Mantra Wollongong
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mantra Wollongong

6-10 Gladstone Ave, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500 Australia
Disgusting bed linen and mattress
Traveller (184)
2 Bedroom Apartment Bedroom
Room & Suite (115)
What else can I say
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 7 June
AU$359
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 June
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$319
No fees just great deals
AU$278
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#9 of 15 hotels in Wollongong
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located centrally in the heart of Wollongong, you're going to love the Mantra Wollongong whether you are travelling for business or pleasure. You'll immediately feel at home in the welcoming atmosphere and the friendly service you have come to expect from Mantra. The One and Two Bedroom fully self-contained Apartments will have you relaxed and comfortable in no time. You're close to everything Wollongong has to offer including the city centre, shopping malls and many local attractions like the Botanical Gardens and Jamberoo Action Park. Take in the panoramic views and secure undercover parking. The Mantra Wollongong is located close to public transport, sporting, medical and entertainment precincts. Important information: In accordance with recent Government directives in response to slowing the spread of COVID-19, Hotel facilities may experience temporary closures or changes to operating times and/or services provided. Please contact our reception for further details. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause and thank you for your understanding during this time.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
First aid kit
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate living room
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

6-10 Gladstone Ave, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 66 out of 100
66
Sydney Airport
60.1 km
See all flights
Wollongong Airport
18.3 km
See all flights
443Reviews2Q+A53Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 86
  • 113
  • 101
  • 76
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mrscstapleton wrote a review Sept 2020
Gladesville, Australia62 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I stayed here for 1 night last night for a mini get away and found the staff friendly and informative.

The hotel itself was alright, nice location, modern decor. Due to covid they didn’t have breakfast available but we were offered to prepurchase breakfast vouchers to use at a nearby cafe which was good.

There was secure parking $10 which was handy.

However the actual stay was terrible and we are thankful it was only 1 night.

There is 2 construction buildings going on right next to the hotel which the noise stopped by 6pm but started again the next morning at 7am. I wish this was mentioned in the hotel website warning of it.

We walked into our apartment and the smell of stale air, cigerette smoke and wet musty smell was very strong. All windows and balcony doors were open - which was trying to cover the horrid smell

Tried also putting on air con fan wow made it worse.

The Decore was modern.

There was holes in the balcony door fly screen and there was chunks of wood missing from the kitchen cupboard doors.

The walls are very very thin , We got 5 hours sleep due to our neighbors above us got on around 1230am and were loud, noisy and stomping around til 2am .

Was woken up at 450am by screaming kids next door.

We were both walking zombies,
So we were so glad to leave at 10am at check out, dropped the room keys back , we weren’t asked how I was stay was.

We booked a 2 bedroom superior room, for $370 - it shouldn’t of been so expensive for the close by building constructions.

We were going to stay at the Novotel originally but decided the mantra as we had stayed at other properties and had a great experience.

We wish we stayed somewhere else.

Sorry for the crap review. Please do something bout the smoke smell it was bad.

Won’t be back n have gone off mantra properties now .

However your customer service over all were nice and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenny B wrote a review July 2020
Laurieton, New South Wales, Australia12 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed with family. We had 2 x 2 bedroom deluxe apartments with balcony. To say I was disappointed is a huge understatement. Apartments were totally different, one was ‘similar’ to the one on the website but the one I stayed in was NOT. Had a smell as soon as we walked in, holes in fly screens, mould in en-suite, windows in the lounge room were filthy and the balcony, only accessible through the bedrooms has not been cleaned for a long long time. Approached reception who were somewhat helpful, offered a thorough clean but we don’t know if that happened because there was no noticeable difference. No follow up from reception to us to say if it had been done or if we were any happier. All in all a very disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wayne Toomey, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Dear JennyB433, Thank you for taking the time to send through your stay feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay experience with us. I want to assure you that our rooms are cleaned and deep cleaned on a regular basis especially through these times it is our top priority. We regularly clean our balconies and sorry to hear that it wasn't to your standard on this occasion and on this room type the benefit is the wrap around balcony that is accessible through both bedrooms. We do have a very helpful reception team and they are in the business of getting things done for our guests so it would definitely have been completed but I will be sure to make sure they are still double checking this in future. Kind regards, Wayne Toomey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ian h wrote a review Jan 2020
Blaxland, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable stay in a top floor balcony apartment. Service is limited from a breakfast/dining perspective but not a big issue given the location to restaurants etc. Having an in room pod coffee machine would make the stay a bit more comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wayne Toomey, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Dear ian h, Thank you for sending through your great stay review. A couple of great points that you have given me and will be sure to look into this for future improvements. We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Kind regards, Wayne Toomey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lukeahern2020 wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked into the Mantra Hotel in Wollongong on the Friday night during the severe storms we were having in February and was assisted by the front counter staff on all of the specifics of the hotel.
The Mantra is in a Brilliant location close to Transport & the CBD area.
There are many great restaurants & cafes a relatively short walk from the hotel & the breakfast is quite nice and the staff are only too willing to assist you.
I have stayed in hotels from Asia through to Europe and parts of Africa and the Mantra experience was a nice experience and all of the staff were helpful, friendly and very competent in their duties.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WayneToomey, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear lukeahern2020, Thank you for your awesome stay feedback, we really enjoy reading all the positives that we offer and that you were able to take full advantage of them. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future and if there is anything that we can do leading up to your next stay feel free to give us a call. Kind regards, Wayne Toomey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aberdydney wrote a review Nov 2020
Hornsby, Australia53 contributions41 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the Mantes for a Saturday night away from Sydney.

Soooo expensive and just not worth it-

Truly awful location in a gritty part of town.

