We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 492: English reviews
Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Small but very comfortable room with partial ocean views. Clean and well equipped with a comfortable bed. The pool is great although shallow and the location is handy to eveything. My only complaint is there is no option to hire pool towels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Di S
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Di Thanks for your feedback it is always good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. We do have pool towels available at reception for hire we apologise you were not made aware of this during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a night here while attending a conference @ nearby Twin Towns Conference venue. It's been a while since we initially stayed here (just after opening) so it's looking a little tired. All the same good clean Accommodation, friendly & efficient staff. Good central location in Coolangatta & close to beach, particularly for families in holiday times Rates are good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peter K, Thanks for taking the time to offer your valuable comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is always great to receive feedback to help us to maintain and improve our standards. We are currently at the end of a Room Refurbishment so all our rooms will be fresh and refurbished next time you stay. And we...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at Calypso, but although the rooms (we had 2 adjoining rooms as there was 5 of us) were clean and a good size the furniture didn't suit. TV cabinet in lounge area was much too big and took up space and obscured the ocean view from the kitchen area. In the adjoining room I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Liz G Thank you for taking the time to post comments regarding your recent stay we really appreciate your valuable comments. I know exactly the apartment you stayed in and all your comments have been passed onto the owner for consideration. The furniture will be replaced and we agree it is not what we would like to see in...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a 5 day break at Oaks. This is the third time here and it didnt disappoint except we could not get a room overlooking the pool as they were booked out. We had a room overlooking the town, however we requested and got a room on the third floor which helped with the town noise. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer038
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Frequent Flyer038 Thanks for your feedback it is always good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. It is a great place to stay and we love getting return guests, I am sorry you didn't get the pool view. I am glad you got to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on a third level, beach front room that although very small was more than satisfactory. Like most units owned by investors you inherit all their old furniture and goods and chattels. We had a great looking recliner chair in our room 361 only to find out it was out of stuffing and very uncomfortable. There were also no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, You are correct - all units here at Oaks Calypso Plaza are individually owned and a portion are managed by Oaks Hotels & Resorts. We have recently undergone refurbishment of our units here with the feedback being on the whole very positive. The unit you have recently stayed...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were on a budget for our weekend away so were unsure of what we were going to get when we booked our stay for 2 nights under $500 but we couldn't be happier!!! Perfect location restaurants shops bars & beach right on our doorstep, the room is well appointed, modern, clean & comfortable! Staff are lovely. Balcony is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melsylovesluke
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mel, Thanks for the fantastic review!! Great to hear your stay with us met or even surpassed your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering an excellent product combined with excellent service, so I am happy we've been able to reach these standards during your stay. We thoroughly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Whyalla, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we recently stayed at the Calypso at Coolangatta, we used our timeshare for a weeks holiday. it is the 1st time we had stayed at a resort with some time share rooms, rather than a full time share resort. While there are some little extras (free wifi) that we didn't get we found the staff very friendly and helpful (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed our time with here. We hope you can return soon. With regards to the wireless situation, all Oaks bookings receive a minimum 30mins complimentary WiFi every 24 hours, with some bookings including WiFi free of charge. Timeshare rooms have not agreed to be part of this scheme meaning we are...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a twin room got a single bed. Said they were sold out but didn't offer any solutions either like offering to help us with setting up a sofa bed or a possibility of a spare mattress or a discount. Kept reiterating that they couldn't do anything and if she had a twin room then she would give it to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabby B
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gabby, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I was disappointed to hear your stay was not what you expected and I apologise for any inconveniences experienced throughout your stay. If you would like to discuss your booking with us in person so we can improve for future stays, I would welcome your...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Once again we have had an awesome stay at the Calypso, it really is our favourite and we stay there around 3 times a year and have never had a problem. It is great for families my grandchildren stay there and their pool is amazing suitable for toddlers and older children and us adults. Rooms are spacious and you a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janny1951
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Janny1951, Thanks for the great review. We really enjoy hearing feedback from return guests such as yourself. We're glad you have had a ball with us once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Oaks Calypso is a great place to stay. It offers self catering units and yet all restaurants and shops are handy. It has a good secure carpark. My husband and I stay there about 4 times are year. We prefer the refurbished units and those with sea views- called poolside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aml4152
ManagerCalypso, Front Office Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear aml4152, Thank you for the review. Our newly refurbished "Premier" apartments are proving a real hit with our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your time here with us. Many thanks & we'll see you soon

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.1 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
704 reviews
1.3 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
361 reviews
0.5 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.2 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
2,527 reviews
0.2 km away
Ocean Plaza Resort
Ocean Plaza Resort
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oaks Calypso Plaza is a 4.5 star resort centrally located in the heart of Coolangatta, minutes from the airport and a variety of Gold Coast attractions and is located opposite the beautiful Coolangatta Beach. The resort features one and two bedroom self-contained apartments with full kitchen and laundry facilities, most with sheltered balconies that provide ocean or hinterland views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Address: 99 Griffith St, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Price Range: $144 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Calypso Plaza Hotel Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort Coolangatta, Gold Coast
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor for pool access”
 of 5 bubbles 845dis, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if the stay is more than 1 night need a suite for better facilities”
 of 5 bubbles lizg192, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for a pool view room as it is a lot quieter and the view is excellant.”
 of 5 bubbles Frequentflyer038, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I prefer the pool level as it is great for kids coming in and out.”
 of 5 bubbles Janny1951, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Better views on floor 4 on”
 of 5 bubbles aml4152, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay