We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western City Sands

Hotwire.comUSD 119*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 119*
USD 119*
USD 119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western City Sands
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Best Western City Sands
See the most recent reviews
Showing 227: English reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

I've stayed in many Best Westerns in the past. I've been staying in hotels for more than 10 years now for work. This review is exceptional for me: We didn't know the Chekout time was so early (10 am). We assumed it was either 11 or 12 as usual. We missed it, it happens and I've had hotels deal with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
Lynn C, Room Division Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this review

Good Morning Carlos L, Thank you for taking the time to submit your recent review. I am very sorry that you had an unpleasant experience with the check out procedure. We do have standard times for check in and check out to ensure that housekeeping has enough time to present neat, clean welcoming rooms for all our guests. These maybe...

Mudgee, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Fantastic location, our room overlooked the beach with the sounds of the surf breaking so close by, very relaxing. the food at the club downstairs was terrific the staff very attentive and professional

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidZ1396EG
Lynn C, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this review

Good Morning davidZ139EG, We are very pleased you had a great stay in Wollongong. We are very lucky to overlook the golf course and beach and it is wonderful to see that all aspects of the club was enjoyed. Thank you for the kind review. We look forward to seeing you again, Lynn Costlow

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

What an amazing to stay. This was my first stay here and I am very impressed. Not only with the amazing water view but with the staff and the quality of food. Not only did the staff set up a nice little table for one but recommend a beautiful dessert. Highly recommended for business or personal getaway. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicSull1
Lynn C, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Nicsull1, We are very happy you had a great trip to Wollongong. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the club and its facilities. Thank you for the kind review, we do hope to see in the very near future. See you soon, Lynn

Newcastle
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I stayed in this hotel for two nights while looking for a house to rent in the area. My room over looked the golf course and the ocean. It was clean and spacious, with a small kitchen area including a microwave and fridge. The hotel is very much for golfers, but is still a good base for touring around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scotty15
Lynn C, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Scotty15, Thank you for your review. I apologise about the golfers - we will have a quiet word them about their morning volume. They are very excited to tee off. We are very pleased to see that enjoyed the area and the hotel and we hope to see you in the near future - a quiet future. Kind...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I had a mountain view room which is OK however the amenities and rooms are bit dated. Terrible fluorescent tube lighting and no lamps shows they could have spent a little more effort to make it comfortable. Also there seems to be lots of rules and penalties regarding what you can and can't do, and I just hate hotels like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Lynn C, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this review

Good Morning Youtube A, Thank you for your recent review. I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your time with us. We do update the rooms periodically, however thank you for letting us know that this needs to be looked into. I am sorry about the pool, however, we do the beach a few minutes walk and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Visited wollongong for the weekend to attend an event, hotel is quite centrally located to the main part of wollongong, shame there is no assistance with luggage. Car park is is just one big carpark used by both hotel guests and the golfers playing at the course attached to this hotel. Room was clean and spacious, a few signs of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Binny111
Lynn C, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Binny111, We are happy you had a satisfying stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that the reception staff were not very friendly. I will speak with all the staff involved and have some retraining done with them. Thank you for letting us know. We hope to see you on the next trip to the Wollongong...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Excellent location. Accommodation consists of living area, small kitchenette with microwave, separate bedroom and bathroom with walk in shower. The room we had did not have a bath. We had a room at the back overlooking the golf course and the beach. Large balcony but we had to ask for table and chairs to sit out on. Large car park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 900cook
Lynn C, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 900cook, Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to see you had a wonderful stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel and the area. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards, Lynn

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Would stay again without hesitation. Excellent courteous service, clean comfortable rooms. The motel is well located to shops (Aldi, Woolworths) and public transport. There is a free shuttle bus in front of the Council chambers in Burelli Street

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philipjevans1
Lynn C, Rooms Division Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Philipjevans1, I am very happy to enjoyed your recent time in Wollongong. Thank you for taking the time to share these kind thoughts, we look forward to seeing you back in the near future. Happy Travels, Lynn

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Room is spacious and clean Staff are friendly and helpful I wouldn't call it a mountain view room but very nice none the less I suppose the greatest let down was international roast instant coffee. This needs to be looked at. I need a decent coffee in private of a morning before I surface. Surprised that not even a cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I was here earlier this month and said I would definitely be back. So here I am now sitting in my lovely room writing this review. I did write a positive review after my last stay however it hasn't shown in the latest reviews?? I raved so much to my other half after my last stay about the stunning view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah852_13

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.7 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.8 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.2 km away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
266 reviews
1.2 km away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
228 reviews
0.7 km away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Best Western City Sands

Address: | Corner Of Bank And Corrimal Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range: $144 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western City Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western City Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club Hotel Wollongong
Best Western Wollongong
Wollongong Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western City Sands staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western City Sands staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front rooms overlooking ocean”
I9730NUrogerg, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“A few rooms have spas. Check direct with the hotel if booking sites show no availability, as they often have extra rooms”
GeoffS714, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Request room overlooking the golf course, if possible”
I4379EBalanp, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are all good, all with views. there are some two bedroom suites.”
noelm779, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea veiw rooms with balcony to enjoy , and fresh air.”
aussiespecial, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 119* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 119
PricelineUSD 119
TravelocityUSD 119
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates