We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nirvana By The Sea

Save
Share
1 Douglas St Kirra QLD, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225 Australia
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (358)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (287)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 11 hotels in Coolangatta
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Nirvana by the Sea Coolangatta has redefined Kirra's beachfront esplanade, creating a new class of holiday apartment. 5 min to Coolangatta Airport Nirvana is the pinnacle of luxury accommodation. Designer life spaces resonating with stylish opulence that capture panoramic views of Queensland’s most famous beach.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Sauna
Complimentary tea
Game room
Car hire
Spa
Steam room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

Full view
81Good for walkers
Grade: 81 out of 100
23Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
584Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 443
  • 106
  • 22
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Christine J wrote a review 1 Apr
Bargara, Australia283 contributions84 helpful votes
This was our second stay at Nirvana by the Sea - the last time was 6 years ago and things have certainly changed since then. We were initially given a 2 bed apartment on the 4th floor that was less than satisfactory - damp smell, furniture and carpet in desperate need of a good steam clean, just generally not pleasant. Our stay was for 10 nights and there was no way we were going to stay in that room for that length of time. The manager was fantastic in moving us the next day to a better apartment on the next floor up. This one was clean, better presented, and just had a nicer feel about it. We commented that our last stay was on the 14th floor looking directly across to the ocean - all these apartments have apparently been sold. I have to say that for the cost of the apartment we could probably have stayed somewhere else in the area in something similar for a lot less. Having said that, you can't fault the location being across the road from the beach, close to some restaurants and walking distance to the main street of Cooly. There was plenty of room in the apartment, a lovely balcony with table and chairs to watch the passing traffic, full laundry, well kitted out kitchen, comfortable bed, bathroom/ensuite with venetian blinds and frosted glass for privacy, hot shower with good pressure. There is a gym available on the ground floor but it's really only equipped to handle one person at a time as the weight station is a combined system. There is also a sauna/steam room. There is a pool available also but we spent our days at the beach. Secure free parking is available under the building. Overall we enjoyed our stay but feel that the cost was high for what we got - particularly for the first apartment we were given. Our expectations were based on our first experience here 6 years ago, and it wasn't the same.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Check your room before accepting - you may need to change it.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Wang, General Manager at Nirvana By The Sea
Responded 6 days ago
Hi there Christine, Thank you for your review of your most recent holiday with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience at the start of your holiday. But we are pleased to hear that this was resolved for you in a timely manner at the time this incident occurred during your stay. Here at Nirvana, we have different apartment categories on different floors. For example, our “Beach View” Category apartments are generally located between Levels 3 to 6. Our “Ocean View” Category apartments are located between Levels 7 to 13. For any future stays, please always feel free to contact us directly over the phone and speak to our lovely staff about your desired booking, so that we can ensure to provide you with all available options so you can decide what suits you the best. It sometimes makes it easier as well, to advise of any special preferences you may have. This can include your Level preference, bedding or view preference. Thank you for all your wonderful feedback about our apartments, the facilities and the location. We do hope to welcome you back for another holiday soon, Christine. And please contact us directly to make any future bookings, so we can ensure to look after you as a return guest. Kind regards, Nirvana by the Sea.
Read more
Stephen W wrote a review Mar 2021
Berwick, Australia5 contributions
We had the most wonderful experience with the team at Nirvana by the Sea in unexpected circumstances. We booked our first holiday away with our 18 month old and started our trip booking the gorgeous sub penthouse apartment in the hotel. The setting was immaculate and views were stunning! Unforeseen freak weather however hit the coast soon after we arrived (with 3 days non stop torrential rain!) and unexpectedly in the middle of our first night we discovered water flooding the kitchen via a light fixture (which turned out to be caused by a rooftop blocked drain which was caused by all the extreme rain - no fault of the hotels). We called the team straight away who dealt with the situation with complete sincere concern and attention for us and our baby, and despite it being the middle of the night in a fully booked building they managed to find an apartment to move us to, and made sure we had every comfort necessary. The whole rest of our stay may not have been in our intended apartment but was regardless a wonderful experience and the team were so conscientious to make sure we had everything we needed. And on top of that they even refunded our stay in full to apologise for the situation. Given the extreme weather was no ones fault they looked after us better than we could have expected and we would have no hesitation to recommend such a beautiful and well situated hotel to anyone visiting Coolangatta. Thank you to Barbara and all the team at Nirvana for a lovely stay and we’ll look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Wang, General Manager at Nirvana By The Sea
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there N6772CFstephenw, Thank you so much for amazing review. We are so very grateful that you took the time to elaborate what has happened during your stay with us here at Nirvana. As you mentioned, the torrential rain during your holiday was terrible and created issues in the apartment that you were staying in. We were so pleased to be able to find you another apartment where we could accommodate you and your little family safely. Sadly, it wasn’t of the same apartment category that you had originally booked with us. Thank you for being absolutely amazing about this whole process. It wouldn’t have been the same outcome if you and your family hadn’t been so understanding and cooperative when dealing with the issues. We simply cannot wait to have you back here at Nirvana, but during much nicer weather and staying in one of our Sub Penthouse apartments so you actually get to experience this beautiful unit and the private rooftop Pool and Barbecue Area that this apartment comes with. Thank you for your lovely feedback about Barbara and our staff here at Nirvana. We all tried our best to make this holiday experience as good as possible for you, especially after the scenario with the rain. Thank you again for your amazing feedback and being so understanding of the situation. We are looking forward to having you and your lovely family back for a well-deserved, sunny holiday soon! Kind regards, Nirvana by the Sea.
Read more
Jackie wrote a review Mar 2021
Melbourne Australia1 contribution
We stayed 5 nights in the sub penthouse, it was jaw dropping beautiful. From the amazing views , decor , ammenities, to our private roof top pool with BBQ. Staff at reception were very friendly & happy. (Always a fantastic sign) Doug the manager was beyond helpful when we had to reschedule our first trip due to covid boarder closures. I booked originally through Bookings.com a big mistake as they didn’t reply to my cancellation emails or answer calls. , Doug spent time to call them & sort it all out, which he didn’t have to. Make sure you book through the hotel it’s self , you will also get a cheaper rate. Doug is real great guy & enjoys a laugh with everyone. Kirra beach across the road was beautiful, the sand was soft & fine. There are plenty of nice restaurants in walking distance. On a nice afternoon I recommend going to The rainbow bay life saving club & watch the sunset across the sea with a cold one in hand. We watched some dolphins diving around the surfers. It was amazing. We definitely will be back ... as soon as we can. Thank you Nirvana by the sea
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Wang, General Manager at Nirvana By The Sea
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi There Nakita The whole team here at Nirvana are delighted you enjoyed your time with us, after several attempts to make it happen. The close proximity of all amenities does make Nirvana an ideal location for both relaxing beach breaks and dinning/entertainment, with several great surf clubs and many restaurants and locations to explore. Please call us direct when re booking to receive a return guest Discount. Again thank you for your gracious comments and keep smiling Doug
Read more
Jenny M wrote a review Jan 2021
Safety Beach, Australia2 contributions
Beautiful ocean view apartments. Staff friendly and very helpful. Stayed 7 nights and loved it! Across the road from the beach. Great resturants and cafes below. Nice heated outdoor pool, spa & bbq area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Wang, General Manager at Nirvana By The Sea
Responded 10 Jan 2021
Hello Jenny M Thank you for your 5 star review. We do thank you for taking the time to place this review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again. Regards Nirvana by the Sea
Read more
LuxuryTraveller32 wrote a review Dec 2020
Brisbane, Australia38 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed in the sub-penthouse for 6 nights. Great apartment on 15th floor with spectacular ocean views from the living area and main bedroom. Spacious apartment which was really well appointed. Everything you need! This apartment comes with a private pool on the roof which was really lovely. The pool also had brilliant views of the beach and a bbq area which we used. The fact it was on the roof was surprising to us as based on the photos it appeared to be part of the apartment (but ultimately this didn’t make a difference except I was less inclined to let kids stay there solo). The apartments are in a good location with restaurant options within walking distance. We had absolutely appalling weather on this trip so unfortunately didn’t make the most of the pool or the beach (the beach was closed for swimming for the whole stay). The torrential weather was also a problem in terms of leaks in the apartment with a bad leak in the second bedroom which meant that beds had to be moved with kids having to sleep right next to each other (not ideal). Another bad leak in the living area. The conditions were terrible so I doubt that most people staying would have this issue. That being said it was disappointing considering the price point. I would definitely consider staying here again. It’s a great apartment complex in a great location. When considering booking make sure you consider the unit you book. Lower floors may have bad traffic noise as the noise was still significant at the top. Some units could also have rubbish views overlooking the carpark across the road so do your research. Suggestion to management - add a chromecast to the TV so people can stream. The room had heaps of DVDs which is a nice touch but outdated. Photo of views attached.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Wang, General Manager at Nirvana By The Sea
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Hi there LuxuryTraveller32, Thank you very much for the most wonderful review of your recent holiday with us at Nirvana by the Sea. It makes us so happy to know that you enjoyed staying in one of our beautiful Two Bedroom Sub Penthouse units. The private rooftop Pool and Barbecue Area sure is the highlight of the unit, as well as the breathtaking views towards Kirra Beach and Coolangatta Beach. We are normally blessed with Queensland’s nice sunny weather throughout the year, however we do occasionally get rain here at Kirra Beach. Unfortunately, this aspect is out of our control. When making a booking with us, please talk to our staff about your view and level preference, so that we can ensure to book you in an apartment that suits your needs and preferences the best. Thank you for all additional feedback and suggestions. We will make sure to pass all this information on to our management here at Nirvana by the Sea. We hope to welcome you back at Nirvana soon for another holiday. Kind regards, Nirvana by the Sea.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 125 - USD 191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastCoolangatta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nirvana By The Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Nirvana By The Sea?
Nearby attractions include Greenmount Beach (0.4 km) and Tweed Valley (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nirvana By The Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Nirvana By The Sea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Nirvana By The Sea?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Nirvana By The Sea?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nirvana By The Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include My Gelato Kirra, St Helens, and Cafe Kirra.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nirvana By The Sea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Nirvana By The Sea located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Coolangatta.
Are any cleaning services offered at Nirvana By The Sea?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nirvana By The Sea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Does Nirvana By The Sea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.