We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sebel Coolangatta

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sebel Coolangatta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Coolangatta
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Mount Isa, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Loved our stay, we stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom appartment. The appartment had lovely views and the location was very good. The appartment was large. The only issues we had was that the appartment was not really well equiped for cooking with linitied pots and pans and the floor of the room was a little dirty upon arrival,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mellor_mcevoy
Reviewed 6 November 2015

The room we had on the 10th floor was modern, clean and had great views. We stayed for two nights and could walk everywhere (supermarket, restaurants, beach). A great location if you are active (walking, swimming, surfing). It offers free wifi (sometimes a bit unreliable) and the management was very friendly. Overall a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 39,044,005
Marlo, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2015

I have nothing bad to say. The view was magnificent, and spent morning coffee time watching the whales and surfers catching a wave. The rooms were clean and modern and staff friendly. I had not been to Coolangatta in over 30 years and found it refreshing and not as chaotic as other parts of the Gold Coast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at The SEBEL Coolangatta. Hopefully you will return before another 30 years has past. Kind regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2015

This is our third visit and definitely not our best. We were allegedly "upgraded" to a 3 bedroom unit but it was at the corner of the hotel, with a limited view of the beach and we were on 7th floor so people on the Cooly hill had direct view into the room. Avoid this upgrade as we thought it...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank malc027
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Hello Malcolm We do not usually reply with this tone however as we reviewed your previous feedback on trip advisor and note that you did recommend guests to stay between levels 5 and 8 and we also note that when you stayed on level 5 you were also straight opposite the hill and on that occasion you had no complaint....

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2015

This is the second time we have stayed here and we will definitely be returning. The hotel has a very relaxed and calm feel to it from the moment you enter the lobby. A fantastic location with great views and close to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We chose The Sebel Coolangatta for its location and we were not disappointed, we arrived late but the manager arranged for us to collect a key to get inside, we awoke the next morning to a glorious sunrise and the sound of waves crashing in was bliss. We had breakfast in the morning on our balcony and 3 out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CocotheClown2015
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Thank you for your splendid review of The Sebel Coolangatta. Your compliments are so welcoming for our future guests. Thank you for your comments regarding the managers and the comments of the local are. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards Mike & Sue

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Four days of bliss in a very nice apartment , great views and we saw whales every day from our balcony . I used the gym and pool , very clean and the bed was comfortable and rooms spacious and nice art work and decor .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hayley430
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Ladies the pleasure was all ours. We are so pleased you enjoyed our penthouse and great that you shared your tip having coffee and eating at the Hair Colour Cafe down below. All the best Mike

Western Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Spent 3 nights at the Sebel Coolangatta and it was amazing. The staff are more than accommodating and very helpful with everything. The views are absolutely amazing and the property is really lovely. Heated outdoor pool, beautiful BBQ area, really nice apartments. Situated in the heart of everything, food, shopping, beach seriously what more could you want. Comfortable beds, modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimber64
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The SEBEL Coolangatta. we are pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to your return visit. Regards Mike

Riyadh
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

The Sebel deserves its good rating on tripadvisor. The building is about 10 years old which makes it younger than the majority of the apartments on the Gold Coast. We are Accor advantage so we got a really good rate on our 2 bedroom apartment which was on the 3rd floor but still had a reasonable ocean view. The apartment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GribbsRiyadh
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the SEBEL Coolangatta. We are especially pleased that you commented on our review rating at that we deserve. I trust we will see you again in the future. Kind regards Mike

Minyama, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Fantastic experience...we had a 1 bedroom unit, which overlooked Coolangatta Beach. The room was fantastic and very tastefully decorated. The room included an office, about the size of a small bedroom, a laundry, fully self contained kitchen with full size fridge and freezer. The bedroom was also stunning with a dressing room/walk in wardrobe and a beautiful bathroom. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this review

Hi Lesley We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and also pleased you gave such a detailed description of our facilities and hi-lighted our free WiFi for guests. I have no doubt we will see you again in the future. All the best Mike

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.7 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
385 reviews
0.5 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
879 reviews
1.0 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
0.8 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,184 reviews
0.6 km away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#7 of 12 in Coolangatta
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sebel Coolangatta offers our guests luxury accomodation with ocean views from each of our air conditioned, spacious 1, 2 or 3br apartments and a fabulous lagoon swimming pool. The Sebel Coolangatta is perfectly positioned opposite Coolangatta Beach, close to shops, restaurants,cafes,clubs,cinemas and only a few minutes drive to the Gold Coast Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sebel Coolangatta

Address: 3 McLean Street, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Coolangatta)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Price Range: $217 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Coolangatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sebel Coolangatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Coolangatta Gold Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sebel Coolangatta staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Sebel Coolangatta staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay on a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles RoderickW001, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just Dont book at the Sebal Coolangatta choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles celestemadden73, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors would have less traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles 686katya, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles Debbie591, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get as high as possible”
 of 5 bubbles donw336, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5