location for a holiday. Spend a bit more to get a sea front balcony room. Room is clean large and comfortable. Bathroom nice and large. Sunsets are spectacular! Hotel old world and could use a refresh, especially in the common areas. Pool was outside and overrun with unsupervised kids. No towels either. Buffet breakfast underwhelming considering a $36 pp price or $25 pp pre booked. Service a little slow and restaurant and front desk phone calls went unanswered. I’d put it down to short staffed and hotel 100% booked over Easter and coming off Covid restrictions. Restaurant was ok and sufficient gluten free options. Limited vegetarian options. Parking available for $20 per day. Overall a nice comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil Rawat, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear AlexFonda, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent experience at Stamford Grand Adelaide. It is pleasing to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us especially our location. Over school holidays our pool area can become busy with the families and children however if you are being disturbed by other guests please let our friendly front desk team know and they will come along to assist to ensure that everyone is enjoying their stay. We value your support and do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand again in future. Kind regards, Sunil Rawat General Manager
Read more
Andrew Lovett wrote a review Apr 2022
Camden, Australia1 contribution
We booked 2 rooms at this hotel for 3 nights over Easter. Checkin time was 2pm. We were told there was an issue from previous guests and one room would be delayed a little. At 4pm we were told that there had been an issue with the bathroom flooding into the room and they were drying it out. At 6pm they took us to look at it. The carpet was completely soaked at the entrance to the bathroom and around the corner about 6 feet towards the beds. They had the door closed (with no opening windows) and a blower going in a futile attempt to dry it out. The room smelled of wet carpet. (Room 510). With no other choice we had to take the room and lay towels on the floor. Their remedy was to send up an $11 bottle of wine and 4 drink vouchers for the pub (certain drinks only)!! We though the shower issue was the result of a guest flooding it through misuse. However when we tried using it there was insufficient fall and the water headed straight for the door. My son is a plumber and couldn’t believe it. The only solution was to lay a towel at the shower entrance to trap the water and have a very quick shower. This would be why the room smelled so bad. It wasn’t a one off. It would be almost impossible to have a shower in that room without flooding it. The second room had no such issue and the fall in the shower was fine. In summary - 4 hours late to get into our room that had a smell that was almost unbearable. And no partial refund. But they did give us an $11 bottle of wine and 4 drink vouchers for the pub. This was our 2nd stay at the Stamford but it will also be our last.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil Rawat, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear AL2089, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent experience at Stamford Grand Adelaide. It is disappointing to read your review and see that you did not enjoy your stay with us we strive to provide the highest standard of service for all out guests and it is disheartening to know we didn't on this occasion. All your concerns have been followed up with the relevant mangers and I have requested further training and action as required as this is not the impression we like to leave guest with after their stay. I believe that our Front Office Manager has reached out to you directly following you stay to follow up further. Please accept our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations, I can assure you that we will be working hard to improve our service standards. We hope the situation will not prevent a return visit when you are next heading to Glenelg and we are able to show you a stay that is memorable for all the right reasons. Warm regards, Sunil Rawat General Manager
Read more
abbie p wrote a review Apr 2022
Adelaide, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
After staying at a neighbouring property for 2 nights, with absolutely no room amenities and forking out $1200 for 2 nights, we decided to stay at the Grand for final night. From the minute we walked into the Grand, we immediately felt welcome, a total contrast to the service received at previous hotel. The gentleman that organised our room, was friendly, witty & offered to help us with car hire & restaurant suggestions etc. I believe his name was Jarrod. We got to our room, over looking the beach & felt spoilt because our fridge actually had items in it & all the normal amenities one needs/uses in a hotel were all available. The room definitely can do with a makeover but with the service & views - I wouldn't complain! Would like to thank the staff for making us feel so welcome!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil Rawat, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear abbiep889, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent experience at Stamford Grand Adelaide. It is wonderful to read your review and see you had a memorable stay with us. We are fortunate to be in such a fantastic location for our guests to relax and enjoy during their stay. Our team work hard to surprise and delight our guests and its always great to know when we have done just that. Jarred is a valuable member of our team and your comments have been passed along to him. He has a wealth of knowledge about Glenelg and South Australia and loves sharing it with all our visitors. We appreciate your support and do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand when you next visit Glenelg. Kind regards, Sunil Rawat General Manager
Read more
Tim A wrote a review Mar 2022
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia28 contributions9 helpful votes
A group of us stayed here for a 79th family birthday. Such a wonderful experience we’re likely to return for the 80th next year. Rooms are fantastic with great beds. Food quality and service in dining room was outstanding. A special mention for the amazing staff. Incredible service from all staff members during our stay. Jarred was exceptionally helpful. And I haven’t even mentioned the location! So many food and shopping options. That part of Glenelg is SA’s Gold Coast (but without the crowds).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Recommend to pay just a little extra for ocean view and to listen to the lapping waters.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil Rawat, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent experience at Stamford Grand Adelaide. How wonderful it is to read your review and see that you enjoyed everything about staying with us for a birthday celebration. It is always great to know when our team have surprised and delighted our guests. We love our location and its great to know that it was another highlight during your stay! We value your support and look forward welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand next year to celebrate again. Kind regards, Sunil Rawat General Manager
Read more
Eugenia M wrote a review Mar 2022
7 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed with my granddaughter on 26 March 2022 at Glenelg as we were seeing Le Boehme on the Beach. The room - balcony room - and the facilities - pool, gym - were excellent. We had a wonderful time. However, breakfast was not the best. There was no toast or cereal available. My eggs benedict was not great either. The eggs were over cooked. The serving size of the icecream scoops was tiny. At $5.00 per scoop, I would expect bigger serves. I would stay there again, but eat elsewhere. There are many good food places on Jetty Road. The Hotel was definitely conveniently located.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: An ocean view is a must. The sunsets are beautiful.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil Rawat, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear Eugenia, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent experience at Stamford Grand Adelaide. It is great to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and so did your granddaughter! Thank you for your feedback on your breakfast experience. We do offer a full buffet breakfast each day along with some a la carte options and we do apologies that this was not explained to you so that you could enjoy all we had to offer. Your comments have been passed along our team so they can continue to improve. We value your support and do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand. Warm regards, Sunil Rawat General Manager
Read more
ToniCF wrote a review Mar 2022
20 contributions
Upon arrival we were greeted by a stunning old building that had a million stories to tell, but were disappointed when the opportunity to tell those stories were not on display in the beautiful old display cabinets! The service was wonderful upon our arrival and we we so grateful for our early check in and complimentary bottle of champagne for my birthday. We were in room 1016 which had a balcony overlooking the ocean, pier and Ferris wheel. Our room was really nice and spacious but quite boring with not even one piece of artwork on the walls. We stayed for 3 nights and had our room made up each day, but couldn’t believe they didn’t restock the mini bar once! The bathroom was lovely and spacious and the walk-in shower was great. The bed mattress wasn’t great…nothing a mattress topper wouldn’t fix though. The fine dining restaurant was very disappointing, with very slack service even though there was hardly anyone in the restaurant!! Unfortunately this is not a place we would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil Rawat, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear ToniFuller, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent experience at Stamford Grand Adelaide. We note your mixed ratings and I am pleased that we hit the mark with most of our service delivery and facilities. Your comments regarding your experience in our restaurant have been passed along to our food and beverage manager who will look into this and follow up with the team. We will provide further training where required to improve our service standards. Your honest feedback on where we can improve is appreciated. We value your support and do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand again in future. Kind regards, Sunil Rawat General Manager
Read more
Melissa G wrote a review Mar 2022
6 contributions
Stayed there on the 17th checked out on the 18th march Staff were lovely from the moment I checked in and out Room was large had a lovely 2 seater & 2 chairs and a table looking out the window at the Glenelg strip. Room was very clean and tidy & Bed was SOO cumfy had a minor issue rang down stairs to get a plug for the sink in the bathroom & by the time i got of the phone there was a person at my door problem fixed & check iin and out was a breeze REALLY ENJOYED MY STAY 5 stars
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunil Rawat, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear Melissa, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent experience at Stamford Grand Adelaide. It is fantastic to read your review and see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us especially your room and the quick and efficient service from our team! We value your support and do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand when you next visit Glenelg. Kind regards, Sunil Rawat General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 106 - USD 196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stamford grand adelaide glenelg, stamford grand adelaide hotel glenelg
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaGreater AdelaideGlenelg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
220
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stamford Grand Adelaide
Which popular attractions are close to Stamford Grand Adelaide?
Nearby attractions include Glenelg Beach (0.09 km), Glenelg Pier (0.09 km), and Bay Discovery Centre (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Stamford Grand Adelaide?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Stamford Grand Adelaide?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Stamford Grand Adelaide?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Stamford Grand Adelaide?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stamford Grand Adelaide?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cardone's, SheShells Restaurant Pty Ltd, and Zest Cafe Gallery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Stamford Grand Adelaide?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Stamford Grand Adelaide?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Stamford Grand Adelaide offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Stamford Grand Adelaide?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Gum Tree Reserve (1.5 km), Historic Cummins House (2.1 km), and Dunluce Castle (3.8 km).