We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Eungella Chalet

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Eungella Chalet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

four couples had a great weekend staying at the cabins that are at the back of the Chalet. They were all clean and tidy. great views down the valley and nice and quiet. there was a great grassed area our the front so we had our BBQ and Christmas dinner out doors. the flies were a bit of a nuisance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica K
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you, for your feed back, great to hear you enjoyed your weekend away in the mountains, have a great day Cheers Management

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Found the views were very nice, mould in shower, no washing/drying facilities behind apartment rooms, beers were quite expensive and not much selection, meals rather expensive for quantity ( salad is a bit of grated coleslaw and vege is frozen/ packet...not fresh ), no breakfast till 8-9.30. Staff were ok, Traffic and snake hazards while driving in chalet, might hold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back... we will be speaking to the cleaners about the showers thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. No we don't have washing facilities in our cabins however we do have them at The Chalet just ask our friendly staff. We do have a large selection of beer for a country hotel, sorry...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Eungella for a few days for a short break but mainly to research some family history. On arrival at the chalet, we were informed that we would be housed in the cabins behind the chalet, not in the chalet as per our booking. We were OK with that and we were not charged any extra. We were definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudyGoo
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back... sorry to hear you didn't like us however our rooms and cabins are clean. The Chalet is an old building with lots of history that is part of it's charm. We run a pub menu as The Chalet as it is a pub with a spectacular view. Sorry our meals were not to your...

Batemans Bay, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

First impression a little concerning, as it looked a little old, not what we were expecting. Very old world, but comfortable, the view is spectacular. Our room had a view of valley, and was clean and comfortable. The food is average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MB2010BB
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back.. Enjoy your day Cheers Managment

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Was very dissapointed on a recent dinner with family... is such a beautiful place and great scenery but the food was very ordinary...especially for the price...Eungella itself is simply amazing and well worth the visit seen lots.of platypus so peaceful and relaxing

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa K
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back... sorry we weren't to your liking. Have a great day, Cheers Managment

Bribie Island
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Save your time and money. After hearing people rave about the Devonshire teas and high teas at this place we went to eungella to see the platypus and have morning tea at the Chalet. The place is a dump and our scones were like leather. Didn't finish them as they were so terrible. One to MISS!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, sorry you didn't like us or our scones... We do have lots of customers that do like us however it is impossible to please everyone all the time. It could be more helpful to approach us while you are visiting so we can then find a solution. Enjoy your day. Thank you Management

Mollymook, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Lunch or morning tea with fabulous views down the Pioneer Valley. My calamari ceasar salad was excellent as was my hubbies hamburger. Service with a small, stay a while or a short time, terrific photo opportunities and wonderful historic photos too. Recharge before hitting some top walking trails

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovista
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your lunch, the view, the bush walks at Eungella and our historical photos. Hope to see you again soon, enjoy your day. Cheers Managment

Doubleview, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

The food portion sizes were very generous and tasted nice. Remembering this is a pub. The beer was cold and the staff were friendly. The pub itself was very clean and well maintained. The view was awesome and the art was worth a look. Worth a visit if you are in Mackay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaslaw238
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back ... great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Have a great day, Cheers Managment

Reviewed 5 June 2016

The room was clean and tidy and with two bedrooms had plenty of space for the family. Plenty of facilities oven, microwave etc so fully self contained (a good thing as we came to find as eateries/cafes in eungella are ........ average at best). Cabin came with a bucket of fire wood for the fire along with fire starters and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back and that you enjoyed lots of things about your stay. I will be investigating the beds in the mentioned cabin and put in a request to the cabin owner to have the mattresses replaced. Enjoy your day, cheers Managemnet

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Service was great, the view is amazing and atmosphere. We would come back for a drink but not again for breakfast - The breakfast is expensive for what you get, wasn't very good and not much choice. After the drive up the range it's a nice spot to stop.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dita16
Mackay Eungella C, Front Office Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed the view, atmosphere and our friendly staff. Thank you for your feed back regarding our breakfast & prices. Sorry it wasn't to your liking however we haven't had a price rise on any of our menu's for over 3 years and are very competitive with our local competition. We have 8 different choices on our...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackay
2.1 km away
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
73.7 km away
Potters Oceanside Motel
68.4 km away
Motel Northview
Motel Northview
#1 of 2 in North Mackay
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.0 km away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
69.8 km away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#10 of 34 in Mackay
100 reviews
71.8 km away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Eungella Chalet

Address: Dalrymple Heights, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Eungella Chalet Hotel Mackay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Eungella Chalet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins 1 2 3 4 one bedroom really great view. bit of a walk to carpark is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles VeronicaK557, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cabins 1 & 2 have unhindered views of the valley but all cabins have lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles 972vickig, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room with views out the front.”
  • Dusk view from Eungella Chalet
 of 5 bubbles brightonchris1, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
“check it first”
 of 5 bubbles Cybs60, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
“In winter, a cabin with a fireplace is a must!”
  • Cabin no. 1
  • Breakfast with a view
  • Landscape view from the Chalet
  • View from outside the cabin, overlooking the Chalet
 of 5 bubbles Tigerlilly8, 26 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5