We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Showcase on the Beach Shopping 80 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225 Australia
Lock in great prices from these sites
Priceline
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (184)
360
Panoramas (23)
Room & Suite (250)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#7 of 12 hotels in Coolangatta
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are located on the beach in the heart of Coolangatta with every apartment boasting ocean views. The facilities include heated pool and spa, gym, two full size tennis courts, games room, BBQ area that over looks the ocean and is attached to the Showcase Mall. We offer spacious self contained apartments with FREE WiFi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Game room
Kids pool
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Tennis court
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Spa
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Bay View
342Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 151
  • 118
  • 33
  • 20
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jarrod N wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
No blankets on arrival, sliding door handle broke , 1970 baths tap came off , dishwasher top draw falls out , curtain rail in bedroom falling off , mould in showers ,mould in vents , dent in bath, mould on curtains , rust on bathroom lights, carpet had its own identity was old ripped stained and stunk. Toilet seat not the right one for the pan . Foyer to lift on floor was never cleaned in the 11 days we stayed it was filthy and stunk. Mid clean of unit happened on day 8 of 11 day stay, why did you bother you couldn’t even top up the tea and coffee ! Asked for toilet paper wouldn’t give any. Broken tile in spa and the bits from it. The carpet in lifts is stained and totally disgusting. The noise from the aircon from the complex underneath is load.. street noise from 12 am on, but they can’t control that but you will hear it. TV reception is extremely poor same with internet keeps dropping out. They have even decided that they will only provide 9 am departure or charge an 80 dollar per hour They will not assist DO NOT SPEND YOUR HARD EARNED DOLLARS AT THIS PLACE Every high rise on the strip has amazing views go elsewhere!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay at another complex !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kelstar2014 wrote a review June 2022
Brisbane, Australia41 contributions33 helpful votes
After waiting around 9 months for our stay due to Covid restrictions and border closures, we were so excited to finally be able to have our weekend at Ocean Plaza. The booking was for a special occassion - a gift to our father for his 70th birthday, someone that never takes trips away. So we had requested a high room so he could have those spectacular views of the beach and really enjoy this gift. This was something that I had requested from the very beginning 9 months ago, and continued to request each time we unfortunately had to change our booking dates. We were allocated level 5, which you wouldn’t think was too bad. But it was basically views of the concrete paths and walls, with a small area having an ocean glimple. So you can imagine our disappointment. We were told they were fully booked, but after having our request in place for so long, you would think we could have had some sort of chance at getting a high floor. We checked in at 2pm, and when we got to the room they hadn’t finished cleaning - so we had to leave the apartment to allow the room to be finished. Although not a huge deal, but again disappointing. Then the room… the furniture was clean and modern, which was nice and although recently cleaned it really did need some maintenance. The walls are dirty and scuffed. The curtains in the lounge room were difficult to move and wouldn’t fully open due to the rust in the tracks. We tried to contact reception with a question about the facilities and the phone didn’t work. The kitchen seemed to have issues with fruit flies. The plates and cups in the kitchen were all dirty (I guess that’s what happens when guests are left to clean up for themselves). The front door safety latch was broken - half of it was missing and therefore you couldn’t lock the door. There was a massive modem style device on the bedside table in the main bedroom, and in this modern time I would think the main bedroom would have a TV. No we didn’t complain during our stay, we were initially told they were fully booked so what was the point. I understand these are older apartments, but it doesn’t mean they can’t do a few things to keep the apartments up to date. Paying $230 a night I expected a lot more. Ocean Plaza has always been a favourite due to the location and overall experience, unfortunately not any more. We were actually pretty embarassed that this apartment was our gift to dad, and a gift he had waited so long to take. Also, just to point out - I sent the same review to the hotel when we were asked for our feedback following the stay. A couple of months has passed and I’ve had no response from them at all. But I’m sure they’ll berate me here, like they have with anyone else who provides feedback that isn’t positive.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Building Manager, Other at Ocean Plaza Resort
Responded 20 June 2022
Hi Kelstar 2014, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, next time you come to Coolangatta you will be able to pay a higher price elsewhere to be guaranteed of the unit you pick. From there you will be able to look at Ocean plaza resort and see the satisfied guests on their Balcony enjoying the awesome Ocean Views that are visible from every aapartment. kind regards Building Manager
Read more
Caz L wrote a review June 2022
4 contributions
Last year I booked a stay at Ocean Plaza paying a deposit which I was told would be refunded if Covid 19 restrictions prevented my travel. My big mistake was taking the receptionist at her word, and not getting it in writing. When my trip was cancelled due to locked borders, they refused to return the deposit. I was given a credit voucher for future use. I now find In order to claim the voucher I must stay at least two nights. With their prices increased and the extreme rudeness of the manager, I would never stay there again. I have booked a superior resort who do not demand deposit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Service