The view out the winsome is over the steel works complet with two flame stacks

Do not book her over priced and awful location
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tatiana M wrote a review Oct 2021
Sydney, Australia79 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
While the reception looks impeccable, and the receptionist is lovely, the actual room was dirty, sticky floors, you could see the dirt everywhere.
It also had a weird smell.
The location was great and the room spacious, but the fact it was dirty, especially the kitchen and the bathroom, made it a very poor experience.
It took me a sponge, a bit of soap and water to clean the kitchen bench before using it, so it is not that it was hard to clean. But unfortunately there was no mop or bleach or a brum to clean the rest.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris C wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
2 weeks ago I wrote a google review & this is what it was.
Unfortunately, we were very disappointed.
We booked last minute for a one night stay on Friday 26/3. I didnt mind paying the over priced last minute amount, until we turned up & saw what we were paying for.
You had to pay for parking, however, there was no parking available to park, hence, waste of money & didnt even have a car spot.
Then the room was OK, though not what I would call up to standards for a Mantra accommodation. The only thing that was ok with the room, was the bed.
We went out for dinner & when we arrived back after 10pm, we were locked out of our room for approx 15 mins till the night Manager came back in, to flick the door handle a few times to open the door back up. Advising us that this happens all the time.
The next day on check out I advised the Manager / Receptionist of everything that happened & all she could say was "oh ok thank you". What response is this?
Anyway we will not be staying there again & will definitely be telling family & friends to avoid the place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: March 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lucky4o9 wrote a review Apr 2021
Newcastle, Australia34 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 10 nights at the Mantra and paid a nightly rate not weekly. For this I got nothing. The room was dated and dirty to start with. There was stains on the couch and unfinished repairs to the walls.
Room servicing was no existent. They emptied the garbage and that was it even when I left the sign on the door to clean it. They didn't change the towel that were on the bath room floor or make the bed let alone change the sheets the entire 10 days I was there. The lift looks like it has never been cleaned or vacuumed. I could keep going on but you get the idea.

I would never stay at this dump again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All appliances played up. washing machine leaked water, Dryer kept stopping, TV turn it self off...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yt112020 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
room very old, needs to update. over priced. Mantra brand was good hotel in my previous stay in other location, but Mantra Wollongong was very disappointed. for almost $500 for a two bedrooms apartment, it was too much over price.

This changed my though of Mantra brand.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wayne Toomey, General Manager at Mantra Wollongong
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Dear ytt112020, I'm sorry to see that you didn't see the value for the price paid for your stay with us. We are always trying to improve on the feedback that we receive and will be sure to address the points that you have provided us. We do hope that we can improve on this for future stay experiences. Kind regards, Wayne Toomey General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth wrote a review Mar 2023
34 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My 90 year old father lives one hour away from Wollongong Hospital and on the one day in March we had an 11.00am appointment and a 3.00pm appointment at the Hospital. It would be too much to go back and forth between the hospital and home, especially when specialists are notorious for running late with appointments. So we decided to find accommodation for the day. We found the Mantra at Wollongong. We booked by phoning them directly and they gave us an excellent rate as we only needed a one bedroom appointment but they only had two bedroom ones left. They gave us complimentary parking which is normally $10 a day. We paid $18 for 3 hours parking at the hospital (which took us 30 minutes to find a spot and included driving around and stalking people) so the Mantra parking represents very good value. The apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable and had a walk in shower which is important for a 90 year old with mobility issues. The staff were very friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. There isn't a specific mobility ramp but you can park very close to the foyer from the underground carpark. They have an accessible apartment but it wasn't available when we were booking. The Mantra was about 700 metres or so to push the wheelchair up and back from the hospital back to the Mantra but it was a gentle rise. The Wollongong train station is also half way between the Mantra and the hospital so if you can catch the train its an easy walk to the Mantra. I highly recommend the Mantra especially if you have multiple medical appointments in the precinct and need a peaceful, calm and clean space to rest in, in between appointments.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Its a short walk to cafes, restaurants and bars.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
asked a question Oct 2017
London, United Kingdom
hunter kirkman
Answer from
London, United Kingdom
Fox Life to launch in UK on Sky UK
Answer from Lilian T
Canberra, Australia20 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi. They don't have a gym onsite.
Duncan B wrote a tip Jan 2024
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here. "
Read full review
Balibreak wrote a tip Nov 2023
Sydney4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here"
Read full review
Trista D wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking isn’t guaranteed. On busy times make sure you get there early for a spot. Otherwise plenty of alternate parking at train station. "
Read full review
Naymul wrote a tip Aug 2023
Orange, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't be fooled about the picture of the Mantra in the web "
Read full review
Chloe W wrote a tip Mar 2023
Sydney, Australia6 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay there."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wollongong area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$217 - AU$307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Mantra Wollongong
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesWollongong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MANTRA WOLLONGONG (AU$217): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mantra Wollongong
Which popular attractions are close to Mantra Wollongong?
Nearby attractions include Illawarra Performing Arts Centre (1.1 km), Hangdog Climbing Gym (1.1 km), and Wollongong Art Gallery (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mantra Wollongong?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Mantra Wollongong?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Mantra Wollongong?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mantra Wollongong?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mantra Wollongong?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciao Cucina, Da Orlando, and Lower East Cafe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mantra Wollongong?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Mantra Wollongong offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Mantra Wollongong?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wollongong Botanic Garden (2.2 km), The Old Court House Wollongong (1.7 km), and Miners Tribute Monument (5.0 km).
Does Mantra Wollongong have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Mantra Wollongong accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Wollongong HotelsWollongong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WollongongHotels near Mantra Wollongong
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars