We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Save
Share
2-14 Cliff Rd, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
USD 160
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/22
Traveluro
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (692)
Room & Suite (309)
Dining (33)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 16 in Wollongong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located just one and a half hours south of Sydney in the beautiful Illawarra, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach is one of New South Wales’s most popular getaway and business venues. Situated opposite North Wollongong beach, the 4 1/2 star hotel boasts 209 accommodation rooms and spa suites featuring stunning ocean and mountain views. The hotel caters for both the leisure and business traveller, offering a range of facilities and services including a swimming pool, spa, sauna, fitness centre, day spa, restaurant and two bars.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Car park
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Park View
Languages Spoken
English
2751Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 977
  • 1,083
  • 452
  • 154
  • 85
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Edi A wrote a review 7 May
1 contribution
My husband and I were only staying 1 night in the Novotel. The room we got was amazing, we booked a beachfront queen room and they must of upgraded us to a King Suite. Absolutely stunning, everything was large clean and contemporary decor. Luxurious bed. Simply a stunning stay. We were so thankful for the upgrade. Very blessed
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadine Ramzan, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Edi A, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you and your Husband enjoyed your recent stay with us, and appreciate your positive comments on our room features. The team at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Nadine
Read more
BM0774 wrote a review 4 May
1 contribution
We have stayed at the Novotel in Wollongong many times, however, last time was the best yet! We were more than impressed with the food, the staff, our room and the amenities. The staff were so friendly and attentive, nothing was too hard. The food in the restaurant was incredible, we had the best stake we have ever eaten and we had a lovely time relaxing in the bar before dinner. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadine Ramzan, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear BM0774, Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review, and for rating us 5/5. It was a pleasure to hear that your last stay was the best yet, and also to read your positive comments about your experience at Palisade Kitchen & Bar, the service provided by our staff, your room features and our facilities. I will share your feedback with our team, and am sure that they will serve as an encouragement as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. The team at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another excellent stay. Kind regards, Nadine
Read more
Katie H wrote a review 4 May
Cairns Region, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
Agree with last review we must of had the same room ! The bed was terrible ! I woke with a sore back . Mould on the bathroom manhole and a little outdated . Expected better for the price . Very disappointed but the staff were nice
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadine Ramzan, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear katiehZ6046MH, Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review following your recent stay. We were delighted to read your comments about the service provided by our team, however were disappointed to hear about the issues you encountered in the room you occupied. Please accept our sincere apologies as we are ever striving to improve the experience of our guests and are committed to providing them with the highest quality of hospitality, however in this instance we fell short. Please be assured that we have, and continue to, take the appropriate measures in addressing the concerns you have raised to prevent future occurrences. For any future stays, please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk Team who will be more than happy to assist with any issues you may encounter. Although your previous stay did not meet your expectations, the team at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach hope to welcome you back again soon for a more pleasant stay. Kind regards, Nadine
Read more
eideid13 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Room was extremely outdated for the price. Changed rooms due to the smell of mould. A/C of the next room was stuck of cold. We had to wait for the technician to fix it. The bed was uncomfortable. However, all staff gave great service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadine Ramzan, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Eideid, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach! We are delighted to hear that you received great service from our staff. However, we are disappointed that the rest of your stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for having to change rooms, the faulty A/C and bed discomfort. Please be assured your feedback has been passed onto management to be reviewed and addressed. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Cassandra
Read more
sylviageorge1 wrote a review Apr 2022
Greater Sydney, Australia1 contribution
Great location Staff polite ,Willing to assist secure and safe Food is of a high standard value for money Check was good staff are understanding’ Enjoyable stay pleasant environment. Would recommend family & friends
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadine Ramzan, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sylvia, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach! We are delighted to receive your fabulous 5 out of 5 star rating and to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful beachfront location. We are further thrilled that you were pleased with our staff, food and environment and that you would recommend us to family and friends. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We simply cannot wait to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Cassandra
Read more
stephaniedQ177WR wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Room was very “sad”, not very nice smell, old carpet. Daughter didn’t sleep well on sofa bed which was very noisy. We actually found springs on the floor in the morning. Rooms service was dramatic: the QR code was missing form the room and we had to requests a menu twice. The burger/fries/onion rings can with one onion ring, much to my daughter’s disappointment. The balcony and beautiful view were excellent and redeemed the rest a little. Not good value for $600 for 1 night! Parking was charged despite saying we didn’t use. Invoice was adjusted.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadine Ramzan, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. We are saddened that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for the state of the room, the discomfort experienced with the sofa bed, the missing QR code, the in room dining meal and for our mistake with your invoice. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Cassandra
Read more
Angelalau77 wrote a review Apr 2022
22 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
Had the most wonderful stay here in April. The staff were wonderful. Helped us store our bikes and park our car which had stand up paddle boards attached. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, especially Justin at the front desk. The buffet breakfast had so much variety and we loved the newly refurbished North bar. Our rooms had balcony views and it was so relaxing to hear the ocean waves. The food was also very good and very good value for money if you have the Accor membership. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Great location opposite the beach and central to everything. Definitely worth an upgrade to a...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadine Ramzan, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Angelalau77, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach! We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experience with us. It was a thrill to read that your were pleased with our staff, our newly refurbished North Bar and enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We are further delighted that you enjoyed your ocean views, the food selection and found the experience to be good value for money. We simply cannot wait to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Cassandra
Read more
Cath M wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Not the experience we expected for a beautiful 4 star hotel. Paying for wifi, even for 1hr of use! Really? Limited food options when arrived on a Friday evening. Lobby bar staff said they were doing us a favour organising a cheese plate. They then took it to the wrong table. Limited options on room service menu. No mini bar. Rooms are comfortable and location beautiful. However for more than $500/ night we would expect more from a hotel like this.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadine Ramzan, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Cath, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful beachfront location and found our rooms to be comfortable! We are saddened, however, to hear that the rest of your experience did not meet your expectations. In regards to our Wi-Fi, we are pleased to advise that we offer complimentary Wi-Fi to our Accor members across all Accor properties. We sincerely apologise if this was not communicated to you upon arrival. For future reference, please do not hesitate to ask one of our friendly staff for assistance to sign up to our free membership. We are further sorry for the poor experience you had at North Bar, and your dissatisfaction with the room service menu. In terms of the empty mini bar, we again offer our apologies for the inconvenience and appreciate your understanding as we continue to implement COVID safe practices. In relation to cost, we are saddened to hear that you did not feel you received your value for money. Please be assured that your feedback will be taken on board as we look to improve our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back soon to offer you a more pleasant stay. Kind regards, Cassandra
Read more
Brianna N wrote a review Apr 2022
Queanbeyan, Australia27 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Not worth what we were charged at all. Let me start with the pros of this trip, the location was AMAZING, the bed felt like I was sleeping in a cloud, and there were some nice amenities within the hotel itself, however unfortunately that's where the pros end. First let me say, you walk in and the lobby is next to North bar, luxurious and beautiful. I was so excited to see what the room was like if this was just the lobby. Unfortunately I was VERY disappointed. Walking in the room, there was a strong musty smell. Not a problem, we opened up the giant sliding door to our balcony to air out the room. The previous guests apparently fed the birds as the moment we opened the doors, pigeons helped themselves to our carpet and pooed inside. So, we couldn't have doors open. The carpet itself was coming away from the toilet, exposing rusty nails underneath. The walls themselves appeared to all have some water marks on them, resembling drips, I dare not even think what was spilt on these walls. The bathroom door had a visible black mark along the wood, that my friends is dirt, and it means the door wasn't cleaned regularly at all. Some more minor details to the stay included the 'gym' which had 4 machines and the free weights were restricted to two weight plates and a medicine ball, bars within the hotel closed with no notice (which had the cheaper food/drinks, coincidence?) Finally - the accommodation we booked was here due to our other booked accommodation falling through, and as a consequence, we paid a ridiculously high fare, and it was non refundable. We panic booked as it was the only room available in all of Wollongong for this time period and to say that was taken advantage of was an understatement. We were charged $3500 for 3 nights, when normal rates are roughly $1500 for the same amount of nights, and at this rate I'm sorry, but I DEFINITELY expected better. To sum it up, 4 star hotel? The lobby may be 4 stars but don't bother staying here unless you have no choice otherwise. I highly do not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking was available but it is an extremely tight carpark and at $25 per night for 'hotel...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadine Ramzan, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Responded 10 Apr 2022
Dear 375briannan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. We were thrilled to read your positive comments about our spectacular location, the comfort of our beds, our hotel amenities, and also our newly refurbished North Bar. It was however extremely disappointing to hear that your overall stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest, however in this instance our usual high standards were not met and we would like to extend our sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that your feedback has been passed on to Management to review and address with the aim of preventing future occurrences. We would love to connect with you personally to discuss your comments and determine how we can improve moving forward. If you would like to do so, please reach out to our Guest Relations Team at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Nadine
Read more
OB5 wrote a review Apr 2022
Brisbane, Australia96 contributions30 helpful votes
We should have known it was going to be noisy when they gave us a flyer saying "it's going to be noisy". We stayed for two nights (Friday & Saturday night) for a weekend away. To say it was the noisiest hotel I've been to is an understatement. There were parties and weddings this weekend and the hotel turned into some sort of party venue at every level (especially ours). The walls are paper thin and the door has no sound proofing. You can hear every word said (or shouted). The balconies might as well be communal. There is zero privacy as the partition is a glass panel. We complained about the noisy parties and I'm sure the staff did all they can but the parties continued well into the morning. I suspect this Hotel is a favourite for weekend weddings and parties and therefore they just manage expectations. If you're looking for a nice relaxing weekend away, avoid the Novotel. I imagine it would be fine mid-week as long as you don't have anyone in the room next to you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Higher up has better ocean views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadine Ramzan, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Responded 10 Apr 2022
Dear OB5, Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review. We were extremely disappointed to read your feedback following your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies as we aim to control any noise disruptions within the complex, especially when our in-house guests are disturbed as a result. We would love to connect with you personally to discuss your comments and determine how we can improve in the future. If you would like to do so, please reach out to our Guest Relations Team at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. Although your previous stay did not meet your expectations, we hope to welcome you back to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach again soon to show you the hospitality that we strive to provide. Kind regards, Nadine
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 160 - USD 242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel wollongong northbeach hotel wollongong, accor wollongong northbeach, wollongong novotel
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesWollongong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
209
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach?
Nearby attractions include North Wollongong Beach (0.1 km), Stuart Park (0.4 km), and Births & Deaths (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Northbeach Pavilion, Mango Tree Cafe & Restaurant, and Diggies.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Novotel Wollongong Northbeach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Court House Wollongong (1.0 km), Miners Tribute Monument (3.7 km), and St Michael's Anglican Cathedral (1.1 km).
Does Novotel Wollongong Northbeach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.