We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Port Macquarie

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Port Macquarie
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Port Macquarie
See the most recent reviews
Showing 848: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Visited last week and were really surprised at the disappointing experience at Rydges Central City. We have stayed many Rydges before so booked here for a 1 night stay for personal function in Port Macquarie, wish I hadn’t now. 2 rooms booked at average $230 per room inc breakfast, top money for a hotel in Port Macquarie. First conversation when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Italy-Escape
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my family of 5. Kids loved the pool area. The convenience of an endless supply of pool towels was fantastic. Service was very friendly and the hotel room very clean. We never dined at the hotel, so can't comment on the food. My only complaint was the lack of parking. We had to park on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim N
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review to your recent stay. Your feedback helps us to refine our service delivery for the benefit of future guests. I am glad that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay. I apologise for the inconvenience caused by the car parking. In our peak periods like Christmas and Easter we do...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

The online booking transaction was easy! The 'PRIORITY GUEST REWARDS' Program made promises it could not keep! Online check-in offered me preferences such as room type, view, floor etc. On arrival, I was informed that there was NO PARKING! My room was allocated as 317 which gave me views of the restaurant exhaust fan and very limited view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clive M
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and I was most concerned to read your review of your recent stay at the hotel. Firstly my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay. We had a thunderstorm in the afternoon that tripped some of the air conditioners in the room and require a reset of the unit. Please don't hesitate to...

Brisbane
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed just after the new year. Was busy but never felt crowded. Family room was large, but we didn't have a view or balcony which was a bit disappointing. Zebu bar was great. Dined in the adjacent restaurant which is Abbie moe upmarket but got 20% off as a PGR member. Decor was a bit dated as per previous reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mfo1901
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad that you have enjoyed your time and utilised the great facilities right hear in the hotel. We have recently introduced a new menu in the Zebu Bar and Café that is well received. The Zebu Grill has great views overlooking the Hastings Harbour and we...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at Rydges early January to shorten our drive from Gold Coast to Sydney. I have stayed at Rydges in Sydney and Melbourne and they have both been fantastic. I thought the Port Mac Rydges was extremely dated and underwhelming. Room was spacious but furniture was really old and our view was of the back of a shopping centre...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mick B
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on your recent stay. I was concerned to read that you were not happy with the standard or outlook from the room and it has detracted from your stay. There is some early planning for the upgrade on furniture in the rooms in the future. If you are intending on...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Let me preface this critique by saying how much I LOVE THE BEAUTIFUL CITY OF PORT MACQUARIE. Now, to Rydges. Perhaps the management agreement has expired and Rydges are operating on a month to month basis? That might be the root of the problem. Another possibility is management cut backs. Shaving the bottom line, thus placing a heavy and unfair...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janne L
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Rydges Port Macquarie. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. It does appear that you have not enjoyed your stay and I am more than happy to discuss this issues with you personally. We do have live music in Zebu Bar but...

Sydney
Reviewed 6 January 2017

2 Nights - $770 and the closest parking you can get is over a Klm away and the Mangers response was bad luck Even if you are Rydges Members it doesn't matter there are only less than 50 spaces for more than 90 rooms and the Hotels attitude is "tough". I will not be using Rydges again and cancelling my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tys63
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review in regard to your recent stay at the Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the availability of parking at the time of your check in. During peak periods with most guests using vehicles we do have constraints on our car parking and I will follow up with the Front Office...

Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed for one night, a last minute decision during school holidays so paid for it accordingly. I have to say the location is great, walking distance to restaurants and shops right on the foreshore. The place was fully booked given the holidays. I booked a standard king balcony. Be warned, it is right next to the pool so unless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DNB222
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay and my apologies for the inconvenience caused with noise from the pool area impacting the enjoyment of your stay. The Christmas holidays is a busy time for the town and the hotel and appears to have impacted the enjoyment of your recent stay. If I can make amends on a future visit...

Reviewed 5 January 2017

Stayed here over New Years and had another thoroughly enjoyable stay. The location is great and had a fantastic view of the NYE fireworks from our balcony. The staff are always helpful and polite. The only downside is that the room decor is becoming quite dated and really needs to be updated. We can overlook this but some people may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dooonr
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay and I am glad that you have enjoyed the NYE fireworks as the waterfront location provides a front row view to the 9pm and midnight fireworks this year. We are in the early planning for a refurbishment program for the property in the future and will look...

Melbourne
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We travelled at the Rydges Port Macquarie after Boxing Day 2016 for a 4 day break, which we cut short by a night due to the Rydges not being at the Rydges expectation, yes the hotel location is perfect, if you like to be right near a hoard of Caravan Grey Nomads. After going to have a drink downstairs at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angken
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. I was most concerned to read your comments and apologise for the inconvenience caused. I have followed up with the F & B team as whilst it was a busy period our pizzas are available in the bar and in room dining till 9.30pm. Oyster we get in...

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
800 reviews
0.7 km away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
287 reviews
1.1 km away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,176 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
1.1 km away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Price Range: $176 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Port Macquarie staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Port Macquarie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a balcony have a view over the river. All the rooms have a view over the town”
 of 5 bubbles 316ruthb, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River views”
 of 5 bubbles lampsac, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for water views”
 of 5 bubbles IlPranzoCafe, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room with a balcony and a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Hardiman_11, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ROOM TIP, rooms 113-116 face directly to the pool, so don’t allow them to stick you there.”
 of 5 bubbles Italy-Escape, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5