Room Tip: double check details before booking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Building Manager, Other at Ocean Plaza Resort
Responded 20 June 2022
Hi 339caz, Thank you for your feedback regarding your booking at Ocean Plaza Resort, any deposits paid for bookings that were cancelled as a result of lockdowns or guest inability to travel were honoured. All guests were advised that even though the deposits were nonrefundable we were giving all guests a refund of the deposit by way of a credit that could be used for a future booking. We have always had a minimum 2 night stay at Ocean Plaza Resort and a search of our competitors rates on Marine Parade in Coolangatta will reveal that our rates are competitive. Unfortunately some people seem to struggle to understand or accept what they are told so they find it easier to claim the person giving the information is extremely rude. From my situation as Manager of Ocean Plaza Resort for over 5 years I have found that since Covid 19 people have unrealistic expectations. Kind Regards Building Manager
Read more
Michelle H wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions
Visited in January 2021 and going back again this July. Have been to Coolangatta many times in the last 7 years and this place was fantastic to stay at. Excellent pool and location. Loved the pool. Unbeatable views but would really like to encourage apartment owners in this building to put up window treatments that block out a lot more light at night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Building Manager, Other at Ocean Plaza Resort
Responded 2 May 2022
Hi michellehF5648FX, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are very pleased to hear that you loved the awesome ocean views and Pool and Spa. All our apartments have spectacular ocean views and the Pool and Spa are heated all year round for guests and residents pleasure. Our apartments are all individually owned and the furnishings and decor reflect the tastes of the owners. We are looking forward to your next visit in July. Kind regards Building Manager
Read more
Bec wrote a review Apr 2022
Melbourne, Australia121 contributions83 helpful votes
We stayed for a week over Easter and had the best holiday. I had low expectations after reading some reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. The location is excellent! It’s literally in the heart of Coolangatta. The pool & spa is fantastic, beautifully heated so we swam everyday. The room itself was fine! Very spacious, loved the free foxtel. The bathrooms were pretty basic, but completely fine. I think people just expect too much these days. For what we paid I feel like it’s excellent value for money. Will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Building Manager, Other at Ocean Plaza Resort
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Hi BecM_Aus, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza Resort, your honest and fair review is appreciated. Our entire team work hard to ensure our guests have the best possible time in Coolangatta however as you quite rightly say some guests expectations are higher than the price bracket we work within. All of our apartments have awesome ocean views and Coolangatta beach is directly across the road, the Pool and Spa are heated 365 days per year. All our Units have unlimited free wifi, free casting on our 55" Smart TV's and 90 Foxtel Channels. We also provide free access to Surf Cams on our TV's and Website. All of our apartments are privately owned and reflect the tastes of the owner, in some cases guests tastes differ to that of the owner. Kind regards Building Manager
Read more
Bob S wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
We chose the Resort and Coolangatta having stayed in Surfers the last few times on GC and wanted a change of location. We were attracted by the size of the apartments, the proximity to supplies and the beautiful beach. We were pleased to be granted a high level apartment and an earlier check in as we arrived at GC quite early. It was a great start to our short getaway to be greeted by the stunning views of the beach, surf and Surfers Paradise on the horizon. The sunsets were also lovely to experience. To add some backstory to this review, I had read some very negative feedback from other guests in this forum so had a little bit of trepidation before we arrived but I can honestly say this was negated by the overall experience. It needs to be remembered that the apartments are privately owned and it is not a hotel so a level of self sufficiency is required but that is well communicated and in my view leaved little to be desired. If there is a criticism it is that a lick of paint could be applied and I'm not sure how many apartments that applies to but in all honesty it had no impact on our stay. Again, we considered the value for money in tandem with the location, space, views and access to everything we needed. Sure, a 5 star hotel might have shinier door knobs but you would pay double and then some to stay there. This "travel Guide" gives 5 stars!! ps - be aware that many of the local eateries are not open on Monday and Tuesday so head to Woolies and grab your own ingredients for a night in or two.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Building Manager, Other at Ocean Plaza Resort
Responded 24 Mar 2022
Hi BobsR7132Cl, Thank you so much for your honest review of your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are happy to hear you enjoyed the switch from Surfers Paradise to Coolangatta. The size of our apartments is generous and our location is superb with Coolangatta Beach directly across Marine Parade and the Strand Shopping Centre is part of our complex with Woolies, numerous restaurants and bars, specialty fashion shops, doctors, chemists and so much more. We are looking forward to seeing you again at coolangatta again soon. Kind regards Building Manager
Read more
J Fish wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Pool closed for 4 days, all of our trip. Poor communication from management. When asked for a late check out for compensation due to pool closure got no response. Great view and location, apartment tired.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Building Manager, Other at Ocean Plaza Resort
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Hi W7546TTjuliao, Thank you for your third inaccurate review of your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, as I have explained to you and on other platforms there was work planned to replace an expansion joint that had failed and was leaking into a tenancy below the Pool that was expected to take just a few hours however when the job was started the contractors found loose tiles and movement in the substrate that required all the tiles to be removed, the area repaired and new tiles laid. All this was explained to you in an email in responce to your question. As I pointed out Ocean Plaza Resort do not own the Pool & Spa, it is owned by The Body Corporate and if you have a problem with the Body Corporate maintaining the property in good condition for everyone's safety and enjoyment you should take up the matter with them not Ocean Plaza Resort who were also inconvenienced by this work. Kind regards Building Manager
Read more
Cathy B wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
this place needs a major overhall...1st night here '3' cleaners came up to clean the kitchen sink! we never asked for them. 2nd night a fuse blew,guy came up & fixed it. View is wonderful, but who can live with so much filth! skirting boards,power points,showers (so much more) was gross. Walls need repainting, windows cleaned,air con replaced. Hell I could go on forever, but I will stop now,unless it has a huge make-over we will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Building Manager, Other at Ocean Plaza Resort
Responded 20 Feb 2022
Hi Barry Manchild, What a coincidence, we had a maintenance person who started working at Ocean Plaza Resort who left abruptly the day this profile was set up on trip Advisor because he was unable to do the job we required. It is interesting you mention a dirty sink, the same maintenance person didn't follow instructions and stained the sink and then the next coincidence is the day the maintenance man left abruptly it coincidentally happened a circuit breaker was tripped that left a large portion of the building with TV and Foxtel which affected a large number of Guests and residents and incurred a sizeable account from electricians to trace the problem. The circuit was turned on again and to date has not tripped so it appears the circuit was maliciously tripped, very chidish behaviour for a person in their 50's. So it seems the the place doesn't need an overhaul, the problem has been fixed thankfully by the incompetant maintenance person leaving abruptly. Regards, Building Manager
Read more
Colleen B wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Don't stay at Ocean Plaza Resort as you pay the same price for a renovated or unrenovated apartment. The mattress in main bedroom is lower one side. In second bedroom, single beds are not long enough for adults. The photos on their website are deceptive. Customer service does not exist. Any complaints are met with threats. Staff are not wearing masks although they say the resort is covid safe.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Building Manager, Other at Ocean Plaza Resort
Responded 20 Feb 2022
Colleen, You have well and truly aired your frivolous complaints on every platform available. i am not going to waste any more time commenting. Building Manager
Read more
Garth J wrote a review Jan 2022
Brisbane, Australia10 contributions4 helpful votes
5 Day stay in January 2022 & we left wanting to come back next week. Outstanding facility with lovely breezy rooms, outstanding views over Greenmount & Coolangatta. Hot days but didn't even require the air-con such was the nice breezes coming through. The high 20th floor level helped! We are an elderly couple so didn't use much of the amentities, but from what we saw, they have everything, even golf driving nets! Great place for a family holiday with a great pool, tennis courts, golf, Gym etc. Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. We even got an early check-in! Fantastic location for us as shopping is just downstairs and local RSL club & many restaurants within easy walking distance. Very safe place at night. Will certainly be coming back as we are already looking at dates for another great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Request a high level room as long as you don't have a height phobia!! Outstanding views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Building Manager, Other at Ocean Plaza Resort
Responded 20 Feb 2022
Hi Garth J Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities Ocean Plaza Resort and Coolangatta have for guests to use and enjoy. The gentle ocean breezes provide a pleasant environment in the spacious apartments for guests to enjoy while they take in the awesome ocean vistas that every apartment has. We are looking forward to greeting you oth again soon for another dose of Vitaminn C. Kind regards Building Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 154 - USD 320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean plaza hotel coolangatta
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastCoolangatta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Plaza Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Plaza Resort?
Nearby attractions include Timezone Coolangatta (0.05 km), The Strand at Coolangatta (0.1 km), and Coolangatta Sands Hotel (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Plaza Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a fitness centre, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean Plaza Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Plaza Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Ocean Plaza Resort?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Plaza Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gallura Italian, Bondi Grill'e Steakhouse & Seafood, and Cafe Scooterini.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ocean Plaza Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Ocean Plaza Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Ocean Plaza Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Ocean Plaza Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Coolangatta.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ocean Plaza Resort?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Ocean Plaza Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.