We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

El Motor Inn

29 Clarence St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (42)
Pool & Beach (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 22 motels in Port Macquarie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The El Motor Inn is located within easy walking distance from restaurants, galleries, theatres, shopping and beaches, making it the ideal for family holidays or business accommodation. We are right across the road from the Glasshouse Entertainment Centre and Port Central Shopping Centre. Our 4-star quality air-conditioned rooms, boast brand new comfortable beds and FREE Wi-Fi. Visitors can also enjoy off-street parking, lift access to the upper levels, and a spectacular new BBQ deck area by the sparkling hotel pool. Enjoy a meal at the El Café, specialising in quality contemporary cuisine, or you could just stay in your room and order room service. At the El Motor Inn we pride ourselves on old-fashioned, friendly service to ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable. Enjoy high quality, affordable accommodation in the CBD of Port Macquarie.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English
800Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 384
  • 318
  • 69
  • 22
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Iskra H wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
We had a great stay at the El Paso Motor Inn. Spacious room with comfortable beds. Very clean facilities and Nespresso coffee machine. They offered barbecue area. Beautiful experience and friendly staff. The area around is gorgeous and peaceful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
fionatneil wrote a review Dec 2023
Canberra, Australia4 contributions
Great place to stay in the heart of Port Macquarie, was walking distance to everything! Location was quiet, refurbished rooms were awesome and the air-conditioning unit had a sleep mode option so the display unit was not glowing all night. The staff were warm and welcoming, the rooms were exceptionally clean and well presented and there is plenty of off street parking. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend staying here, you can't go wrong with this place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kristen D wrote a review Nov 2023
Old Bar, Australia47 contributions15 helpful votes
we really Loved it we went for a group dance weekend its so handy being close to the glasshouse , It was so clean and close to everything the staff are very nice and the price was really good Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
teresa f wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia33 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed at the El Motor Inn for our anniversary. The reception ladies were very friendly and our room was clean and spacious and a comfortable bed. The accommodation is close to restaurants and cafes. There is a lovely walk nearby at the break wall.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Pursell, General Manager at El Motor Inn
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi S8828XNteresaf, Thank you for choosing El Motor Inn to celebrate your anniversary, and for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that the reception staff were very friendly, and you found your room to be clean, spacious, and the bed comfortable. Our proximity to restaurants and cafes is indeed a great convenience for our guests, and we're pleased to know that you enjoyed the nearby walk at the break wall. It's a beautiful location to explore and relax. We're grateful for your feedback and for spending your special occasion with us. If you have any more comments or suggestions for future visits, please feel free to share. Happy anniversary, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Thank you Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lea wrote a review Oct 2023
Brisbane, Australia142 contributions45 helpful votes
Good location - walking distance to waterfront and eateries, probably go out around 6 pm as some places shut 8 pm. Located in the city centre area. Comfortable room and beds, car parking can be a little tight. Lovely place, will definitely come back one day! This was our halfway stop Bribie Island to Sydney. Lady at reception was very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Pursell, General Manager at El Motor Inn
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi maundy22, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We're delighted to hear that you found our location to be convenient, with the waterfront and eateries within walking distance. Your insight about some places closing early at around 8 pm can be helpful for future guests planning their evening activities. It's great to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the room and beds. We appreciate your feedback about the car parking, and we'll certainly consider how we can improve this aspect. We're thrilled to hear that you found our place lovely and that you plan to come back one day. It's wonderful to be your halfway stop between Bribie Island and Sydney. The lady at reception is a valuable member of our team, and we're pleased to hear that she was very helpful during your stay. We'll make sure to pass on your kind words to her. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return. If you have any more comments or specific suggestions for your next visit, please feel free to share. Safe travels! Thank you again Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karla B wrote a review Sept 2023
Zillah, Washington40 contributions11 helpful votes
This location is perfect- close to the waterfront, rock walk, and plenty of options for food and beverage. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped- extremely clean and the team working there were very attentive and kind! Would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Pursell, General Manager at El Motor Inn
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi 649karlab, We sincerely appreciate your wonderful review and recommendation! It's fantastic to hear that you found our location to be perfect, with easy access to the waterfront, rock walk, and a variety of dining options. We're fortunate to be situated in such a convenient area, and it's great that you had the opportunity to explore the surroundings. We take pride in offering comfortable and well-equipped rooms, and it's fantastic that you found them to be extremely clean. Our team is dedicated to providing attentive and kind service, and we're thrilled that you had a positive interaction with them during your stay. Thank you for your kind words, and for taking the time to share your experience. If there's anything else you'd like to add or if you have any future stays planned, please do not hesitate to reach out. We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you again Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BGDG wrote a review Aug 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayedin this motel on a rush trip from Queensland. Room was immaculate, bed comfortable and the night was quiet. We ordered a meal from the cafe upstairs which was delivered to our room. Breakfast was eaten in the cafe from 7am the following day. Would recommend to anybody looking for a centrally located motel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Pursell, General Manager at El Motor Inn
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi Bronwyng843, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your rush trip from Queensland. We're thrilled to hear that you found your room at El Motor Inn to be immaculate and the bed comfortable, ensuring a peaceful night's rest for you. It's great to know that you took advantage of our on-site cafe and enjoyed the convenience of having your meal delivered to your room. We strive to provide excellent dining options for our guests. We appreciate your recommendation for anyone looking for a centrally located motel. We're proud to offer a convenient and comfortable stay in a prime location. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and if you ever find yourself in the area again, we would be delighted to welcome you back. If there's anything more you'd like to share or any specific details that stood out during your stay, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels! Thank you again. Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tina M wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
I have had the pleasure of staying here several times. Each room is immaculately clean, spacious and well appointed. They cater for airport transfers and help in any other way possible. I am so impressed with el paso that I have booked several rooms for our family reunion. You won't find a better place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Pursell, General Manager at El Motor Inn
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi X2947CGtinam, We're truly honored and grateful for your continued patronage and the glowing review of El Motor Inn (formerly El Paso Motor Inn). It's always a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we're delighted to hear that you've had such positive experiences during your stays with us. Our commitment to maintaining immaculately clean, spacious, and well-appointed rooms is at the core of our service, and we're thrilled that you've found our accommodations to your liking. We're always here to assist, whether it's arranging airport transfers or any other way we can make your stay more enjoyable. It's wonderful to hear that you've been so impressed with our hotel that you've booked several rooms for your family reunion. We're excited to be a part of this special occasion and look forward to making it a memorable one for you and your family. Thank you for your high praise, and for considering us as the best place to stay. We can't wait to welcome you back for your family reunion, and if there's anything else we can do to ensure the success of your event, please feel free to reach out. Safe travels until we see you again! Thank you Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nathan H wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
This is our 2nd stay at the EL Paso and another enjoyable trip. The location is very convenient and easy to access everything. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have A/C. Chloe at reception made booking easy and was a delight during the period of our stay and always accommodating. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Pursell, General Manager at El Motor Inn
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi nathanhV5009IK, We greatly appreciate your continued support and your kind words in this review! We're thrilled to have had you as our guest for the second time at El Motor Inn (formerly El Paso Motor Inn), and we're delighted to hear that you had another enjoyable trip. Our convenient location and easy access to everything in the area are aspects of our hotel that we take pride in, and it's wonderful to know that you found the beds comfortable and that the rooms are equipped with A/C to ensure your comfort. Chloe at reception is truly a gem, and we're so pleased to hear that she made the booking process easy and was a delight during your stay. Our team is dedicated to providing top-notch service, and Chloe is a shining example of that commitment. Your kind words will certainly be shared with her. Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again, and for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We look forward to your next visit, and if there's anything we can do to make your future stays even better, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels, and we can't wait to welcome you back! Thank you Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ClogWogsWife wrote a review Apr 2023
Mittagong, Australia154 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
From the moment we booked these 4 days away, the people at El Motor Inn [formerly El Paso Motor Inn] we very helpful and obliging - nothing was too big an ask. Our King Spa room on 4th floor was all that we expected and more. I had asked for bubbles and refreshments on arrival, as it was our 30th Anniversary. They delivered in spades and the wine was complimentary. Our personal private balcony was just gorgeous to sit in the evening. It's location is excellent. Park your car in the ample carparking and walk to any of the bars and very good restaurants, wander around Port Macquarie or head to the cruise terminal [just heads-up : the cruises aren't THAT great] If we had to fault anything - 3-ply toilet paper is an absolute MUST at this level of accommodation. The room could do with a Nespresso coffee-pod maker instead of the kettle and awful, instant sachets. And a microwave wouldn't go astray either. Perhaps a bigger fridge - can't fit more than one wine bottle in there ... TINY!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Pursell, General Manager at El Motor Inn
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi ClogWogsWife, Thank you for your detailed review and for choosing El Motor Inn for your 30th Anniversary getaway. We're thrilled to hear that you found our team to be helpful and obliging from the moment you booked, and that we could assist in making your celebration special. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed your King Spa room on the 4th floor and that it exceeded your expectations. We're delighted that you appreciated the bubbles and refreshments on arrival, and we were happy to provide complimentary wine to mark your 30th Anniversary. We're pleased that you found your personal private balcony gorgeous and that you liked the hotel's location, with easy access to bars, restaurants, and Port Macquarie's attractions. We value your feedback regarding the cruises and will keep that in mind for future guests. We also appreciate your constructive feedback about the room amenities. We understand your preference for 3-ply toilet paper, a Nespresso coffee-pod maker, a larger fridge, and a microwave. Guest feedback like yours is valuable, and we'll certainly consider these suggestions for improvements. We are actually implementing one of your suggestions and installing pod machines in all of our rooms next week! Once again, thank you for choosing El Motor Inn to celebrate your special occasion. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. If there's anything else you'd like to share or if you have any further suggestions, please feel free to reach out. Happy Anniversary! Thank you again. Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port Macquarie area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$200 - AU$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesPort Macquarie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EL MOTOR INN (AU$200): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Port Macquarie) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about El Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to El Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Facade Escape Room (0.2 km), Port Macquarie Museum (0.1 km), and Breakwall Waking Path (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at El Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at El Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at El Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at El Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Twotriplefour By Bills, Bills Fishhouse + Bar, and Blue Cow Gelato.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is El Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Port Macquarie.
Are any cleaning services offered at El Motor Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to El Motor Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Port Macquarie Museum (0.1 km), Port Macquarie Historic Court House (0.06 km), and Innes Ruins (2.1 km).
Is El Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.